We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice village and location, awful apartment and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Pierre & Vacances Pont Royal en Provence
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mallemort
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We've stayed in many P et V properties previously and found them to be good. Howver this was a most disappointing visit. We stayed for two weeks in August 2007 in a two bedroom apartment in the Charleval block.

- Location: pretty good for getting to some v. nice parts of Provence. However, do not think you are staying in the nicest part of the Luberon, (such as Lacoste, Gordes, etc) this is the more agricultural/industrial part of Provence that starts at Avignon and works its way through Cavaillon. In fact, at the bottom of the slope of this village there is still a lot of wasteland that has not been developed or is left over from the development of the hydro-electric station nearby.The best part of the Luberon is the northern slopes - this is on the south. However, the views from the village are very good, though - the Luberon in the near distance and the canals nearby. You can drive o the beach near Marseille in about an hour and you have both Avignon and Aix within 45 mins.

- The village design and layout: very well designed - sort of "adult Disney". All built on a steep hill in the style of a real village with a village square. Don't expect to use bikes to get around, though (a la Center Parcs) as it is mainly steep steps and narrow pathways.

- Facilities and Sports: When this village opened and the facilities were new, I'm sure this was a top-notch place. But just too many things were not working - nothing major but a long list of minor things (such as the lights not working, showers not working at the 5-a-side pitch, the 5-a-side astro dangerously worn out, some of the items in the children's park not working...) that it gives the impression of either a lack of funds or a team that do not care. This place is not cheap and you should get decent facilities for your cash. The swimming pools were great (especially the wave pool) but, again, the lack of non-broken sunbeds sends the wrong message.

Apartment: this is where P et V have REALLY let down their customers. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment (supposedly for 6) even though there is just 3 of us. It was tiny. The double bed was not large enough for anyone over 5' 10" and both bedrooms were so small that there was little, if any, room to walk around the beds. Rather like a ferry ship cabin than an apartment. The living room was OK, with a sofa that can convert into another double bed. How on earth a family of 6 could live here for more than a night is anyone's guess, though! There was an outside terrace but it was dirty and covered in cobwebs and there were only 2 chairs to go with the table (3 people per chair?). Very disappointing.

- Service: poor. Checkin and reception staff were efficient and friendly. BUT, at the risk of sounding like a moaner, we had multiple probelms in our apartment (including a shower without any doors!!) that were never fixed in the 2 weeks we were there. At the end of the stay the manager gave us a 25% reduction but it really did spoil the whole thing for us.

This experience has really made us think twice before staying at a P et V residence again. Maybe my standards are too high - or maybe theirs are too low???

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NeilHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2007

Good facilities, especially for kids - swimming pool with waves, table tennis etc. and the resort is pretty on the outside. But our apartment was a bit poky, bedrooms in particular. There were five of us, so we booked an apartment for six to get a bit of extra space. Lucky we did. Furniture and kitchen equipment very basic too. Don't want to criticise the place too much as we generally had a really good time - just be prepared.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank jackiebk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

Family of 4, 2 young girls ages 1 and 3. We arrived after a 7 hour drive which should have taken 4 hours, during which we (and by we, I mean me) got lost and my daughter vomited (can you believe we're still married?) in a non air conditioned car (that I rented). We were greeted by very friendly staff, told exactly what we needed to know, and enjoyed every single minute of this vacation. There are many great things to enjoy: beautiful pool with plenty of sunbeds and a wave machine, a more elegant pool with payable sunbeds. Both pools have a small children's pool and lifeguards on duty that were both professional and helpful.

The food was delicious, and the grounds immaculate. Very lovely for going on walks around the lake or just around the property. The golf course is top notch, and neighbouring towns quite interesting, as you
are really in the heart of Provence.

Some things to note, if you are going to this resort, may I suggest taking a bath mat, and some nice bathtowels. The supermarket on site will give you enough to make your own lunches, but the breakfast buffet is nice, though small, and the dinners are great. I would consider going during the summer season, as the unheated pool can be cold if you are not used to it. We're from Canada originally, so we swim with polar bears year round. (we don't really, but we do swim in a lot of lakes, and they are COLD!)

If you have young ones, and they are at all interested in ponies, this is the place to ride! It's not expensive, and the horses are all very calm and the instructor very sweet. I was very impressed.

Also, paddle boats are only available certain times of the year, probably only July and August, which we were a bit disappointed about, but it didn't matter as there were so many other activities. I just think the place really starts to get going in the summer months.

There is hard concrete on many of the walkways, for lack of a better way to describe it, and so proper shoes for the children would be smart, as you don't want them falling on this. Other than that point,
we found the whole place to be very safe for our children.

Also a river ride, which was absolutely without a lineup all day, for
older kids, they rule the place, very fun!

Lots of French spoken, but found that most people were able to speak English. Loved this place! Would love to go back, but the world is so
big and life is so short!

Cheers, and bonnes vacances!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank thistlecove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

We stayed in an independent villa within the complex of Pont Royal. The villa was superb (found through holiday-rentals.com) and the setting of the resort is lovely with great views and easy access to the Luberon, Avignon, Aix etc. The resort restaurants left alot to be desired. Great for kids especially fussy English ones but not so good for the adults hoping to taste some good french cuisine (better to go off site and venture into nearby villages).

The wave pool and rapid rides were a great addition to the normal hotel set up and there were numerous other activities offered that we didn't sample such as jet skiing, horse riding, kayaking etc. Overall it is a great base to explore this area of Provence.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Giggsy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Travelled to Pierre at Vacances, Pont Royal as a three generation party - grandparents, parents and young children, 5 and 8. Initial impressionj good. Fine setting near the Luberon Mountains, half an hour from Aix en Provence and easy road travel from Marseilles Airport.
The resort is a village, built in traditional Provence style of houses and apartments, with a square, couple of shops, restaurant and two bars. Main attraction is the range of activities, particularly for children with separate clubs for different ages going on each day and special activities (like horseriding, fencing) as well as two good sixed pools, one with artifical wave machine and a waterchute ride.
Accomodation in our three bed house was simple and clean. but bedrooms small. Kitchen area in living room adequate rather than spacious but each house had an outside terrace with table and chairs.
Staff at main reception very helpful and efficient.
Children loved the two pools and the horseriding experience - wonderful woman teacher who taught them to ride and have respect for their ponies - the highlight of their holiday.
Not impressed with the restaurant or other eating possibilities on site. Had to send back first meal and the prices were as you would expect for a captive audience on site! The daily buffet evening meal was 26 Euros for adults and 13 for children. Not good value.Much better to take the car for ten minutes and eat at a restaurant in Mallemort ( where there is also a supermarket, chemist and weekly market)
Nice surroundings, with the golf course and the distant hills and mountains but probably a better bet out of high season - although it never felt too crowded.
Certainly a good place to consider for out-going teenagers as they would join the clubs and probably not be seen all day!
Clients mainly French with some English and German families

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelinhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gloucester, UK
146
Reviewed June 14, 2005

My wife and I have just returned from a week away at the Pierre and Vacances Pont Royal resort in Provence. We were impressed with the amount of facilities included within the resort, it was ideal for families and children of all ages. The resort is centred within a prestigious golf course designed by Seve Ballesteros, which provides a stunning backdrop if you are not a keen golfer!

The accomodation was basic but clean and had all of the facilities we required including a dishwasher which was a bonus! Our apartment had views across the lake and a large balcony on the top (3rd) floor which was superb in the evenings. The resort is designed in a typical french old village style with plenty of heavily landscaped pathways and a 'town square' with two restaurants, a grocery store, newsagent and tourist information centre.

The resort seemed extremely quite, unusual we thought for June, but this was a bonus as there was plenty of space around the pool and tables available for dinner at the excellent value for money restaurant. Apart from eating out, there wasn't really much to do in the evenings apart from walk around the many pathways in the resort or retire to your room with a bottle or two of the local vino. The resort is a 10 minute drive from the local town of Mallemort, which has a variety of shops and the nearest hypermarche, but again was very quite. It is a very good central base for exploring Provence, reasonable distances for day trips to Aix, Avignon, Rousillon and not too far from the Camargue.

We flew to Nimes airport with an cheap internet booking with Ryanair from Stanstead. The flight was 1hr 30mins. The airport was approx 1hr 30 mins from Pont Royal and an easy drive.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
46  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank decampse2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallemort
0.3 mi away
Moulin de Vernegues Chateaux Hotels Collections
5.9 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
5.5 mi away
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
#1 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Adonis Aix-en-Provence
Adonis Aix-en-Provence
#1 of 1 in Eguilles
243 reviews
7.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
B&B Hotel Salon de Provence
#5 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
103 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Domaine de la Reynaude
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Pierre & Vacances Pont Royal en Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Pierre & Vacances Pont Royal en Provence

Address: Domaine de Pont Royal | Rue des Alpilles, 13370 Mallemort, France (Formerly Village Club Pont Royal en Provence)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Mallemort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mallemort
Price Range: $68 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Pierre & Vacances Pont Royal en Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perché dans les hauteurs de la vallée de la Durance, à 30 km d'Aix-en-Provence et à 45 km d'Avignon, le Village Pont-Royal en Provence est un véritable havre de paix de 180 ha. Son emplacement privilégié vous offre une vue sur le massif du Luberon. Ses bâtisses provençales restituent le charme d'un village avec plusieurs restaurants et commerces. Appartements, maisons ou villas : vous avez le choix. Chaque jour sera l'occasion de nouvelles découvertes pour petits et grands. Glissades sur les toboggans géants, descentes de la rivière sauvage, piscine à vagues, pataugeoire. Les amateurs de golfs perfectionneront leur swing sur le superbe parcours 18 trous de Pont-Royal. Le cadre naturel vous invite pour une balade à cheval ou un stage d'équitation. Nous avons tout prévu pour prendre soin et divertir les plus jeunes dans nos clubs pour enfants de 3 mois à 17 ans N'oubliez pas de faire un tour au marché local de la place du village pour découvrir les spécialités provençales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Village Pierre & Vacances Pont Royal en Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Resort Pont-Royal En Provence Hotel Mallemort
Pierre And Vacances Resort Pont-Royal En Provence
Village Pierre & Vacances Pont Royal En Provence Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur/Mallemort, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing