We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel du Poete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Poete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was very clean, cosy and the people are friendly and informative at the desk. The breakfast was delicious so my wife and me took that every morning. Tip: ask for the apricot juice as it's really delicious and from a local source.

We didn't go into the pool as our trip was only 3 full days at the hotel and we wanted to see as much as possible of the area but it looked very clean and nice.

If you want to see lavender then go before mid August. Our travel agent in Belgium told us there would be lavender everywhere but in reality it turned out to be that all was already cut so my wife was pretty disappointed on that part. We made it up though by going to the lavender museum which is close to the hotel (~8km).

We for sure will come back to this hotel again in the future and recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: We took the superior room. Not that it held something superior so I guess it was just a bit bigger t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisvanderMast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Poete
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 312 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were a group of 5 people. The town of Gordes, Provence, was very close and we could come and go in car easily. In the morning we walked around and was beatiful. Many rivers of transparent waters, canoe rentals to travel . A bushy vegetation.
the hotel is on a creek and its sound is heard everywhere. I was on the second floor and the window looked at the back garden ...the view and sound ... unforgettable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaLebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and myself spent 4 days in this wonderful hotel indeed "de charme". Ideally located in Fontaine de Vaucluse, being "isolated" from the flow of tourists but only 1 min walking from the center of the village.
The room was very "cosy", super clean, comfortable, quite, decorated with taste. Aside from the window in the bathroom that cannot be shaded (thus allow you being seen from outside at night) everything was perfect for a resty stay, specially if you like falling asleep with the noise of river stream. We felt being "at home" as soon as we entered the room.
The buffet breakfast was very good quality and choicy. The staff is very professional and welcoming, always ready to assist you.
An unforgettable stay that we will like to renew for a longer duration in the future in order to enjoy the pool and spa facilities.

Room Tip: Ask a room opening on the garden for a better view (it won't change anything in terms of quietne...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent one night at Hotel du Poete on our way through Provence. The hotel was fantastic in every respect. When we checked in, the concierge showed us to our rooms, which were small, but well furnished, with a nice bathroom, view of the stream that runs through the hotel, comfortable bed, and quiet.

The hotel grounds were beautiful, with outdoor reading space, a convenient bar, on site pool and hot tub, and convenient access to the town. We thought the breakfast was E17 per person, but it may have been per room. We wish we would have gotten the breakfast, which was served in a beautiful room overlooking the stream, or outside. The owner's family runs a nearby vineyard, and has wine available for sale at good prices (we got a bottle of rose).

Overall, we thought the hotel was excellent and wished we would have stayed a bit longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The only reason I have marked this hotel down is that the room on the ground floor is not well situated. Its view is on to the front car park, and - at night - you can see and hear the cars coming and going. Also the room itself felt a little awkward. Whilst it was large, it did not feel particularly habitable.

We thought the breakfast was 17 euros each (too steep for us). But we found out on checkout that it is 17 euros together. So we would have gone for the breakfast had we known this.

I know it said on our reservation that our room would not have the best view. But I was still expecting more, and left feeling a little disappointed.

Also, there isn't much to do in Fontaine. There are no nice restaurants, and it has a very touristy (and young children orientated) feel. It's not that good a base to explore the region either because it is quite far from the main A / D roads.

We ended up checking out a day early because of these points. And we wanted to see the nightlife in Marseille. Needless to say, the owner still charged us the full price of the last night. We felt that he could have exercised his discretion not to take that step. That would have made all the difference for us.

This review does not detract from any of the other wonderful features of this hotel (such as the pool, jacuzzi and immediate surroundings).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

An enchanting hotel in centre of a gorgeous little town. We picked this hotel because of the area we wanted to see, not because of the town and its huge natural springs. What a wonderful surprise! The hotel is very 'French' and has beautiful grounds and pool area built over running water, it seems, everywhere around you! Great friendly, efficient service. The rooms have beautiful views, and separate bathroom and toilet. There is a lovely breakfast room downstairs along with the reception and lounge area. Also with a bar. Plenty of seating outside on terrace and around pool to have breakfast, a drink, or just relax. A very short walk to town square where there are plenty of restaurants. Wonderful place that I strongly recommend to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel only for 1 night and found it really relaxing. The room was very pretty and completely spotless, bathroom was a good size with a great shower and air con was silent which was nice ...some of the places we had stayed had very noisy systems. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful, and the pool area was great - after travelling through france for the previous 7 days it was a welcome retreat! The area of Fontaine De Vaucluse was lovely and we enjoyed walking around for the afternoon however it is extremely quiet and there is not much choice in the way of restaurants, although the place we did eat was nice. This hotel is a great place to stay for peace and quiet, and day trips to L'isle sur la sourge. We also did the kayaking which you can book with the hotel staff, we had a great time and would definitely recommend staying when visiting this area :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie101photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontaine de Vaucluse
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Parc
Hotel Restaurant du Parc
#2 of 2 in Fontaine de Vaucluse
188 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
699 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
262 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
268 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Mas des Gres
Le Mas des Gres
#1 of 4 in Lagnes
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Poete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Poete

Address: Le Village, 84800 Fontaine de Vaucluse, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Fontaine de Vaucluse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fontaine de Vaucluse
Price Range: $120 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Poete 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Poete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Poete Hotel
Hotel Du Poete Fontaine De Vaucluse, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing