We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do as the Southwesterns do and...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southwest Diner

Southwest Diner
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
226 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Do as the Southwesterns do and...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visit this great restaurant! We stayed next door to the El Rancho Motel and happened upon this diner. Atmosphere is really great: laid back, kitschy design and great service. After reading others' reviews, I can say in all honesty say I'm privileged to have not have had a disappointing experience. I ordered the breakfast burrito which consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, green peppers and onions. Portions are quite generous; I had to save the other half for lunch. Our server checked on us a good number of times (but not too too much, though).

Living in New York, the prices at Southwest are a bargain. One certainly gets more for his money. If you're driving through Boulder City (or happen to stay at the El Ranch Motel), give the Southwest Diner a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    237
    46
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder City
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Breakfast with family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

4 of us went for breakfast, food was OK, nothing to rave about, my eggs were overcooked and the potatoes were cold and not very seasoned, I orderd the breakfast special, it's 3 eggs, "those potatoes" and toast or homemde banana bread. The check was $33, about 8 bucks a breakfast. Did not have exceptional service, only offered refill on coffee once. Place was pretty busy.
Nicely decorated, small town diner, that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. I do not think I will go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CherRuss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Diner is fun, the service is great, but the food was greasy and not very tasty. My burrito was big and greasy and I couldn't finish it. My wife's turkey sandwich was fried with copious amounts of butter spread on the bread (like a grilled cheese sandwich). The turkey was dry, dark, and sparse. Her cucumber 'salad' was a jar of thin, milky dressing with a few cucumber slices marinating in it. I hate to leave a poor review because we really liked it otherwise and the staff is super. But we're mainly there for the food and we couldn't eat it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank magrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited for lunch after visit to Hoover Dam. Had eggs over easy, sausage, hash browns with banana bread. Cooked really well and very tasty. People were friendly and place very clean . Obviously popular as was full when we were there. Better than some of places in Las Vegas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cineworld341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

If you are in Las Vegas and or driving by Boulder City you must try this local home made and family operated establishment

Congrats to the whole crew !!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southwest Diner also viewed

 

Been to Southwest Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing