We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Chateau de Pizay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Pizay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Whilst in France last year myself and my partner booked this last minute for two nights and it was one of the best decisions we have ever made. One point that I think is important to note is that the number of rooms in the chateau itself are limited and the majority of the guest rooms are within a nearby annex.

The chateau looks amazing and has fantastic gardens. The vineyard nearby is worth a stroll around and also has some information boards dotted around to give you little bits of knowledge regarding the grapes, the vineyard and the Beaujolais region. The pool is good, not a huge size but never crowded, and they also have staff to come and offer a poolside drinks service.

The room was a good size and certainly a 4* standard. As I stated earlier like most of the rooms this was in the annex part of the hotel and was a duplex with the bathroom and reception room on the lower floor and bedroom above. You also have a small terrace to sit on, which was very useful for sitting and enjoying a bottle of the chateau's wine.

The wine produced by the chateau is available to buy in a small shop and within the restaurant during your meal. I highly recommend dining in the restaurant as this was a real highlight of our stay. The food and service were both fantastic.

The hotel is in a fairly remote location so it's a place to go and relax for a short stay rather than a full week but I definitely plan on going back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Haydn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Beautiful "chateau", very peaceful and friendly staff. I loved the garden for my dog, no hassle at all. I do think that they have to up date the bar/lounge, no ambiance at all, the restaurant is good, although the decoration.......I personally think that the guy who did the job had a good spliff or 2. Shame. Le Monsieur who served us in the restaurant is a typical French figure, the ones we adore, do give him a smile ! he does a great job. Also do not forget to buy some Beaujolais, I have to say, theirs is very good ! All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, small medium or large, ask room 73, just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank styleandclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed at Chateau de Pizay while on a work trip. It was a big group of us. The rooms are beautiful, particularly the lofts which although the bedroom space upstairs is limited the make up with a spacious living area downstairs. Great for one, but I'm not sure about the bedroom space if there are two people sharing the room. The bathrooms are fully and the toilet was separate. The Hotel is on a small wine estate and they have their own cellar which is pretty impressive, we even got a private wine tasting which was great. The meals in the dining room were divine too. The place has a lot of greenry and space, I can imagine its an even greater hit in winter. On the estate there is also a chapel, which made me think this must be a superb wedding venue. Particularly if one is disgustingly welathy and can book out the entire place...which you'd probably have to be because the rooms are PRICEY! That's the one snag in an otherwise awesome place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DopeyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A really lovely chateau, rooms very well equipped and good breakfast. We ate in the restaurant which was fairly average compared to other places we've experienced in France, and it was very very expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the start of our holiday. The main building is lovely, an old chateaux. Our room was nice (split level) and in any other hotel we would have been really happy, but because the main building is old, a modern room just doesn't feel right. The bar area is a mix of old and new, which works really well and the dining room is split into different sections which gives it a more intimate feel. Our meal was delicious, the portions just right & very tasty and I had a wonderful soufflé to finish. The service was good but not exceptional. Breakfast is a buffet in the modern part of the hotel, I thought the buffet was extensive and well presented. The hotel has a pool, spa and tennis courts but we didn't use them. We did wander round the gardens and the vineyards which were very pleasant. We stayed the last weekend of September and the hotel appeared to be full.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJBRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Talk about curb appeal, this gorgeous property certainly has it in spades with its tree-lined driveway, topiary garden, outdoor restaurant, and setting amid the vineyards. Unfortunately the guest rooms and amenities do not live up to visuals. The bed linens, duvets, and pillows are synthetic. Our room was a split level affair with the bed upstairs but the air conditioner unit was downstairs and hence combined with the poor linens, I was relegated to sleeping on the couch downstairs. The restaurant claims to always be fully booked and yet there are empty tables as other herein have observed. The WiFi although included is pathetically slow. This property could be so much better if they paid attention to some of the details. As it is currently configured, I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cshackle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been using this hotel for many years, usually using it as an overnight stop over on our way from London, UK, to the South of France, and vice versa. The hotel is in beautiful countryside in the heart of Beaujolais wine country with its own vineyard. The food does justice to the reputation of Lyon as the gastronomic centre of French cuisine. The rooms are a duplex and nicely presented. We have little hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiantiesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres
14.9 mi away
Georges Blanc Parc & Spa
16.0 mi away
Chateau de Bagnols
Chateau de Bagnols
#1 of 1 in Bagnols
560 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel-restaurant La Rose
Hotel-restaurant La Rose
#1 of 2 in Julienas
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
356 reviews
2.3 mi away
Au Beaujolais Saint Jean
Au Beaujolais Saint Jean
#2 of 2 in Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres
22 reviews
24.3 mi away
Pavillon de la Rotonde
Pavillon de la Rotonde
#1 of 3 in Charbonnieres-les-Bains
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Pizay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Pizay

Address: 443 route du Chateau, 69220 Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres
Price Range: $208 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Pizay 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau de Pizay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Pizay Hotel Saint-Jean-d`Ardieres
Chateau De Pizay France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing