We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have been very fortunate to have stayed in this wonderful boutique accommodation 3 times. For me, this place is heaven - a home away from home. I have worked in the Travel Industry in Australia for over 20 years and this is my choice for my favourite place in the world.
I get very disappointed when I read reviews from people with expectations that this should provide the services of a 5 star hotel. It is the most personable accommodation I have ever experienced (without intrusion). The owners are so accommodating but not interfering.
I have stayed here on my own - and felt incredibly safe and comfortable. I have stayed here with my family - and enjoyed the spacious rooms.
It is a bonus being so close to the Sunday markets - and being able to view it all from your bedroom.
This charming place has a lot more to offer than a sterile 5 star hotel. Money cannot buy what this hotel has to offer - sincere French hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Loves_Family_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 276 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

La Maison Sur La Sorgue is a delightful boutique hotel, a typical building of the area, sympathetically restored and ideally located in the centre of town.
The owners have created a very comfortable home that they have opened up to guests... The best hotel in my opinion.
The service was warm and helpful.
Would recommend to anyone.

Our only gripe was that there was no shower fascility, only a bath.



  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

looking out the bedroom window and gazing upon a weathered worn Mary perched on the front of the church - well, what can go wrong? The bonus was Sunday morning looking down from the window onto the colorful awnings set up for the market. What a treat. So pleased with our stay at La Maison sur la Sorgue. Two nights of warm hospitality, great breakfast and a superb restored building. A labor of love went into the remodeling, decorating - very warm and stylish. The town was a perfect spot to enjoy the Luberon area. The small shop adjacent to the Maison was the best!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

It's a a beautiful place in a beautiful little town and Frédéric can make you feel really welcome. Breakfast is delicious.
The suite des ombres is enchanting and it really has a secret that we'll keep mum about.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. The "but" in the title is due to this. The suite, and particularly the bathroom, is a perfect example of the triumph of design and looks over convenience or even common sense. Presumably a waste paper bin would not look good, so there isn't one. Ditto for ... a toilet brush. The bathroom is beautiful but the total lack of practicality tends to ruin your shower experience. We had no real trouble climbing 40 cm from a step into a deep bath from the sloping side (double trouble), but if you're not nimble you may well be in trouble. There is absolutely nothing to hold on to. Climbing out of the wet slippery bath becomes hazardous. Once in the bath, you're alright if you want a bath but your shower will be miserable. The very stylish shower head in the form of a stick sends out one vertical and two slanted streams of water. It is absolutely impossible to shower with soaking the bathroom, and even if you sit down, you can't enjoy it because you're so busy trying to control the thing. The toothbrushing glass is lovely but there's only one. Are we expected to share? We are used to hard bedding but some guests may find the mattress quite hard.
Finally, with this price tag, one would expect a few basics such as a few sheets of writing paper and a pencil, a bottle of water, a small tube of body lotion per person and not one for two...

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank imforestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We spent 2 nights here in August and can endorse most of what appears in the rave reviews of this beautiful and charming place. The location is superb, the hosts are superb, and the downstairs area is superb. We were made to feel very welcome.

However, trying to be entirely objective, and bearing in mind that the prices (which do include a good breakfast) are similar to those charged at luxury hotels (for example, the Chateau des Alpilles in St Remy from which we had just come, where 2 rooms had cost us E560 per night), we would make one or two observations just so that other visitors know what is coming:

1. The Loggia room has no TV; not a problem for us, but some might expect it for the price. Its airconditioning unit sounded quite elderly and was not massively effective. Given that the room is in the roof, it does get hot in high summer. The shower is part and parcel of the main (large) room) and it is quite hard to get into. A triumph of style over substance? The decor is a mix of Far Easterm styles - not much of Provence here other than the bath products. The bedding was OK but not of the highest quality and the sheets were not changed daily; again, not a big deal so far as we were concerned but bearing in mind the price tag, some potential customers might be put off. For E300+ per night, perhaps better bedding is called for.

2. The sitting room for the first floor suite is furnished with somewhat elderly sofas - reminscent of a student common room.The (separate) bedroom is spacious but the bedding again was not of the first quality.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
9  Thank WaldronofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Beautifully restored and immaculate - cool adn calm in the centre of the village. We really relaxed and enjoyed our short break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueantibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A beautifully restored old building, with very chic rooms. An ideal place to stay if you want to be in the thick of the Market on the Sunday morning & look for antiques. Frederick & Marie-Claude were superb hosts, nothing was ever too much trouble. Frederick has a wonderful sense of humour. All his recommendations for dinner were spot on too. Breakfasts were delicious, it felt more like a very hip art gallery. If you love brocantes then this is the place for you. I also bought several articles from their fabulous shop, easily best shop in the town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicnsavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
727 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
405 reviews
16.5 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
7.3 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France

Address: 6 rue Rose Goudard | Place Rose Goudard, 84800, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range: $318 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel La Maison Sur La Sorgue and its hosts offer you charming suites in a former private mansion in the heart of l' Isle sur la Sorgue.You enter by an unassuming door, which opens into a serie of cool rooms through wich you glimpse a verdant garden laid out on the banks of the Sorgue river under a majestic Sycamore.We eargely await you, and rest at your disposal to help you organize your stay in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Sur La Sorgue Hotel l`Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue
La Maison Sur Sorgue
La Maison Sur La Sorgue - Esprit De France L'Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing