We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Auberge La Feniere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge La Feniere
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cadenet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Although the meal was delicious, the service was appalling. Just like in an hopital room, we were served by at least 5 or 6 waiters all coming and going, apparently as they became available. As for the chief in charge, we only saw him to pay the bill...
What is the point of coming to Luberon to be described your meal by a Chinese waitress who knows everything by heart but does not know how to say mosquitos in French ?

Last tip, cover you ourself up if you dine out on the terrace, we did not .. and it was a pleasure for mosquitos as apparently the restaurant does not have any solution against those.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Catleya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Auberge La Feniere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 209 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were so pleased when we were taken to our room and saw the view from our patio. Like the Provence you dream about. The breakfast was to die-for, and we had a wonderful cooking class with Reine, and got to later eat what we made. The location is wonderful, too, there were beautiful small towns nearby to explore. We loved our stay here. Those on the upstairs floor of the main house, pay close attention to the artwork on the walls. ;)

Room Tip: Apparently the main house rooms are better, but I didn't see the others.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alixw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wonderful location and main pool BUT the Belleview suites of which there are 5 were like the inside of a garage. Chipped concrete looking floor covering, tacky black bathroom decor with cheap fittings and an awful lime green dressing table better suited to an office. Be very careful when booking this hotel.....the main house accomodation looked much better.

Room Tip: The pictures of the rooms are deceiving....look carefully before booking particularly the Belleview...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just love this place. The people and warmth of the welcome.
Nothing felt forced or an effort.
The nice thing about moving around in Provence is that each region and area has something specific and unique in its cooking - In this instance the eating experience with everything fresh and yummy. (posted some photos)

The chef and owner is a marvel in the kitchen.
As we were travelling in France and expecting to see different ingredients and strange sounding and looking dish descriptions, we prepared a bit beforehand, but the staff is always on hand to give one detailed explanation - all you need to do is show a bit of interest and ask.

Beautiful setting and very relaxing. I could easily have lunches there that last for two days with a bit of dinner in between.

Room Tip: In France the Auberge type hotels/ accommodation have very defined types of rooms from budget to sui...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank braam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were very disappointed with the quality of our room, very basic decor, outdated furnishings, cheap bathroom fixtures, cheap looking tiles, no ambience, no character. Rooms look better on the photos than in reality.
The grounds were nice though, but it is typical of auberges in this area. Two years ago we stayed in an auberge near Bonnieux at the same price and it was much much better.
We did not stay for the dinner, but breakfast was also very basic, not much selection, nothing gourmet about it and it was EUR 20 per person. I do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YUNATONI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our Luberon experience was enhanced by the stay at the la Feniere auberge.The rooms were very comfortable with a great outlook on to the rolling lawns and olive trees. Sadly we could not lounge on the chairs and sofas outdoors as the unseasonable cold weather kept us indoors.
The restaurant served great breakfasts with fresh orange and grapefruit juices plus the usual pastries and bread, cold meats and cheeses and cereals.
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent. We opted for three courses from the shorter degustation menu at E65.( The same menu is available for lunch at about E45) We started with stuffed courgettes which were so spectacularly presented that I took a photo and followed with pigeon perfectly cooked. A selection of small desserts with strawberry flavours followed.
The décor in the hotel is unusual to say the least with modern works of art in the restaurant and some very erotic prints outside the rooms!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanneMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

While this was supposed to be one of the highlights of our trip, this was an unbelievably disappointing experience. The service and the location are wonderful. Even though I would have expected a little more explanation of the menu. If this was a restaurant in NYC it would have been closed already. They also overcharged us for the wine. Since it was only €5 we didn't make a deal out of it but nonetheless not cool

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mischi_Le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadenet
1.1 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
14.2 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
359 reviews
3.3 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
8.2 mi away
Le Petit Mas de Marie
Le Petit Mas de Marie
#1 of 1 in La Tour d'Aigues
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Feniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Feniere

Address: route de Lourmarin | D943, 84160 Cadenet, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Cadenet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cadenet
Price Range: $179 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hillside just outside Lourmarin lies the inn of Reine Sammut, one of the best chefs in France. Before sampling the restaurant, be sure to savour the premises. The bedrooms are a tribute to local crafts, with original, contemporary designs and some with their own terrace and a stunning view over the Durance valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Auberge La Feniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Feniere Hotel Cadenet
Auberge La Feniere Cadenet, France - Luberon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing