We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute place, great food, lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southwest Diner

Southwest Diner
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Cute place, great food, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

After the horror, sleaze and disappointment of Las Vegas it was so nice to be back in a small town , and find and comfortable and friendly diner. The food was fresh and tasty, and a generous serve. We both had a Great Southwest Sandwich. I had "The Avocado BLT" and onion rings..huge!! Pies looked fabulous but I was too full! My friend really enjoyed his enormous "Chili Size" smothered with Chili and onion.
Home style cooking and good prices are found here, as well as a nice atmosphere & decor, and cheery staff. I would go back here, no worries!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catwic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    237
    46
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overton, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

I live a couple hours away from Boulder City but I keep finding myself taking the drive back just to eat here. The food is great, the service is kind, and the place is adorable and cozy.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RacheAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“I love finding places like this.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

This little restaurant is about 2 blocks past the turn-off to the Hoover Dam, and well worth the detour. Our server was excellent. I was unfamiliar with a couple of the ingredients on the menu, and twice she ran to the kitchen to get me a taste. I had a sandwich, and the only disappointment was that it was not on their fabulous home-made bread that my husband had as toast with his corned-beef hash. The pies looked delicious, but our large main servings prevented us from having any. We had intended to go back for dessert, but took a different route back to LV. We won't be back to that part of the country again for a while, but would make the trip from LV to Lake Mead to eat there again. PS_ not many veggie options - had to order a bacon/avacado sandwich w/o the bacon.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank sevenofeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stopped here for breakfast on our way to the Hoover Dam. The food was very good. Good selection to choose from. Decent prices. Service was good.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank WithMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fresh home made food,friendly atmosphere...my favorite place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

It is the greatest place to eat in boulder city nv...the food is fresh,home made! Their dinner menu is to die for! They have great customer service, friendly staff...it doesnt get any better than southwest diner!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southwest Diner also viewed

 

Been to Southwest Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing