We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and memorable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulder Dam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boulder Dam Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classy and memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

We stayed there just one night, but it was a very pleasant and memorable experience. the hotel is sparkling clean and has all the conveniences, but the main attraction is its unique style and its old-world charm. The hotel was built for government officials who used to visit the town while the Hoover Dam was under construction, and you can tell that the hotel was meant for big shots.

Overall, it was like traveling through time without having to sacrifice the conveniences.

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located in a very quiet, charming area, which I think is the heart of that cute tiny town. There is Lake Mead recreational area near-by (7 miles), and the Hoover Dam (7 miles, as well). Las Vegas is half an hour away.

There are two great restaurants right across the street. We ate at the Mediterranean one, and it was really good. Overall, it was a relaxing, pleasant experience, a world away from insipid chain hotels.

It was very affordable, too! All their rooms are under $100 a night, and I think they have rooms for $69 or something like that.

  • Liked — Its uniqueness and friendliness
  • Disliked — Mmm... Nothing to complain about, really.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FromWindyCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    158
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
86
291
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

The Boulder Dam Hotel is perfect if you want to be close to the Dam. This hotel is in a very quiet small town setting with lots of history about the construction of the Dam and items relating to it's construction. In fact, the hotel has the Hoover Dam museum on it's premises and I would definitely recommend going to this museum before taking the Dam tour even if you don't stay at the hotel. The staff is very helpful both with hotel needs and in pointing out sites to see. Also, the local chamber of commerce is right across the street.

There is also a restaurant on the premises. The food is very good with average pricing. And you are within walking distance to the PO, grocery, and local shops.

Driving distance to Las Vegas if you choose to go there. There is no gambling in Boulder City which was perfect for us.

Helpful?
Thank diehlsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

I've always wanted to stay in an old-style, refurbished hotel, and this one definitely fit the bill! Very quaint, nicely done up - not super super comfortable, but certainly clean and tidy and they really make an effort with nice little touches in the rooms. Boulder City is an attractive little town, I imagine it's a great weekend getaway from Las Vegas. Evan's Grill is highly recommended for dinner! (Walking distance).

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Twokiwisabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

For my birthday, a group (about 20) of stayed at the hotel, ate in the restaurant & had 2 bands play in the basement bar. So we spent a considerable amount of money & received the worst service ever.

The restaurant took 40 minutes to seat 8 people. That was after we asked to sit at 2 different tables or if we should leave. But after we were seated we did receive great service from Chris our waiter & the food was great. But it really irked us that we had to demand to be seated when the restaurant sign says to seat yourself & there was hardly anyone in the place.

During the night, a caretaker threatened to call the cops on us, no warning, no "can you guys keep it down". We did not ever represent ourselves as threatening, maybe a little loud, but never a reason to have cops to handle us.

In the morning, the front desk attendant was deplorable. Someone asked were the closest convenience store was & she sent him down the road the wrong way, to a place 3 miles away. Later we found out that there were stores around the corner the other way.

We were on our way out the door to check out of 3 rooms when the front desk attendant called with a nasty attitude - "Check out was 10 minutes ago, you have to leave!" - it was 11:03, the website says check out is at 12. Then we arrived at the desk to check out and she was even nastier.

Overall, I felt as if the Boulder Dam Hotel doesn't like people that are not "their kind", meaning small city folks. We called in advance to let them know that this group would like to be roomed together & that we were there to celebrate a birthday. We actually called 3 times & reminded them when we checked in. They did not ever consider our requests & then provided less than par service.

But, the horrible service did not effect the party in the basement bar. We had a great time & the manager - Chris - was great. Matteo's Restaurant & Underground bar was very great. So have a party at Matteo's but stay somewhere else in town.

  • Liked — Has a music venue downstairs
  • Disliked — The Service
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tsugaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2008

My husband and I had the privilege to marry at the Boulder Dam Hotel last month. Though my husband and I love living and working in Vegas, we're both from small towns and were not crazy about having a "Vegas Wedding". The Boulder Dam Hotel was the perfect fix for our dilemma.

The location has a quaint traditional feeling, warm, friendly and professional staff and was recently remodeled to not only rectify the common issues of historic lodging, but surpass expectations for even modern establishments. We occupied the entire hotel for a weekend and the staff could not have made us feel more welcome. As our family stayed in all the rooms, we spent a bit of time in each of to 20 some guest rooms. There are three suites with kitchenettes and plenty of space, comfortable furniture and some of the nicest technology I've seen in a hotel room. Most of the other rooms are much "cozier", but quite functional, and the use of space was rather impressive.

I must admit, I was a bit disturbed by some of the other reviews on this site, but noticed they were written several years ago. I feel confident that many, if not all, of the issues previously described have been addressed by the management and staff. The sense of pride that the staff exudes suggests ownership. You would never guess this establishment to be non-profit.

It continues to be a favorite spot for my husband and I, we enjoy dinner at Matteo's Restaurant and look forward to spending many an anniversary in their Art Deco Suite.

  • Liked — The people and the place are both fantastic!
  • Disliked — Nothing, be warned that many rooms are smaller, if you need more space, opt for a suite (very affordable).
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MitchnCandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

This is a sweet hotel but run as a non-profit location. This reflects in the customer service, or lack of it. In particular, we arrived at 8.15pm after a long road trip from San Francisco and found the dining room was shut. As were the rest of the town restaurants. Had to resort to a take away and then went back to the hotel to get a drink at 9.30pm. Bar was also shut by then. No room service either. Breakfast was, by US standards, very poor. Overall, disappointing but would have been all right if we had been prepared - the building itself is quaint and historic in American terms.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank USAophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

We arrived in Boulder City mid June looking for accomodation, the few places with a pool were sold out but thankfully we found this place that had some free rooms.

Normally we find if we just turn up during the holiday season we sometimes end up with poor rooms but the ones here were fine. Not the largest we stayed in but certainly room and very nice.

There was free internet in reception and the peopel working there had a lot of good suggestions for places to visit and what to do with regards to travelling to Hoover Dam and Grand Canyon.

If I was to return I would have no issues with staying here again.

  • Liked — They had rooms available
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Garyddd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder City
3.7 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#3 of 8 in Boulder City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Boulder City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
#21 of 25 in Henderson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
16.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Rose Pkwy/Las Vegas South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Dam Hotel

Property: Boulder Dam Hotel
Address: 1305 Arizona St., Boulder City, NV 89005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Boulder City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Dam Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Boulder Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder City Dam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing