We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok”
Review of Southwest Diner

Southwest Diner
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

If all other places in town are busy and you need a place to eat stop by. the wait staff is usually pretty slow and not very friendly. The food is very average for dinner. Their breakfast are much better then their dinners. It's harder to mess up breakfast. It is a good place to take your kids they have a decent kids menu. But i wouldn't go out of my way to eat here just because of the staff. We have been about 5 or 6 times and the staff has never changed as far as how slow and impolite they are.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheChad6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    245
    49
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Down Home Eats”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

When my family goes to Boulder City to visit, we always have dinner at the Southwest Diner. We really enjoy the food and especially the friendly service. If you are into Meat Loaf, Liver and Onions, or good ole' home made cornbread; this is the place for you.

Not only is the food reasonably priced at $9.00 for a full dinner; the food is pretty darn close to Mom's cookin' that is if she ever cooked. The chotsky decorations of Raggedy Ann, coffee grinders, ball glass jars for drinks and syrup on the table all add to the pleasure of dining at this quaint diner.

Treat yourself next time you are visiting, going to or coming from the hustle and bustle of Las Vegas. This is a fun and tasty side trip; like goin back home.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slovelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It was great”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We, two couples, had breakfast here and really enjoyed it. It was jammin the morning we visited, but it had nice "diner" atmosphere and all our meals were delicious. My corn beef hash was the best I've ever had. The service was friendly and the prices fair.

If you are fleeing Las Vegas, you might be inclined to rate it even higher.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncroadtoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Better than average diner”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A good brunch/lunch stop on the way to Hoover Dam. Service and food was good and the menu was reasonably priced. It was packed with locals which is a good thing. The huevas rancheros was tasty but nothing too write home about. I was torn between giving this a four or a three star review as I like to support local but it just wasn't merited (although the average reviews here and proudly advertised on the front door of the business would disagree with me).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
243 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Do as the Southwesterns do and...”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visit this great restaurant! We stayed next door to the El Rancho Motel and happened upon this diner. Atmosphere is really great: laid back, kitschy design and great service. After reading others' reviews, I can say in all honesty say I'm privileged to have not have had a disappointing experience. I ordered the breakfast burrito which consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, green peppers and onions. Portions are quite generous; I had to save the other half for lunch. Our server checked on us a good number of times (but not too too much, though).

Living in New York, the prices at Southwest are a bargain. One certainly gets more for his money. If you're driving through Boulder City (or happen to stay at the El Ranch Motel), give the Southwest Diner a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southwest Diner also viewed

 

Been to Southwest Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing