We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great historic museum inside hotel”
Review of Boulder Dam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boulder Dam Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great historic museum inside hotel”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

While staying in Boulder City my husband, dog precious and myself were out exploring and found this lovely hotel and upon entry a majestic grand piano to our right in large lobby. We took the steps up to left down long corridor to the Hoover Dam Museum housed in the hotel. They even allowed our bichon Precious to come too. We enjoyed the museum very much and learned a great deal before visting Hoover Dam the next day.

Peg
Pasadena,Ca.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegPasadena_Cs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    162
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
87
298
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We traveled through Arizona, Nevada and California. We decided to stop at this Hotel as it was an historical site by the Dam. I went to the reception to ask for prices, being exhausted I decide to check in without checking the room, big mistake! I paid for that double bed room the most expensive rate in our trip (around 100$) and the room was the worth we had. Very small, lacking of any decoration and bed not comfortable.

As my partner stayed in the car, parked and come to join me at the reception, we found ourselves with a strange situation as the check in lady did not realized until now that we were 2 boys in a double bed. This seems to be a problem to start with, and a very uncomfortable situation was created. After some embarrassment, we did check in ok! Please, never assume that a couple is only a male and a female!

The only beautiful part of the hotel that we saw was the reception area, with fireplace and piano, but careful, rooms are really not like the reception! Afterall, I won't recommend that Hotel as I'm sure, you can have a better deal, better confort in any Hotel next door.

Disappointing!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to visit a room before paying any money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexpaiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had been trying to stay here for three years and finally made it. It was worth the wait. If you've ever stayed in small hotels in England or old hotels in the South, you'll know why this is so special. The big front lounge had a perpetual fire going and was so welcoming. A luggage cart and elevator made dragging in bags a breeze. I have seen other reviews describe the rooms as small but we took a suite and it felt huge after our box-style Las Vegas room. Comfy couch, small kitchen area and a wonderful big bed with the most luxurious linens. The bathroom was completely spotless. A stopped up commode at 11 p.m. was handled quickly. A comped breakfast in the charming dining room offered plenty of choices and was well prepared. I really loved this place and it provided a wonderful time for us.

Room Tip: I'd go with the suite (224). It's at the end of the hall with a housekeeping room on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

It's our first choice of stopping place when we drive from Reno to Phoenix and back. The lobby is inviting, especially when it's decorated for Christmas. The hotel is right in the center of town and in walking distance of restaurants. Breakfast is included in the room rent and is excellent, with lots of choice, and something for everybody. The rooms are comfortable--so was the bed. The bathroom is small but adequate.

There is a museum in the hotel that is worth a visit, as well.

We have stayed there several times, always liked it, and would recommend it highly.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tilski95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a perfect historical hotel with all the amenities you need to enjoy yourself. The lobby is warm and inviting, the suite (we stayed in) has a full kitchen with full size appliances. The Bathroom was small, but the king size bed was so comfortable, we thought we were home. Its right in the center of the Boulder City historical district, and you can walk to a variety of restaurants to suit your palate. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room (which was VERY reasonable) and was delicious. The tour of the museum downstairs was interesting and informative, with interactive displays for all ages. A must see. Everyone throughout our stay was friendly and pleasant. This hotel would be great to be used as a base camp for day trips to the surrounding areas. WE LOVED IT.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite #219. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbiatzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, WY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband, seven-year old son, and I stayed her for one night. We booked a suite which had a pullout couch for the little guy and a kitchette. Both the bedroom and living room (AKA kid's room had TVs). The decor was attractive throughout the hotel and suite. Staff were friendly. The museum admission is included and worth a visit (The exhibit is hands-on and appeals to both young and old alike.). Breakfast was awesome!

For dinner, we went to Dillinger's just down the street. The food, atmosphere, and service was excellent. Skip Boulder Dam Brewing as the beer seemed off and made me sick.

There are tons of little antique shops right down town near the hotel. I didn't get to check them out....next trip...I'd stay here again without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpsGillette_WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Boulder City Hotel takes you back in time. Very elegant lobby with a home atmosphere. The attached restaurant has great food and is open for breakfast and lunch until 2pm. Because of the atmosphere, food and friendly service we dine there quite often and recommend it to everyone we can. Also while you are there check out the shops and museum. The Hotel has some great history of Nevada and the Boulder Dam. Have not stayed in any of the rooms but understand they are quite nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder City
3.7 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#3 of 8 in Boulder City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Boulder City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
#21 of 25 in Henderson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Henderson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Dam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Dam Hotel

Property: Boulder Dam Hotel
Address: 1305 Arizona St, Boulder City, NV 89005-2613
Location: United States > Nevada > Boulder City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Boulder City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boulder Dam Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Boulder Dam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder City Dam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing