We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, accomodation not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Club Pont Royal en Provence
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mallemort
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alicante, Spain
1 review
“Poor, accomodation not very clean”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

looked as if they had tried to re-docorate but had done a terrible job. Having to pay for parking outside or near to your accomodation but there is no alternative parking.
There were 2 conferences whilst we were there, so the 2 restaurants could not cope. One bar (golf club) served coffee in the afternoon, but that was it, The other bars/restaurants closed at 10! Would not like to go in July/August, just don't see how they could cope. Cannot recommend this venue and would not re-book with this company even at a different resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauramg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    643
    437
    211
    73
See reviews for
1,387
111
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed at this hotel from 28/8 – 4/9.

Have stayed with P&V twice before so more or less knew what to expect. Rooms are basic and more or less clean. The Kitchens are functional and allow Hob cooking along with the microwave. I guess your overall view of the accommodation would be based on your position on the resort. We were at the back and overlooked the canal and mountains which got the sun for the best part of the day so this compensated for the modest rooms.

Staff are helpful at reception and we had a workman around within 10 mins after complaining about a door handle. The shops on site are well stocked and a bit overpriced but this is to be expected. La Farougoule restaurant was good but again overpriced but you are bit of a captive audience.

My son enjoyed the kids clubs but found it hard as the Animators didn’t speak good English which madder it hard for him to play board or card games – however overall the clubs are free so you cant really complain.

Where I can complain though concerns what happened to the resort on the Friday when a large group from a French Company came to the resort for a “team-building” week. The whole atmosphere of the resort changed straightaway from being family-friendly place to an 18-30 jolly. The lifeguards at the pool refused to put the wave machine on during the Friday afternoon because of repeated infringements like diving/bombing and singing football chants. This ruined the day as my son had specifically wanted to swim the waves on his last afternoon. My wife also experienced some unwanted lewd behaviour from males in the group which was extremely unpleasant. To cap it all we then spent a sleepless night as drunken groups returned to their rooms singing songs and banging doors as they went.

When we checked out the next morning we complained about the noise and behaviour and were told that September/October was the conference season and this was the format at most P&V sites during this period. You have been warned!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boxfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Village Club Pont Royal en Provence, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Many thanks for posting this review. We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us overall and are happy that your son enjoyed the kids' club despite there being a language gap -hopefully he managed to pick up a few French words as a result! But we do try and make our facilities accessible to all and take your comments on board when making improvements. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the group staying at the resort at the end of your holiday. Although somewhat beyond our control, we do our best to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable experience try to communicate this to conference organisers. Lewd or intimidating behaviour is always frowned upon however and we are sorry that you do not feel that your complaint was taken seriously enough at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Accom - We had stayed with P&V before so my expectations were not high (Cap Esteral), but this was not good. I had booked a 3 bedroom house - with all bedrooms upstairs. When we got there the bunk bed room was actually just inside the front door - down stairs (my daughter (8) declared that we was not going to sleep in the porch.) As a parent, leaving a child down stairs just inside the front door was not a situation we were prepared to live with, so we all slept up stairs in the two bedrooms. When I spoke to the front desk about the discrepancy between what was on the web to describe the property and what we got I was told some has 3 bedrooms up stairs some did not. The layout we had was not the description on the web. I also got repeatedly bit in bed (not by the husband), the evening where chill so we were within the sheets, not from something flying around.
There is parking around the resort, so we could park in front of the house. Although parking does cost approx 40 euro's per week.

Kitchen: Again not expecting much, but we had a ceramic hob and a combination microwave, (which was terrible) Basically only the microwave function worked.
Also no kettle nor toaster, ground coffee maker provided so no need for a kettle. I asked for one but never got one. Completely unacceptable level of equipment for a modern day resort.

Bathroom - we had two. The upstairs one was slow to drain (sink and shower) and by mid week would not drain. Again spoke to front desk. No one came. When we left on the Saturday the water in the shower had been standing for 3 days. The down stairs bathroom was good.

Pools - 2 pools were good, we all had fun, although we were there just after the French children went back.

Kids Clubs - Both girls went and had fun (4 and 8). English spoken by the club leaders.

Resort - Girls enjoyed going on the park, the flume was fun and there was a v. small farm (rabbits etc), which again they enjoyed going to on their own.

Restaurants: We only used one and were not that impressed. The kids menu was about 7 euro, but at the other restaurant the price was 13.50 Euro for kids. Approx 16 Euro for a main meal for adults.

Last week of August: We went between 28th Aug to 4th Sept. The resort basically grinds to a halt on 1st September. The bar at the side of the pool stops serving ice creams, most of the restaurants run down their stock of ice creams. It has a very end of season feel very quickly and services are not maintained.

Overall: If you are happy to cook for a family on a hob and a microwave and not have a kettle then it is OK. Views can be good. I would not not go to Pont Royal again, but we still would go back to Cap Esteral.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElfNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Village Club Pont Royal en Provence, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Many thanks for posting a review to Tripadvisor following your stay at Cap Esterel. Your review has been noted and has been not only passed onto our web teams and editors, but also to Management of the Residence. We strive to ensure our website is as informative as possible to enable customers to pick the right house for them before booking. We're sorry to hear about your comments regarding your mattress as this is being looked into immediately as a matter of importance. Additional extras available to purchase around the resort are listed in completion on our website, this includes parking fees. Kitchens should come with appropriate facilities including a coffee maker and ceramic hob. Your comments concerning the maintenance of the bathroom in your room have also been passed on as this is unacceptable and does not adhere to our normal level of service. Finally, for future reference, our website does list season dates and the opening of all onsite facilities. We're sorry if aspects of your room affected your holiday. We hope as some consolation, it helps to know that your comment has been read, noted, and passed onto our management team for further investigation. We strive to have the best level of service we can at Pierre & Vacances and we find Tripadvisor is a great way of highlight necessary improvements. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mallemort hotels

Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Easy to find and generaly well managed resort. Lovely views from the accomodation. Not enough facilities for the volumes of visitors e.g. enough pools but not enough area to accomodate you if not in the pool. Insufficient leisure areas to simply relax by the pool or lake. All felt a bit cramped with so many people vying for the little free space available.
Nice family feling around the centre and the best of french values on show, with no UK teenagers trying to consume as much alcohol as possible. Good, amateur entertainment daytime and evening and again, a strong family feel to it. Not for teenagers/couples and or families who prefer a loud, lively and 24 hr bar/club type atmosphere.
Accomodation was central to most amenities and parking available, relatively close by.
Accomodation fairly basic but OK.
Do NOT shop at the on-site general store as the prices are highly inflated. There are local supermarches available nearby, so take the car and fill up also! They can be found in Pont-Royal itself or in nearby Lambesc, using the large Casino supermarket.
Must visit Aix-en-provence for day trip at least.

Helpful?
1 Thank FroggyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2008

I travelled in June of this year 2008, with my husband, our three children ages 9, 11 and 19 months, my parents also travelled with us. We hired a house for 6/8 people, staying for 10 nights.There where 3 bedrooms (1 double, 1 twin and a room with bunks), 2 toilets and a shower, also in the double room there was a sink and bath. The kitchen and living room are open plan and there is a double sofa bed in the living room. We had a small terrace garden. Storage was good considering there where 4 adults and 3 children staying.

The accomodation was ok, but is really in need of some attention, eveything is quite old and worn from the carpets in the bedrooms to the sofas.

The location however is great, the views and the surrounding areas are beautiful. The staff where very helpful and the children enjoyed the pools and the nighty entertainment (which was just starting before we left - July is the start of their high season).

The food in the resort itself is ok, when we visited there was only three options for dinner, one of which is a cafe (which has very good salads, tapas... but does not do hot food) . There is a hyper market (Intermarche) in the small town of Mallemort if you are looking to cook at home, as the shop in the resort can be pricey.

If I was to go back I would consider hiring one of the private villas within the resort, as the accomodation was a slight let down.

Children however will not care and will really enjoy the place.

Tip - if you are going, brush up on your French, as most things in the resort are geared towards French customers.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shabby and needs redone
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernIrelandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I've stayed there for 3 nights, on business purposes.

Pitoresc village built in the midle of nowhere.
Wonderful location, spacious flats, not so new room facilities, enormous balconys, several amenities to you to entertain yourself.

Superb for business purposes because of the calm environment and good quality of the business facilities. The golf seems perfect and everything is very well maintained. The staff is very flexible, tough they don't speak english. The Golf restaurant is delicious, with outstanding desserts. Perfect for outdoor sporting.

Overall, I will return in summer season.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Carolinaferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We've stayed in many P et V properties previously and found them to be good. Howver this was a most disappointing visit. We stayed for two weeks in August 2007 in a two bedroom apartment in the Charleval block.

- Location: pretty good for getting to some v. nice parts of Provence. However, do not think you are staying in the nicest part of the Luberon, (such as Lacoste, Gordes, etc) this is the more agricultural/industrial part of Provence that starts at Avignon and works its way through Cavaillon. In fact, at the bottom of the slope of this village there is still a lot of wasteland that has not been developed or is left over from the development of the hydro-electric station nearby.The best part of the Luberon is the northern slopes - this is on the south. However, the views from the village are very good, though - the Luberon in the near distance and the canals nearby. You can drive o the beach near Marseille in about an hour and you have both Avignon and Aix within 45 mins.

- The village design and layout: very well designed - sort of "adult Disney". All built on a steep hill in the style of a real village with a village square. Don't expect to use bikes to get around, though (a la Center Parcs) as it is mainly steep steps and narrow pathways.

- Facilities and Sports: When this village opened and the facilities were new, I'm sure this was a top-notch place. But just too many things were not working - nothing major but a long list of minor things (such as the lights not working, showers not working at the 5-a-side pitch, the 5-a-side astro dangerously worn out, some of the items in the children's park not working...) that it gives the impression of either a lack of funds or a team that do not care. This place is not cheap and you should get decent facilities for your cash. The swimming pools were great (especially the wave pool) but, again, the lack of non-broken sunbeds sends the wrong message.

Apartment: this is where P et V have REALLY let down their customers. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment (supposedly for 6) even though there is just 3 of us. It was tiny. The double bed was not large enough for anyone over 5' 10" and both bedrooms were so small that there was little, if any, room to walk around the beds. Rather like a ferry ship cabin than an apartment. The living room was OK, with a sofa that can convert into another double bed. How on earth a family of 6 could live here for more than a night is anyone's guess, though! There was an outside terrace but it was dirty and covered in cobwebs and there were only 2 chairs to go with the table (3 people per chair?). Very disappointing.

- Service: poor. Checkin and reception staff were efficient and friendly. BUT, at the risk of sounding like a moaner, we had multiple probelms in our apartment (including a shower without any doors!!) that were never fixed in the 2 weeks we were there. At the end of the stay the manager gave us a 25% reduction but it really did spoil the whole thing for us.

This experience has really made us think twice before staying at a P et V residence again. Maybe my standards are too high - or maybe theirs are too low???

  • Liked — Views, village design
  • Disliked — TIny apartment, facilities not up to date or serviced, service was very poor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NeilHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallemort
0.3 mi away
Moulin de Vernegues Chateaux Hotels Collections
5.5 mi away
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
Garrigae Abbaye de Sainte Croix
#1 of 18 in Salon-de-Provence
360 reviews
8.5 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
17.0 mi away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
800 reviews
16.0 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#3 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Club Pont Royal en Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Club Pont Royal en Provence

Property: Village Club Pont Royal en Provence
Address: Domaine de Pont Royal, 13370 Mallemort, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Mallemort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mallemort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Club Pont Royal en Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Provence, in the Luberon, between Aix-en-Provence and Avignon. Golf, horse riding, tennis, Children’s and teenager clubs (3 months to 18 years) The choice of apartments, houses and luxury villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Village Club Pont Royal en Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Resort Pont-Royal En Provence Hotel Mallemort
Pierre And Vacances Resort Pont-Royal En Provence
Village Club Pont Royal En Provence Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur/Mallemort, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing