We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B at Relais & Châteaux price. Overrated.”
Review of Le Clos Violette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Violette
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The house is nice, but we had a japanese like room in the second floor that seems to have been the roof. It is not a suite. The toilette and shower are in the room, just separated by a sliding door.
There were crumbs in the sofa.
We were very disappointed.

Be aware that you will pay more than 250 € for just a familiar bed & breakfast.
We stayed in a wonderful four star Château nearby for less money the night before.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 59 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family (6 adults) recently spent 4 nights at the beautiful and lovingly restored Le Clos Violette. Rejane and Richard are warm, friendly, welcoming hosts, and our time with them was delightful. The rooms are extremely spacious (several with King-sized beds, which is unusual in a French hotel), and each has been created with a different theme, using authentic antiques, but with very up to date bathrooms (which all have both bathtubs and showers).
Rejane and Richard graciously greeted us with wine and snacks in their lovely lounge, and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time in their beautiful garden.
They not only provided delicious breakfasts in their charming kitchen/dining room, but shared recipes with us, and accommodated our extra requests.
They also gave us wonderful local restaurant recommendations, and helped us plan our days of exploring the Luberon area.
Staying with Rejane and Richard in their beautiful home/hotel in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue turned out to be one of the highlights of our 12 day trip to France.
I can highly recommend the charming town, and their beautiful hotel and exceptional hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, but gorgeous, and the location is very quiet and restful, but only abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyric6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was lucky enough to be directed to Le Clos Violette because a dear Parisian friend knows the owners (family friends) and helped with introductions. She always has the best recommendations! I had never been to Isle Sur La Sorgue before my first trip in March 2013 and I will definitely return. Now, back to what makes this property so special:

* For starters, the owners Rejane and Richard are simply wonderful hosts... their warmth, kindness and attention to detail shines through. This historic property has incredible antiques, large rooms and such charm. You won't want to leave.

* The village is so quaint and charming... the historic water wheels and wonderful antiques draw visitors from many miles away. This is a small village with friendly people at every turn.

* The other nearby villages are equally incredible and also very different. I recommend Rouissillon, Gordes and Fontaine-de-Vaucluse for sure.

* I took the high-speed train from Paris to Avignon and then a taxi to the property... note that you'll want to ask the proprietors for help in case taxis don't run at off hours. They can be arranged for special trips but it may cost more if not during a typical business day. Richard and Rejane can guide you.

Ok - I think that's it! I may come back and edit this to add more details next time I go back to Le Clos Violette, and I WILL go back. :)

Room Tip: I stayed in the "Sarah Bernhardt" suite which was so gorgeous... I slept SO soundly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The best kept hotel secret in the most beautiful town in France. Superb, warm welcome from discreet hosts. Comfort and style, fabulous breakfast, huge rooms and bathrooms. Worth every cent - we are going back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sarah Bernhardt room which was wonderful. The hostess showed us the other rooms bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I travel a lot, and stay at all sorts of hotels, and this one is really exceptional. It only has a few rooms, and I got to see two of them, and they were both beautiful. Decor of my room was '1800 Parisian style' which I absolutely love, and as far as I am concerned all rooms are decorated by the owners with antique furniture with soul. The furniture is stylish,unique and authentic- not some cheap 'made in china, 2011 antique' stuff'. It's not one of those many disappointing b&b.
Also- it looks much better than the photos indicate. Location is perfect- in the centre of the old part of L'isle sur la Sorgue, but not too close to noisy restaurants and bars. By 'not too close' I mean 3 minute walk from the action, as the town is really small, and everything is within walking distance. There is a quiet garden on the back of the hotel, where you can
About the stay: upon arrival we were greeted by the owners and offered tea and a chocolate cake. How lovely!
Breakfast was quite an experience. It is served in a French/ Provence style kitchen. You feel like you are visiting your mum in the countryside and she is serving breakfast. With home baked pastries, and pancakes being cooked right next to you. I think I haven't had better one anywhere else.
Cutting long story short: it's a romantic, classy place, not a tiny bit of tackiness. It's not 'right in your face' romantic with awkward rose petals on the bed etc. The ambience is in the air and the furniture.

Room Tip: Women will love the two rooms on the first floor. ( there only are two rooms on the first floor I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

A lovely, comfortable, clean, well equipped and charming bed and breakfast with friendly welcoming hosts. Delicious breakfasts too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lots2see2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses du Bassin by David & Louisa
Les Terrasses du Bassin by David...
#8 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
57 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Violette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Violette

Address: 1 rue Pasteur, 84800, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range: $257 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old mansion (XVII th century) counts three different levels and keeps on its south front an old cross and window from the XVth century.You will enjoy the heated pool winter and summer and relax in the wonderful little green garden.We 'll do our best to make your stay pleasant so please do not hesitate to ask if you have special needs !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos Violette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Violette L'Isle-Sur-La-Sorgue, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing