We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant, but not vegetarian friendly....”

Hostellerie le Chateau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant, but not vegetarian friendly....”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We dined in le Chateau in April 2014. The meal was good, but as a vegetarian I asked for a vegetarian dish, with just vegetables/side dishes. The waitress said it's not a problem, and then came back and said she "doesn't have vegetables at this moment". I would expect far more flexibility and respect for customers from such a restaurant. I sat the whole meal hungry and staring at others eating. too bad...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noarappaport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    60
    14
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious food in great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was October and the city looked pretty empty. While searching for place to have dinner we were attracted by nice terrace of Hostellerie le Chateau facing fast river steam. Restaurant was pretty full comparing to others so we got the last table near the window with a nice view. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Menu was in French only but we got detailed explanation + recomendations in wine choice. Food was awesome. Though starters usually impress me more because of their unique presentation. We took Salad with duck and Scallops in some sauce. For main coarse: mix meat plate and mix fish plate. Very good quality. Desert is also something one should not miss... Sitting on terrace we were dreaming how nice could it be here in summer with open windows... I'd definetly recommend this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VerAmZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Duck magnet w/fraise--I've been waiting for years.!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Friendly , helpful service. Lovely people, awesome food. Ample portions. All the French brot their little dogs....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A fantastic lunch in Fontaine De Vaucluse”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

During our last October two-week trip in Provence we had a fantastic lunch in Hostellerie le Chateau in Fontaine De Vaucluse. After a walk to the source of river Sorgue we came to the door of the restaurant rather late, 2-3 minutes before 2pm, when seating for lunch was supposed to be over. However, the hostess kindly allowed us in, but told, since the lunch was over, we had to order from a regular menu only. I am not certain what really happened that day - if this restaurant is always so good, or if it was our luck that the chef tired of cooking lunch specials and wanted to create something different as a great artist would make a grand finale. The truth must be said - we had an exceptionally good meal this day. A juicy trout with a crispy skin covered with a perfectly crunchy toasted almonds; mixed fish grill where each fish was perfectly cooked, tender salmon appetizer, mouthwatering fried frog legs, refreshing ice cream; a very good wine recommended by a hostess. Beautiful seating by the window with river view, swimming ducks; murmur of water; emerald color of waving seaweeds, sunlight after light drizzling rain. Combination of all these impressions and senses left us with magic, poetic and lasting memories.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kf59traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still a Very Nice Restaurant for an Evening Dinner”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had first eaten here in 1999 and were looking forward to our return on this trip. We had reserved a table at the windows looking out over the water. Our appetizers were escargots in a tomato sauce, sort of a Creole taste to it. I had foie gras with caramelized onion, honey, with toast. The char of toast and the sweetness of honey was an excellent combination.

I had one of the best prepared steaks I have ever had - a fillet with morel mushrooms & foie gras. My wife had a grilled fish selection of white fishes, gamba, and scallops served with an aioli sauce.

For desert I had two scoops of chocolate ice cream, I cannot remember the other desert.

The view looking out over the water towards the town center is excellent, with the water flowing past below the restaurant. We had very good service. When we told our waitress that we had eaten there 12 years ago she said that the same chef was still there. It was very good to return to a restaurant which we had stumbled across by accident, and to have another excellent meal just as we had remembered from years ago.

One bit of advice - not just for the restaurant but the town itself - with the town being at the end of a valley on a stream that comes up from mountain springs, at night it can get a bit chillier than the outlying areas. This may be especially true in the early Fall if you have dressed for a warm day, and then find yourself underdressed for the cool aevening air coming off the stream.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vwrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostellerie le Chateau also viewed

Fontaine de Vaucluse, Vaucluse
Fontaine de Vaucluse, Vaucluse
 
Fontaine de Vaucluse, Vaucluse
Fontaine de Vaucluse, Vaucluse
 
Fontaine de Vaucluse, Vaucluse
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, Vaucluse
 

Been to Hostellerie le Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing