We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly what we had hoped for”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Centre Ville Charm

Comfortable living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable living
Kitchen Spacious bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Certificate of Excellence
Very good
19 reviews
Comfortable living
Kitchen
Spacious bedroom
Beautiful plasterwork
Bedroom corner
View from the window
History from the 14th Century
Old town charm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frank C
Saint Simons Island, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what we had hoped for”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were pleased to find that this flat was exactly what we had hoped for. We wanted a flat which was non-Americanized, yet clean, and had all of the modern conveniences. We were looking for a location that was withn the walls of an ancient village, in the midst of Provence, easy to get to and had convenient parking. Centre Ville Charm povided all of that with the added attraction that it's charming village is ablolutely flat and full of very friendly locals. The owner has an English woman who was there to help us find the flat and parking within yards of the flat when we arrived in town. The flat itself was enticing with the remnents of antiquity stilll on the walls, yet clean and having all of the modern conveniences one would want. Part of the charm was that the doors were of various sized and heights. If you are six feet tall or over, watch your head at night when going to the loo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location being yards from the primary walking district of the village.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2014
We are so pleased you found the apartment was comfortable and true to our advertising and that you enjoyed your stay in the town. We agree - it's a really lovely place to spend some time and we hope you will consider returning to stay again in the future. Kind regards, Kathy and Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley W
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Central”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the apartment for 5 nights in May 2013. Parking is available in the public lot outside of the building - we only parked outside the city on one occasion when we couldn't find a spot in this lot. The apartment is comfortable - although my husband is 6'8" and hit his head on the doorways. If you're 5'10" you're probably fine without ducking. Towels are funished with the apartment, although spares are not available, which would've been nice for our longer stay. I prefer to sleep with two pillows, but additional pillows were not available. The toilet is located across the apartment from the shower & double sinks - which was strange but not an issue for us. Wifi worked well and it was wonderful to have a kitchen available for cooking! The kitchen is only large enough for one person, but quite functional. The property has large purse/basket which is excellent for shopping the markets. The apartment is centrally and conveniently located in the town, only about 1 block away from the markets. It did take more than 2 weeks after my stay to receive my security deposit back from the owner, but it came in less than 3 weeks. Owner was very helpful in answering any questions about the apartment, town and area prior to our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location, kitchen and washer
Liked least: Short doorways, location of the toilet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, but sorry there weren't the spare towels and more pillows available in the apartment at the time for you. Our local property manager would have dropped them in to you had she been alerted to this oversight. As for the old doorways not accommodating your 6'8" height - we can only put that down to the charm of heritage; and we hope you didn't bump your head too often! We are pleased you enjoyed the town and your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
271 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Central Location”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment was in a great location, right in the center of Sorgues. The address is not given, but we had been to Sorgues before. We called Sandi, the retainer of the property for the owner. She met us at a place we remembered and we followed her to the exact apartment. We never would have found it otherwise, but that is really the way with most apartments in Sorgues -- so many twisty, hidden roads. The apartment was spacious, with washer/dryer facilities and dishwasher. The cooking facilities were okay, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom shower was really an issue. The shower is tiny -- very tiny -- making it hard to move. The bathroom is large enough to expand it, so that is our only real recommendation. Two sinks in the bathroom is a nice touch. Parking is an issue. We tended to park at one of the lots outside the city and walk in, which is what we did when we stayed previously in Sorgues. The review which stated that there is parking right at the apartment is wrong. Evidently, the space belongs to the dentist and you will be ticketed if you park there -- seems that reviewer may have just been lucky. Sorgues is a wonderful town -- lots of shopping and restaurants. It has a huge Sunday market and a somewhat smaller one on Thursday. Great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdieboy...
Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spacious quiet apartment”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

we are currently staying in this apartment for 10 days. Everything is just as advertised. All the photos on the web page are accurate. It is a very large apt. The toilet is separate from the bedroom, but there is a shower and double sink located en suite.
There is a bright sitting room, comfortably furnished if you want to read,etc.
It has 3 widows on the alley which is a dead end so with the windows open, there is no noise.
The windows have shutters so it is easy to bock out the street lamps outside the windiws.
The kitchen is well furnished with a large refrigerator.
The washer and dryer are nice to have. There is also a dishwasher, which we have not been using.
Parlking is an issue in this town. We have found places to park in other parts of the town but it is not easy to find a spot on the sqare adjacent to the apartment. We don't mind the short walk,but if you expect to park at the apartment you may be disappointed. This is not meant as a criticism, it is just to let others know.
The wi fi works great.
We would recommend this apartment as a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and quiet
Liked least: No view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2013
Thanks for your comments - we are pleased you are enjoying your stay. We have found parking on the adjacent square available about half of the times we look, but this will depend on what times you come and go. As you note, at other times there can be a short 3 or 4 minute walk to the apartment from the streets along the river; as others have noted, it is also possible to park in the laneway outside for luggage and shopping drop off etc and when not in use by the adjacent occupiers. Kathy & Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parisTerr...
Terrigal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location to immerse yourself in village life”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks stay in this spacious one bedroom apartment. Perfectly located to enjoy all that this village and area have to offer. Boulangarie practically on your doorstep, cafes, restaurants, markets and friendly locals who were very patient with our very limited French.

It was wonderful to have parking for our car right at the door. This may otherwise be difficult in such a popular village, especially when the markets are on on Wednesdays and Sundays. No problem for us though, just drive on up and drop the chain to the area you share with the very friendly dentist downstairs et voila! Thankfully we didn't need to use his services!

The apartment has a full sized fridge which is perfect for taking advantage of the wonderful fresh produce from the farmer's markets at Velleron and Petit Palais and chilling your wines from the nearby Gigondas and Beaumes de Venise. We can highly recommend the muscat from Beaumes de Venise.

The apartment also has washing and drying facilities which is really convenient if you are travelling for a while.

So many beautiful villages to enjoy within easy driving distance and the train station is very close if you don't have a car and would like to go to the larger towns.

We enjoyed some amazing meals and Mayes new friends at several Auberges out in tiny towns and on farms and I have left details in the guest book for others to hopefully enjoy too.

We loved strolling along the river watching the antics of the ducks, exploring the antique shops, having morning cafe and dunking our warm croissants with the locals and enjoying a vin rouge at the barrels of Caveau de la Tour in the evenings.

Thank you Kathy and Ken. We loved it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the feedback and recommendations. Kathy & Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Reviewed November 13, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Usually had to park a few blocks away.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2011
We are really pleased you found the apartment comfortable. We do enjoy cooking and are so pleased to hear your feedback. We have posted a photo of the shower with our photos of the apartment - and agree, it is compact, but good all the same! We hope you come back to stay on one of your future trips!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newark upon Trent, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 3, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2011
I'm so pleased you and your wife had a lovely time staying at our apartment and do hope you return soon! Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$78
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing