We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boy O Boy you gotta eat here”
Review of Southwest Diner

Southwest Diner
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm a foodie. I like good eats good coffee and good coffee mugs. This place fits that bill. Food is wonderful, service is fantastic and its right by the El Rancho Motel. Go to Boulder City, enjoy the downtown, eat here at Southwest Diner, you'll b glad you did. My wife got the potato pancake and we still had left over for lunch!!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WBtravels55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Owner at Southwest Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi! Thank you so much for leaving us such an amazing review! We are so happy to hear that you had such an amazing experience with us! We hope to see you in again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Looking for an eatery after the Santa train ride we found Southwest Diner - with a variety of home style breakfast items I went for my favorite - biscuits and gravy with sausage patties - very tasty with a side of "those potatoes". We all agreed a great place to eat with a down home feel.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank wrencher52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Owner at Southwest Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this review and your kind words. It is so reassuring to hear that you had a great and positive experience with us. We hope this mean you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I ordered a pasta dish that was huge, easily split. ( I think there is a $1 charge to split.) There are daily specials. The staff are helpful. The diner is decorated for Christmas and a block from the restaurant there is a huge Christmas lights display at a home.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bookworm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Owner at Southwest Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit! We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We hope you can stop by and try out more of our menu options, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

On our way home from Las Vegas weekend... stumbled on Southwest Diner. Make sure to order “Those Potatoes” and banana bread with your breakfast. We both had Denver omelettes - just fantastic!!!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Debbie85614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Owner at Southwest Diner, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2018

We are so happy that you stumbled upon us! Thank you for stopping by! It makes us so glad to know that you enjoyed :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

How this place gets the good reviews is a mystery, perhaps Boulder City is a culinary desert as well as a real one. The food is mediocre and overpriced, the ambience nonexistent. Don't expect complimentary chips and salsa, even the sauce on the chimichanga chicken is extra.The menu offers Mexican dishes with rice and beans, alas not quite. It turns out only some dishes come with rice and beans, a common confusion according to the waitress. Apparently changing the wording of the menu is beyond the restaurant.

We went there on the last day of our trip hoping for something memorable. It was but not quite in the way we expected.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martinloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southwest Diner also viewed

 

Been to Southwest Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing