We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days in Hagnau”
Review of Hotel von Sanden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel von Sanden
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hagnau
Minchinhampton, Glos
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 days in Hagnau”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel von Sanden was recommended by a friend and we were so pleased we chose to book his recommendation. The hotel was situated on a quiet street about 3 rows back from edge of Lake Constance, with lovely views from room overlooking the lake. The owners were extremely welcoming and all the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was very well equipped, warm and spotlessly clean. All the decorations and soft furnishings around the hotel were very nice. The breakfast buffet was excellent and refreshments were available 24 hours in the salon. Although this hotel does not have a restaurant there are several very good restaurants around the area. A stroll into the main area near the lake every evening was very pleasant. We would most certainly return to this hotel if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake would be ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai, india
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hagnau was part of our 2 week road trip through Austria and Bavaria / Baden-Württemberg and it is by far the prettiest village I have ever stayed in. And Hotel Von Sanden exemplified what a top class family run establishment should be.

The small boutique hotel is run by family Von Sanden's comprising Ralf and Caroline (hope I spelled it right) and they are the most gracious and helpful hosts I have encountered. The check in process was smooth, and Caroline showed us around the hotel and our rooms. Since we were 3 members in our family we had booked the junior suite which comprised a master bedroom, and an attached small annex bedroom for our teenage son. The rooms were large and well furnished. The beds / duvets / pillows were very comfortable and we slept really well. Hagnau is a small village on the coast of Lake Constance and the hotel is situated on a quite but pretty lane.

The breakfast was delicious continental fare - cold cuts, cheeses, breads, cereals + toppings, juices, eggs (scrambled and boiled), fruits, yoghurt, teas and coffees etc.

The hotel was located a few minutes’ walk from the beautiful lake shore. There are plenty of nice restaurants nearby. Meersburg is a 40 min walk away and there are 2 walkways - one along the coast and another slightly higher up through the vineyards which offers spectacular views of the lake and the Swiss Alps.

There is a bike rental close to the hotel for anyone who wants to cycle the shores of lake Constance. The hotel has a full suite of brochures highlighting all the sightseeing places around the lake (but mostly in German). Again the family Von Sanden's will help you with any queries you have.

A special mention: we forgot our passports and FX at the hotel after checkout and travel to Munich, and were in a bit of panic. Ralf was kind enough to courier the documents to our Munich hotel promptly.

All in all, an excellent stay - the combination of Hagnau and Hotel Von Sanden must rank right at the top of my holiday / hotel experiences. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohanapte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krek, Inhaber at Hotel von Sanden, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mohan and family, we were pleased that you had a nice time in our country and came back home with good remembrance. And especially we are pleased that you were so satisfied in our hotel and have written an as detailed review. Thank you very much!
Stay well, kind regards Ralf and Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLERAINE; NORTHERN IRELAND
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in family rooms which were beautifully and tastefully decorated. Everything was spotless and the bed was the most comfortable i have enjoyed in many, many years.
The owners were genuine and were extremely friendly. Breakfast was great and the location of the hotel perfect.
I would definitely recommend Hotel Von Sanden.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Lovely Hotel. Rooms were great, clean, modern and spacious. The bed was huge and really comfortable. The hosts and staff were very friendly and couldn't have been nicer. The Hotel is situated just a few minutes walk from the village centre and the lake ferry, an ideal position. The breakfast was really good. Lots of it, a big variety and very well presented. After having breakfast here we didn't really want to eat anymore until the evening, although we did managed to fit in a few helpings of strudel and cake on our trips to other villages around the lake. This was our second trip to Hagnau, but our first time in this Hotel, and it didn't disappoint, in fact it turned a good holiday into a great one. If we ever go to Hagnau again, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueandRonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

How lucky we were to book the last three rooms at this hotel three months before our holiday in Hagnau on arrival the owners made sure we were happy with our rooms which are modern well fitted and spotless with an excellent en-suite shower room.
The next morning at breakfast we were greeted by the hostess and shown an amazing choice of food that included Cereal's,Muesli,Yogurts,Fresh fruit and Compote,a choice of fruit juices,german hams,salame,cheese's,boiled and scrambled eggs a selection of salad's baskets of German breads of all type's,with a large choice of jams,and Tea or Coffee brought to your table a great start to the day you could choose to eat in the Resturant or outside on the terrace overlooking the gardens.The hotel owners were the perfect hosts,helpful,knowledgeable and very kind to us all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert7388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagnau
0.9 mi away
Burgunderhof Hagnau
Burgunderhof Hagnau
#4 of 11 in Hagnau
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zur Winzerstube
Hotel Zur Winzerstube
#3 of 11 in Hagnau
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa am See
Villa am See
#5 of 11 in Hagnau
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
Romantik Hotel Residenz am See
#2 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodenseehotel DreiKoenig
Bodenseehotel DreiKoenig
#10 of 11 in Hagnau
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
Hotel Villa Seeschau am Bodensee
#7 of 20 in Meersburg (Bodensee)
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel von Sanden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel von Sanden

Property: Hotel von Sanden
Address: Neugartenstr. 39, 88709 Hagnau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hagnau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hagnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel von Sanden 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel von Sanden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing