We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Grottes de Thouzon

Grottes de Thouzon
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Le Thor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After reading a somewhat negative comment from a previous trip advisor review, we were pleasantly surprised with this quite stunning cave. Although relatively small it contains the whole gamut of beautiful cave formations, some of the best I have seen in many caves in other parts of the world. As a geology/geography teacher I could not fault the detailed and knowledgeable explanations of Marc, our tour guide. Marc delivered his talk first in French then switched smoothly into perfect English, and managed to include some humour, in both languages.
Although the temperature below the surface was only 13 C, the high humidity and lack of air movement made it a comfortable level without the need for sweaters, as advised. After a week of heavy rain the humidity apparently rises to about 98% and wets everything, including tourists, but makes everything else glisten. Our 3 young grandchildren were a bit hesitant beforehand but voted it the most interesting activity for the week and chose souvenirs from the attractive collection of rocks and minerals for sale, at modest prices. The shop sold drinks and icecreams, had plentiful shaded car parking and good clean toilets were available
The access within the cave is not challenging, only a few steps then gently sloping concrete paths.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    92
    33
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jyderup, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful cavem but not very big”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We got a very good guide, and was in the cave for a full hour, she spoke french and english. When you pay for tickets you can get a full written explanation in english. We got one in Danish, so I think thay have many different ones.
Kids enjoyed it aswell, 5, 7 and 9y.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Glad I did it, didn't totally love it, probably would do again”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife bailed at the beginning because she is claustrophobic. My son loved it, me, thought it was interesting for half the time. It is only 40 some minutes, educational. Here is the best tip - take the little menu you can get in English from the shack into the cave. That way you know what you are looking at and where you are in the tour. If you can't hear the tour guide or want to figure out the significance of what you are looking at it will help you. Good place to go on super hot, super cold, rainy day or if you want a side excursion for an hour outside a quaint town in Provence.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprised”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great find- really interesting tour of Lateral caves. Our guide spoken both french and English- possibly more and the cave itself was beautiful and cool so perfect for hiding from the sun if it gets too hot!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PiersKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“it is nice but not that big”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

interesting cave. but don t look for a underground stadium, those caves are relatively small. You see stalactite and stalagmite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maxlecaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grottes de Thouzon also viewed

 

Been to Grottes de Thouzon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing