We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Chateau La Roque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau La Roque
Certificate of Excellence
Guidford, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2007

The Chateau has been lovingly restored by Jean and Chantal who were concerned to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel has 5 rooms/suites and its several terraces on the hillside provide plenty of places to relax in with great views. We stayed 4 nights in the comfortable large Ventoux chambre which was simply but very tastefully furnished and had a mezzanine bathroom with a rolltop bath you can see in the website photos. The unusual swimming pool is cleverly carved out of the rocks and is a great place to come back to cool off.

The breakfasts were very appetising and whilst there was no menu, we dined outside and ate 2 superb dinners from ingredients purchased on the day which made the experience even more pleasurable. I had the best plate of cheese I have ever eaten.

If you are looking for somewhere off the beaten track for a restful stay with hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble, look no further. I wholeheartedly recommend it and hope to return one day.

  • Liked — Wow factor on arrival and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KAYJAYDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
81
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
WA
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2006

I can't remember, sorry, how it was booked. It was a business trip for us. John the host was amazing how he took care of his guests. I rate this the highest quality of vacation spots. Respect the others who might be staying there, and respect the owners by NOT bringing or playing radios or tv's. This is a quiet getaway and should be treated with the utmost respect. I would stay there again and again. Wish I was there right now!!!

Kathy Immel
Sultan, WA

  • Liked — The amazing preservation of this historic building
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — yes, only go there if you respect the quietness this beautiful place provides.
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maisoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAGUNA BEACH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2006

It was heavenly! Jean & Chantal couldn't have been more wonderful. The Chateau is beautiful and the gardens and views were magnificent. I can't wait to return. Nor can my daughter's and husband. Such was my children's first experience in France and have been spoiled. They expect the grace and hospitality in all places now. Sadly they will have to learn other wise. Our time spent was much to short and upon our return it will be the only place we stay. I could have spent a month. Heavenly food & wine. Jean & Chantal are so gracious and extremely talented in the art of making you feel most welcome. Memories still dance in my head and bring such a smile. Thank you from all of us.
Nanc' & Greg Wallace & Girls

  • Liked — EVERYTHING.
  • Tips/Secrets — I am a very easy traveler and I am not that interested in being entertained. I like quiet, clean, gardens, good food and wine, and the feeling of peace. Not everyone is looking for the same thing and have to be on the move constantly. I like to enjoy the area that I am in. As I say I don't have to have lots of activity to please me. The beauty of a place like this is just to slow down and enjoy.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HAWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2006

Dear Travellers

Our stay at Chateau La Roque was par excellence itself.

The accommodations were spacious, spotlessly clean and superbly peaceful.

The best of all was our Host Jean Tomasine and, for the weekend, his wife Chantelle. Two more gracious and pleasant people your are very unlikely to meet. Jean also Knew just about everything there was to know about the surrounding are, when to visit the markets, walks to take and where all the interesting sites were to be found - and he knew what was happening and at what time.

Jean cooked for us (he is a Paris trained chef of many years) and talked eloquently, but unobtrusively about the ingredients and their preparation. Truly a magnificent and memorable occasion.

Lord only knows what it would be like here with the blossoms out.

If only we could have stayed longer.
Ian

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eggmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roque sur Pernes
4.9 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
261 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
240 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chateau du Martinet
Chateau du Martinet
#5 of 9 in Carpentras
45 reviews
5.4 mi away
Chateau de Mazan
Chateau de Mazan
#1 of 2 in Mazan
364 reviews
23.6 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Roque

Property: Chateau La Roque
Address: 263 Chemin du Chateau, 84210 La Roque sur Pernes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > La Roque sur Pernes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Roque sur Pernes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau La Roque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Avignon, the Luberon and the Mont-Ventoux, Chateau La Roque is an exceptional 11th century chateau-fort overlooking a provencal landscape. The Deluxe rooms and suites with modern amenities, antique furniture and elegant decor, offer a discreet luxurious atmosphere.The views from the rooms, gardens and panoramic swimming pool are stunning. Calm and serenity are everywhere. Wether in the terraces in summer or in the Templar room in winter you will savor our breakfasts prepared with fresh local produces, our gourmet dinners and selection of the region's best wines (Chateauneuf du Pape, Vacqueyras, Gigondas, Ventoux, Luberon). Come and visit us for an unbelievable time in Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Chateau La Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Roque Chateaux And Hotels De France
Chateau La Roque Chateaux & Hotels De France Hotel La Roque Sur Pernes
Chateau La Roque France/La Roque Sur Pernes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing