We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family trip to Grand Canyon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papillon Grand Canyon Helicopters

Papillon Grand Canyon Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$264.99*
and up
Grand Canyon West Rim Helicopter Tour from Las Vegas
Ranked #3 of 25 Tours in Boulder City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Largest Helicopter Sightseeing Company of Grand Canyon & Las Vegas. Choose from a variety of aerial, landing tours and more. Offering helicopter, airplane, bus combos spanning from day tours to overnight at the Grand Canyon. Fly, Descend, Land, Walk the Canyon floor, cruise the mighty Colorado, or even fly over the Vegas Strip.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Family trip to Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked this trip from the UK after searching on the internet.No additional charges at the airport (look out for those with other companies).
The company were very efficient and picked up on time for our early morning flight.
Limo was great with AC and water in an ice bucket,very Vegas!
Helicopter looked fine but when we tried to set off our pilot was not happy and the trip had to be aborted.
Company handled the disappointment quite well ,although a cup of coffe would have been nice while they established if we could go later that morning.
Eventually we went the next afternoon.Flight was exceptional and well worth the wait.
Eric the pilot was informative and looked after us all for the trip.Flying over Vegas was amazing.
Would highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank IanG36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,467
    517
    140
    99
    212
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Papillion Helicopters tour of the Grand Canyon was amazing. If you are doing this tour plan ahead and use the money saved in doing a Maverick flight and upgrade to get a front seat next to the pilot. These helicopters are not big inside but the view from the front seat is out of this world. My wife and I have flown over the Katherine gorge in outback Australia but the spectacle of flying over the Hoover dam and then into the canyon was breathtaking. The pilot 'Paul' kept apologizing for the few bumpy parts of the flight but that makes all that more interesting. If you can, check with the long range weather forecast for a calm day, less turbulence and It will make your trip more enjoyable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The only way to see the canyon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you only have time to spend at the south rim, this is the way to see the whole canyon. Well worth the money. As the chopper ascends into the canyon and the music starts playing 2001 you will get goosebumps!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank coniatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Had a great experience the helicopter pilot was great, made the tour fun and interesting.
From the Limo pickup to drop off at hotel the whole experience was great.
Seeing the Grand Canyon, Las Vegas and Hover Dam was fantastic from the helicopter.
The fight was smooth, lunch was good and the views there and back were worth ever cent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Motion Sickness - Take Tablets!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

The tours have the potential to be great. However myself and at least 2 other passengers on the same helicopter felt very sick on the flight. I am experience flyer (I have even flown a plane myself) and I have never felt that sick before.

I would highly recommend taking motion sickness tablets before you fly. If you suffer from motion sickness I would advise against helicopter trips as there is a constant vibration and they are probably more sensitive to high wind (which our pilot said can be bad in Boulder City).

The Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam were great sights, however I had little time to focus on them when I was feeling sick. I have no idea if this experience was unique to my flight or not.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papillon Grand Canyon Helicopters also viewed

 

Been to Papillon Grand Canyon Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing