We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,588)
Filter reviews
1,589 results
Traveler rating
548
569
272
150
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
548
569
272
150
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reception staff beautiful hotel south of france the ground floor spa moulin terrace setting century curtains wines fitness beauty les
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,589 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

Though individual staff made solid efforts to please, this property is just plain sub-par. Public hallways are hot and dirty. Our first room was especially filthy, carpets were stained, and fuzz grew in the vents. The shower flooded the entire bathroom and the ac did not appear to be working. Our second room — just down the hall —was better, cleaner and a bit cooler but nothing special. Both rooms were ant infested. Breakfast service was mediocre, as was the one dinner we had there. We attempted to have a second dinner on the property but were told that the restaurant was closed to hotel guests (in order to accommodate a bus group—ugh). Given that there really aren’t other restaurants within walking distance, this was more than a minor inconvenience. On the plus side, the grounds are lovely and the pool is nice. And a few staff members really tried to make thing right. It the place is long overdue for renovation or maybe just a good shampoo. Having read prior reviews, I didn’t expect much. And we didn’t receive much.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ewellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loic l, Directeur général at Moulin de Vernegues, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments.
I'm really sorry for the technical problems you had with your first room and the fact you didn't like your experience at our restaurant.
We're waiting for a plan of renovation and hoping it's going to be very soon.
I hope I ll have the opportunity to show you the changes in a short time.
I wish you a very nice summer and stay at your disposal for any information you may have.

Kinds regards.

Loic LASTAPIS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018 via mobile

Nice photos but any review of the hotel stops here.
A Hotel is more than just pretty pictures and clean rooms. The staff was very rude, but my complaints start long before that.
We drove to the Gard booth 5 times to ask for directions and each time he gave us the wrong info. After going all different directions, he finally gave us the code to a gate at the end of a dead-end street. Why didn’t he just do that the first or second time we were there? Or at least told us how to reach the main entrance.
We had driven from Zürich all day and by this time we were upset and exhausted... so we go to check in. We had two rooms and we asked for the rooms to be together and she said yes no problem .
We are in our 70s they gave us rooms at the farthest away from the reception area that they could find. One of us needs a new Knee and is very crippled. They forgot to bring his luggage.
We get to the rooms, very far away from reception, and find out they are not together not even close. We asked if they could change the rooms for us and they told us there were no more rooms that were available!
We paid for a superior room! We checked in around 16:00. During this time we were not aggressive just tired.
Then I tried to call the other couple in their other room and couldn’t understand how to do it so I called reception and she just hung up on me!!!
I have tried calling reception again for help and they will not answer the phone. After this the phone never worked.
I have to say, when we checked in we were all very nice. The only time we were a bit irritated was when they told us there were no other rooms. The place appears deserted and has several large buildings.
Also the telephone in the room did not work for the four days we were there and they never came to fix it for us. I couldn’t call emergency or anything ....if anything had happened to us.
I would advise not to stay here. They don’t care about guests at all. It’s worse than that.....they treat you appallingly.
It is also very far out of the way for anything except golf!
Do not stay here!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kentsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Directeur général at Moulin de Vernegues, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2018

Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment about your stay.

We are sorry some areas were not up to your expectations and we apologize for this.

Hoping to see you again at the Moulin de Vernègues.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018

We booked a night there for a week end away and were quite happy with the place.
It was a great place and the pool and restaurant allowed us to make the most of our stay. The terrace of our room was very pleasant with a little stream and we enjoyed taking our breakfast there, although it was not great in terms of privacy as it was open on the access of the building and the spa. The pool and adjacent bar are also very enjoyable.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Directeur général at Moulin de Vernegues, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018
Google Translation

Cher Hôte,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi notre établissement pour ce séjour, et d'avoir pris le temps de rédiger ce commentaire.

Vous nous voyez enchanté que cette expérience au Moulin vous ait plu,

Nous espérons bientôt vous revoir dans notre Maison

Bien cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2018 via mobile

Lovely place 40 mins drive from Avignon train station. U relax and enjoy the nature.....the hotel has kept the old 18th century building's uniqueness ans adapted to present taste.
Nice golf course....fitness and open space to relax ur holidays

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Maj Rajneesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Directeur général at Moulin de Vernegues, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018
Google Translation

Cher Hôte,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi notre établissement pour ce séjour, et d'avoir pris le temps de rédiger ce commentaire.

Vous nous voyez enchanté que cette expérience au Moulin vous ait plu.

Nous espérons bientôt vous revoir dans notre Maison

Bien cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017

We stayed for 4 nights in Moulin de Vernegues, enjoying some of the Spa treatments and having dinner in the hotel restaurant 'Les Voutes'. Generally we were very satisfied with our stay, the staff was friendly, the site super, the room spacious, comfortable and clean. Of course there are always points for improvement, and I'm comparing with the better business hotels I'm generally staying in.
When breakfast starts at 07.30, all should be ready at 07.30. It seems the (limited) staff had difficulties in completing the buffet. On 2 of the 4 days the fresh fruit was missing, and one of the two coffee machines was always malfunctioning. It would be a good addition to the rooms if a water kettle and some the and coffee would be provided in the room (rather than having to order it with room service).
Regarding the Spa, the Occitane products could be promoted a bit more, meaning that the staff should be very well aware of the products offered. This was not always the case. But again, there is always something to complain about. Generally, it was a good stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan B, Directeur général at Moulin de Vernegues, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017
Google Translation

Cher Hôte,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi notre établissement pour ce séjour, et d'avoir pris le temps de rédiger ce commentaire.

Vous nous voyez enchanté que cette expérience au Moulin vous ait plu.

Nous espérons bientôt vous revoir dans notre Maison

Bien cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews