We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As relaxing as it gets!”
Review of Couleur Lavande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Couleur Lavande
Ranked #2 of 14 Le Thor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My title sums up this hotel perfectly - you can't help but unwind when at Couleur Lavande. The garden and pond are stunning as is the atmosphere of the hotel. This is not by accident, the hosts are brilliant at making you feel welcome so quickly that you feel you are in a 'home away from home'!

We stayed at Couleur Lavande as part of our honeymoon, so wanted some time away from it alk to simply relax. We really enjoyed our conversations with Axel and Jacqueline (the hosts) especially as part of the evening aperitif, which was offered whether you were dining with them or not.

We stayed in the Provencal room which was large with a beautiful bathroom. All snacks and drinks were complimentary, which was really great when most days were extremely hot.

My advice - stay here for a charming experience you do not get often these days!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenandBellaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
couleurlavande, Propriétaire at Couleur Lavande, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear A & B,

Thank you for the good review :) We were delighted to read that our humble "Mas" was equally appreciated among the other fantastic places you've been for your honeymoon.

As you said, we try to make everyone feel at home... as we had set our home as your home. We are not a five stars posh hotel, but we give our heart to make our hosts as happy as possible.

Longo Maï happy couple!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our 3rd time at Couleur Lavande so everything is becoming familiar now :). However I can't not leave a review, as everything was just a wonderful as usual so Jacqueline and Axel deserve their praise. We were here to see the lavender fields and our hosts helped us with everything that needed to be known so that we could get the best pictures in the best locations. Other than that though, we just spent the few days we were there by the pool. With the wonderful weather, amazing meals and oh so comfortable rooms, we were definitely spoiled. The dinners are some of the best we've had in the region so we're seriously considering that next time we take the guesswork out and just eat there the whole time. And for a light lunch their salads are a delight. You can't beat fresh salad from the garden and perfectly ripe tomatoes, fresh goat's cheese and the best bread ever (I am serious, I have never had such amazing bread anywhere, not even Paris!). The little muffins and fruit throughout the day are also a delight and as it was really hot we were sometimes happy with those as lunch.

The rooms are, as always, great. We had the Mediteranéene this time and it is just a treat. The bed is extremely comfortable and big, huge walk in shower and lovely accents that make it cozy and lovely. In the afternoon, when the heat outside is unbearable, it's so great to be able to go in your room and find it fresh and cool.

Do spend some time talking to Jacqueline and Axel. Apart from knowing every little thing about their property, they will guide you to great restaurants and amazing sightseeing. You will find out all you've ever wanted to know about this lovely region.

And get a massage, too! They have the greatest masseuse, Myriam, that will come on appointment and you can have your massage in the most lovely "espace detente" that they redecorated this year and makes the experience even more relaxing.

I could go on and on but the best way to believe me is to go there and see/experience it for yourself. You will NOT be disappointed :)

Room Tip: My ersonal favourite is the Provencale, but you can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
couleurlavande, Propriétaire at Couleur Lavande, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank youuuuuuuuuu again, again and again !!! Thanks for leaving a review, and above all such an excellent review...

But, please, don't overpraise our simple "Table d'hôtes" dinner. Yes, it's freshly made, yes it's generally made out of our own produces (or locally produced)... but it's a very simple affair, nothing fancy, nothing complicated... just a simple meal (such as quiche, chicken, risotto...). However, yes, it's not badly made and yes, Axel's Ratatouille has always it's own success :)

As for the tips to the various sightseeings, well, it helps that we are not originally from Provence. Therefore, we have been touring the area for a long time before settling down here... so, yes, we may know a little bit more than the local people (as it is well known that no one knows perfectly well it's own area).

We agree with you, Myriam is the best masseuse we've ever had. So yes, you, who are reading this, don't forget to book a massage, it's a real treat.

B & R, please do come back, we are missing your laugh, your amazingly good company, your positiveness, your good humour... well do come back, please !

Lots of love,
jacqueline & Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were in desperate need of a flawless vacation with NO surprises. Judging from the website, photos and the positive feedback, we decided that Couleur Lavande was a reasonable choice and couldn't be too much of a surprise. However, it turned out to be a definite surprise--a very uniquely positive one!

First, the place itself is truly like what you see in the photos. Absolutely beautifully manicured grounds and the rooms and location are spotless and uniquely different. Next, the simple but truly excellent dinners at night were superb. Nothing pretentious, but everything is made locally and, amazingly, the dinners were actually some of the very best meals we had during our three weeks traveling in the region. Every little detail--from the rooms to the snacks to the breakfast and freshly squeezed juices to the gardens to the library/DVD collection has been thought out and perfected.

Finally, the owners--Jacqueline and Axel--make this stay truly memorable. Absolutely passionate about what they have created, they are sincerely, genuinely wonderful and funny people. It is clear that they love what they do, and you will not be disappointed. We never expected it, but one of the main highlights of the entire trip was their--Jacqueline's and Axel's--company. (Trust in Axel's taste in wine; it changes each evening and was a hit every single night!)

Absolutely flawless experience. We cannot suggest even one improvement, and this is rare as we are demanding guests ! :). We will--like the other guests who were there at the same time as we--be returning to experience the company of Jacqueline and Axel and their wonderful place.

(Highly recommend the Loft !!)

Room Tip: The LOFT room is excellent !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had the most marvellous stay at Couleur Lavande with very friendly service and impeccable breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble with suggestions of wineries, places to visit, restaurants to eat at, reservations made with great efficiency and care. The room, house, gardens are first class and the hosts have the balance between care for their guests and imposition perfectly weighted. We could not recommend more highly, a very relaxing enjoyable stay. Thank you to Jacqueline and Axel and congratulations as your offering is truly wonderful. We are discerning travellers and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bestorangebuyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a long week-end at Couleur Lavande, a beautifully restored farmhouse with lots of original features but all the mod cons. In spite of being unlucky with the cold and rainy weather, the warmth and quality of the welcome offered by the owners, Jacqueline and Axel, totally made up for it ! We spent time reading in the peaceful and well-stocked library (which includes books in English) and strolled around the beautiful gardens during the sunny intervals. After our outings in Avignon, we were welcomed by Axel's pre-dinner drinks (a range of local pastis was always on offer) and snacks. Jacqueline is a wonderful cook, and we had a great time chatting to our hosts and the other guests at the dinner table. In the morning a lavish breakfast was laid out for us (fresh eggs, fruit smoothies, home-made jams...). We had a wonderful stay, and will be certain to come back again soon !

Room Tip: We stayed in the funky "seventies". It offers a lovely view over the garden while lying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davide D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have recently returned from a 5 night stay at Couleur Lavande with the amazing Jacqueline and Axel. I had high expectations and was not disappointed at all. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated with a funky twist. Our room - the largest called The Loft was decorated in the theme of industrial chic! A great spiral stair way took us up to the best bathroom where everything was modern and worked perfectly. Our bedroom downstairs was large - the bed very comfy with a seating area and downstairs loo.
The grounds were obviously well kept and attractive but it was too cold to really utilise them properly or to sit on our small terrace.
Breakfasts were delicious with a surprise fresh juice made each morning as well as lovely breads, cheeses, cold meats. homemade yougurts etc and eggs fresh from the chickens.
Jacqueline and Axel were so kind.. they had booked restaurants for us and when we had a slight crisis with a flat tyre, Axel helped us by staying on the phone to Avis for literally hours and then when we had no luck with them, going with my husband to a garage to get the tyre repaired.
Jacqueline cooked great homely meals on request or a more splendid 3 course affair once in the stay.
We were so thrilled to be at Couleur Lavande - it felt like home and was so comfortable to stay in. Oh yes - the masseur who could be booked through Couleur Lavande was excellent too.
We had some great days out and there was lots of advice from Jacqueline should it be needed.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Only 4 to choose from ..... we loved The Loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madcatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This revue is long-overdue. My wife and I were fortunate enough to be able to spend a wonderful month in France last summer staying at a variety of venues from 5 star hotels to simple B and B establishments. Couleur Lavande was the best and is quite simply an amazing "find". There is a serenity and simplicity about the garden that makes the stress of real life seem very far away. There is a generosity of service that is so often sadly lacking. There is a pride in the provision of everything: the comfortable bedroom, the perfectly planned and served breakfast, more than adequate evening meal if requested and special meal provided once a week which was a real highlight. Underpinning all of this is a very special couple who deserve all the excellent comments from their guests. They make their visitors feel valued; nothing is too much trouble and they provide extra little treats that take 'value for money' to a new level. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Thor
2.8 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Domaine des Carmes & Spa
2.1 mi away
La Bastide Rose
La Bastide Rose
#5 of 14 in Le Thor
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 57 in Avignon
378 reviews
9 mi away
Le Mas des Etoiles
Le Mas des Etoiles
#1 of 52 in Gordes
345 reviews
22.6 mi away
Le Parfum Des Collines
Le Parfum Des Collines
#1 of 1 in Auribeau
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couleur Lavande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couleur Lavande

Address: 2056 route des Vigneres, 84250 Le Thor, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Le Thor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Le Thor
Price Range: $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, our newly renovated deluxe B&B offers large beautifully decorated rooms (32-55 m2) with king size bed, free standing bath or walk-in shower and all modern amenities. Our 12'000 m2 park is the perfect place to relax, get a massage or sunbathe by the natural pool. Free wifi in our business centre and everywhere else indoor or outdoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Couleur Lavande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couleur Lavande Le Thor, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing