We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary home in pretty village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2009

L'ile sur La Sorgue is a magical place and staying in the centre of this historic town in a tastefully renovated boutique hotel was a great idea. We booked on the 'net and emails from Frederic were friendly and the site for the hotel was very user friendly and informative. The house exceeded expectations and they were high given the photos and descriptions. A modest door opened to a tastefully decorated entry and you could see the lovely courtyard garden beyond. Our suite was the shadow suite and among other things we particularly liked the comfortable bed, bathrobes and having our own private terrace. Breakfast was included and like everything here was artistic and served with flair. Frederic and Marie Claude were fabulous hosts- his restaurant suggestions were excellent. They also have a shop so you can buy some of the items you admire using in the hotel.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank griffindor101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 280 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in June 2008 with our 18-month-old daughter and overall had a lovely experience. The owner, Frederic, is wonderful, offering great restaurant and day trip advice, as well as beautiful olives and a glass of wine by the pool! The rooms are incredibly beautiful. We stayed in the room with the loggia, which was amazing - the perfect place to relax and sip wine and try the wonderful snacks from the region while our daughter napped and slept at night. The location is perfect - right in the center of everything. This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway or sophisticated travelers. Although Frederic was 100% accommodating with our daughter, including a great baby bed and a special seat and place setting at breakfast (breakfast is incredible by the way), I would not recommend this as a place for kids. It's just too darn nice and naturally chill and serene that we felt bad whenever our daughter made any noise. It was our own feeling - not one imposed by the owners or other guests. We look forward to going back here one day on our own, for a great romantic escape. For the quality of the place, the prices were also quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooklynbeachster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We have just returned from a delightful stay at La Maison sur la Sorgue. The house itself has been beautifully restored, without losing any of its original Provencal charm. Frederic and Marie-Claude are charming hosts, who guided us on things to do and see and even offered us an aperitif! The breakfasts, as other people have said, are delicious and very elegantly presented. A great stay in a wonderful town.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KadiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

The Maison sur la Sorgue is really a beautiful house, very well located in the old L'Isle sur la Sorgue.

The breakfast is a great moment.

We felt very at home with the family. Frédéric and Marie-Claude make you very confortable, and the two girls are very polite.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Micodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

What a delight we had at this wonderful hotel. The owners welcomed us with wine and cheese at our arrival in the garden. We were extremely pleased with our immaculate rooms and breakfast was delicious.

Frederick is extremely helpful with road directions and sights not to miss. His recommendations of restaurants in surrounding areas was spot on and we were never disappointed.

We will definitely return here!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank frogmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

I spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel. The owners were great and I felt like I was staying at their home. It was my birthday when I was there and Frédéric opened some champagne to celebrate. Attention is paid to every detail in this small hotel. I stayed in the "Room with a View" which was quite large and wonderfully decorated.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

Found this hotel on the net. Excellent! I paied euro 196 per night fot the room called Loggia. It was a beautiful room with a little balcony on a little river.
The room was brand new, with the shower in the room. There was also a CD player with Beethoven music.
Breakfast is excellent and the owner of this little hotel everyday offer you a little speciality. The first day we had a special chocolate muffin home made and the second day strawberries with cream.

The city is very small and the hotel is just in the center. You can have problems with your car on SUndays since the whole town is a huge market and it is forbidden to park the car nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottorsocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
209 reviews
1 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
733 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
405 reviews
9.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France

Address: 6 rue Rose Goudard | Place Rose Goudard, 84800, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range: $324 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel La Maison Sur La Sorgue and its hosts offer you charming suites in a former private mansion in the heart of l' Isle sur la Sorgue.You enter by an unassuming door, which opens into a serie of cool rooms through wich you glimpse a verdant garden laid out on the banks of the Sorgue river under a majestic Sycamore.We eargely await you, and rest at your disposal to help you organize your stay in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Sur La Sorgue Hotel l`Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue
La Maison Sur Sorgue
La Maison Sur La Sorgue - Esprit De France L'Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing