We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
136
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
136
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french alps fantastic hosts cooking class labor of love spent a week amazing food delicious recipes nikki hugh cookery fayre annecy retreat chalet village hosting milo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 138 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018

We traveled to stay at the Chalet based on the recommendation of a good friend. We wanted four or five relaxing days in the mountains with little concern for going out at night. Our friend said that Chalet Savoie Faire was the place to go. We would not need anything else. We experienced exactly what was described.
Hugh and Nikki rebuilt the chalet from the ground up with a great eye for detail and improvements. A lot of the old foundation and stone is used in the design(which is stunning). The kitchen, main dining area, and bar are beautiful, especially at night with a view of the valley.
Nikki is an amazing chef and made fantastic meals for our group every night(we had a variety of fish, meat and vegetarian meals). The price for meals was reasonable considering the location and services in the area. I can’t compliment Nikki or Hugh enough. It was a great week! We plan on returning for cooking school in the future.

Room tip: Every room has it's own character. The rooms with a view of the mountains are fantastic.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BobsURuncle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, it was a real pleasure having you all here to enjoy the mountains and Chalet Savoie Faire. Looking forward to some fun in the kitchen,
Warm regards
Nikki and Hugh ( and a lick from Milo)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018

Thank you to Nikki and Hugh for welcoming us into your home for a perfect mini-moon.

We arrived exhausted and elated after our wedding and the chalet was the perfect spot to relax, catch up with some sleep and go for lovely walks in the autumnal Alps. Nikki and Hugh made us feel right at home. Nikki is an excellent cook and prepared delicious dinners all three nights we were there. We will definitely be back for a longer stay and a cooking course!

All the best to both of you and little Milo.

Ariane & Paul

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thanks for coming to stay with us on such an important occasion & taking the time to feedback to us at Chalet Savoie Faire. It was such a pleasure having you both here and we certainly look forward to having you in the kitchen for some fun,
Warm regards
Nikki and Hugh (and Milo of course)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

I visited Chalet Savoie Faire in September 2018 for a cooking holiday with a group of friends. We had the best week - Nikki and Hugh (and Milo!) are perfect hosts. The chalet and the surrounding area are simply beautiful and we spent a lovely week cooking, shopping, visiting the spa, cocktails, more cooking...! A beautiful way to spend a week in wonderful company! Thank you for having us and hope to see you again soon!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thank you Charlotte, it was such a great pleasure having you girls in the kitchen for the week at Chalet Savoie Faire. Just a shame it went too quickly, lets replay one day in the future,
Many thanks
Nikki, Hugh and Milo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

The views, the landscape, the quiet, the house itself and the whole experience were amazing, and a world away from everything else. What a beautiful place and beautiful people to escape the world and relax. Then we spent the morning in the kitchen with Nikki and made an amazing feast for lunch. An absolute highlight of our trip.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beckadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback.
It was such a pleasure for me having the smiling & laughing Aussie family of females in the kitchen, creating healthy food at Chalet Savoie Faire. Brilliant fun for everyone!
Hope you are using the recipes regularly?
Warm regards
Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

But every family is different so let me explain what we loved about it. We live in New York City, have one 10-year old daughter, and a very busy lifestyle. We also love to cook and eat good food. We were looking for something quiet, but with the ability to get out and explore nature. I didn't want to be locked into some resort where we couldn't go off property. Also, I didn't want a lot of pubs with drunk tourists falling down in the street. The Chalet is located in a tiny upper mountain hamlet, steeped deep in WWI and WWII history, with miles of endless hiking trails and no pubs, shops, or restaurants within walking distance. It seemed perfect. We signed up for six nights and seven days at Chalet Savoie Faire, which was to included four half days of local French cooking lessons, and a day trip to Lake Annecy.

Nikki and Hugh, the husband and wife team who own and operate the Chalet couldn't have been more welcoming. Our daughter can be a handful, but Nikki really knew how to engage her. When it came to cooking, Nikki asked her, "What do you want to cook?" "Lasagna!" our daughter answered. I explained how that wasn't French, but Nikki then explained so brilliantly that it wasn't about the dish, but about instilling the love of cooking and eating what you cook. Our daughter enjoyed the process, cooked at each lesson, ate what she cooked, and was very proud of her efforts. As for my husband and I, this was our fourth cooking vacation. We felt that Nikki truly was able to teach to our level, plus introduce us to the local traditions through the farmers markets, and the actual local farmers. I can't wait for the cooler months in NYC so that we can make the hearty Alpine dishes.

I must also speak to the beautiful chalet and hamlet of Fontaines-Naves. Hugh built the entire chalet from the base of the 150-year old home, which was burned by the Nazis and had subsequently been used as a barn. The beautiful Phoenix that rose from those ashes is a tribute to the forces of good over evil. There are approximately four guest rooms, with a common fully stocked kitchen, dinning room, and living room area. From the balcony, we were able to witness stunning Alpine views of the sunrise, and even one with a rainbow that looks as if the pot of gold was on our doorstep. I had never seen one like that before. We shared the chalet with one other family, who were, of course, also wonderful people.

When I asked my daughter what she enjoyed most about the week, she said, "All our hiking." I was a bit surprised because we hiked 5 miles every day, which I thought may have been a bit much for her. (It does help keep the weight gain down from all the fabulous food!) I thought she may have enjoyed the cooking, or the swimming in the local pond more, but not. She said she loved being out in nature seeing new "Sound of Music" views around every corner, and spending time with only us.

When we left after a week, we felt as if we made new friends, not just had a new vacation. We will be back! Thank you Nikki and Hugh for a wonderful life experience!

Room tip: All rooms are good! You cannot go wrong. However, the upstairs family room has a very nice balcony.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

That's makes us smile!
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, so happy you enjoyed walking and hiking around the French Alps and staying with us at Chalet Savoie Faire. We also enjoyed every minute of creating local, healthy dishes together in the kitchen.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Many thanks
Nikki and Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews