We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
127
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
127
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french alps wonderful hosts cooking course wonderful company cooking school fantastic weekend an excellent cook hiking trails cycling trip fresh ingredients three nights fabulous food views of the mountains cooking holiday group of friends picnic basket vaulted dining room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 129 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2018

The views, the landscape, the quiet, the house itself and the whole experience were amazing, and a world away from everything else. What a beautiful place and beautiful people to escape the world and relax. Then we spent the morning in the kitchen with Nikki and made an amazing feast for lunch. An absolute highlight of our trip.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beckadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback.
It was such a pleasure for me having the smiling & laughing Aussie family of females in the kitchen, creating healthy food at Chalet Savoie Faire. Brilliant fun for everyone!
Hope you are using the recipes regularly?
Warm regards
Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

But every family is different so let me explain what we loved about it. We live in New York City, have one 10-year old daughter, and a very busy lifestyle. We also love to cook and eat good food. We were looking for something quiet, but with the ability to get out and explore nature. I didn't want to be locked into some resort where we couldn't go off property. Also, I didn't want a lot of pubs with drunk tourists falling down in the street. The Chalet is located in a tiny upper mountain hamlet, steeped deep in WWI and WWII history, with miles of endless hiking trails and no pubs, shops, or restaurants within walking distance. It seemed perfect. We signed up for six nights and seven days at Chalet Savoie Faire, which was to included four half days of local French cooking lessons, and a day trip to Lake Annecy.

Nikki and Hugh, the husband and wife team who own and operate the Chalet couldn't have been more welcoming. Our daughter can be a handful, but Nikki really knew how to engage her. When it came to cooking, Nikki asked her, "What do you want to cook?" "Lasagna!" our daughter answered. I explained how that wasn't French, but Nikki then explained so brilliantly that it wasn't about the dish, but about instilling the love of cooking and eating what you cook. Our daughter enjoyed the process, cooked at each lesson, ate what she cooked, and was very proud of her efforts. As for my husband and I, this was our fourth cooking vacation. We felt that Nikki truly was able to teach to our level, plus introduce us to the local traditions through the farmers markets, and the actual local farmers. I can't wait for the cooler months in NYC so that we can make the hearty Alpine dishes.

I must also speak to the beautiful chalet and hamlet of Fontaines-Naves. Hugh built the entire chalet from the base of the 150-year old home, which was burned by the Nazis and had subsequently been used as a barn. The beautiful Phoenix that rose from those ashes is a tribute to the forces of good over evil. There are approximately four guest rooms, with a common fully stocked kitchen, dinning room, and living room area. From the balcony, we were able to witness stunning Alpine views of the sunrise, and even one with a rainbow that looks as if the pot of gold was on our doorstep. I had never seen one like that before. We shared the chalet with one other family, who were, of course, also wonderful people.

When I asked my daughter what she enjoyed most about the week, she said, "All our hiking." I was a bit surprised because we hiked 5 miles every day, which I thought may have been a bit much for her. (It does help keep the weight gain down from all the fabulous food!) I thought she may have enjoyed the cooking, or the swimming in the local pond more, but not. She said she loved being out in nature seeing new "Sound of Music" views around every corner, and spending time with only us.

When we left after a week, we felt as if we made new friends, not just had a new vacation. We will be back! Thank you Nikki and Hugh for a wonderful life experience!

Room tip: All rooms are good! You cannot go wrong. However, the upstairs family room has a very nice balcony.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

That's makes us smile!
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, so happy you enjoyed walking and hiking around the French Alps and staying with us at Chalet Savoie Faire. We also enjoyed every minute of creating local, healthy dishes together in the kitchen.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future,
Many thanks
Nikki and Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Nikki and Hugh have created a stylish tranquil paradise up in them there hills. Their energy and fantastic all-round service was amazing. The rooms were fab and were made and decorated in a super unique individual style. The food was out of this world - so fresh and of the highest standard. We will have to go back for the cookery course! David and Tracey

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_not_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki S, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Oh thank you so much for your lovely review! It was a beautiful few days spent celebrating with you and your family - we got so much pleasure hosting you all.
Looking forward to having you in the kitchen one day,
Warm regards
Nikki and Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure of a far too brief stay at Chalet Savoie Faire for a family wedding. Nikki had Hugh have created an idyllic retreat space tucked away in the heart of the French Alps. The lodging is gorgeous, the company lovely and the food is epic. I love that Nikki uses things that are seasonal and local in her cooking-we were lucky to take advantage of the end of the cherry harvest in some of her delicious tarts! Thanks to Nikki and Hugh for sharing their home-I'd love to come back (and stay forever!)
Anna F.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TopsailTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shields_Nikki, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Well, thank you so much for your lovely feedback -please come back and see us again at Chalet Savoie Faire - we loved every minute of the wedding, the gloried, Groom, family and all their gorgeous friends - we are glad you did too.
Many thanks
Nikki and Hugh xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at CSF for a weekend for my sister-in-law’s wedding. Nikki was extremely helpful and made us feel like family. From the gorgeous chalet and views, to the delicious food, this is a place I want to come back to ASAP!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Priscilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shields_Nikki, Owner at Chalet Savoie Faire, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

We will be awaiting your return!
What a great wedding we all shared in different ways at Chalet Savoie Faire, something very special that took place in the heart of Savoie, so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for the lovely feedback, hope to see you soon,

Nikki and Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews