We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop on a Hoover Dam trip!”
Review of Coffee Cup

Coffee Cup
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
454 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great stop on a Hoover Dam trip!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you are headed out to Hoover Dam (which you should, it's great break from Vegas) make a point to stop here! We stopped for lunch on recommendation of the couple we were with who are big DDD fans--so glad we made it before they closed for the day! 3 of us had the clam chowder which was the BEST ever. 2 of us had the Dakota Burger which is a burger with cheddar, bacon, an onion ring and bbq sauce--delish! My fiancé had the fish and chips special which was great too. Service is attentive without hovering. Glad we stopped!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    143
    23
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
346 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best Peanut Butter Pancakes!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Came to this place after seeing it on Food Network's Triple D. I came specifically for the peanut butter pancakes, which are not directly on the menu. Ask for them! They were sooooo good!!! My husband had an omelet with some sort of jalapeno sauce (I think), and he loved them. He never eats a whole dish for breakfast, but this time, he did! The staff are very friendly and inviting. The place is very busy, so make sure you plan your visit and come early.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evilmisspolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another great find in Boulder City”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Delicious breakfast and coffee. I even bought a bag of the coffee beans to take home. Lots of perfectly cooked bacon--the cook knows how to make over medium eggs. Fast service. Also delicious homemade cinnamon rolls. Are there any bad restaurants in Boulder City? We didn't find any!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
457 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Our 3rd Visit to Coffee Cup & can't wait for our next”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Since seeing this place on DDD we tried it. This was our 3rd visit and it's still kickin' good!! We brought our daughter with us this time; we do Vegas our way and she does it differently so this time it was do it mom and pop's way and get out of Vegas, away from the hotels and buffet's and get an awesome breakfast at great prices and with friendly people. We feel like we've become friends with Al; he's a surfer dude like my husband. The old surfboards, skate boards for decor is right up our alley. The food is always outstanding; plenty of it and they've maintained the quality of what they put on your plate over the years since our first visit. It's a great way to start your day and take the road right out to the Pat Tillman bridge for a scenic view of the Hoover Dam. Our daughter had their bloody mary and it's a great taste; they add that jalapeno into it and it tastes really good. When it's just my husband and I we like to belly to the counter to eat; when we've taken friends and this time family we wait for a table and enjoy every bite. Don't miss taking any opportunity to eat at this gem in Boulder City; it's only a 20 minute drive outside of Vegas.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vinnie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast in American Diner”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We decided to stop at the Coffee Cup on the way from Vegas to the Hoover Dam. It's an easy journey and the diner is also very easy to find with parking available on the road it's located on. We arrived just ahead of 11am and we were very glad we did - not long after 11am the queue was out the door! There were 4 of us and every one of our breakfasts was delicious. We ordered various omelettes which were fluffy and a good size and I had one of the specialities, Huevos Rancheros, which was divine. I ordered it which a short stack of pancakes which were huge and also delicious. The hash was also great for breakfast (came with the other dishes). Staff were really friendly and helpful and super fast given how busy the diner was. We would absolutely come back here and highly recommend it. It's also a great place to stop - as is Boulder - for a breath of fresh air outside the craziness of Vegas. Definitely have a little wander around he shops next to the Coffee Cup to get a dose of small-town America and a quick look at a peaceful, pretty town. Loved the whole place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonSnowBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Cup also viewed

 

Been to Coffee Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing