We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Susitna Sunsets Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to Anchorage for The Big Wildlife Runs (marathon, 1/2 marathon, 5K) but afterwards we moved from downtown to the quiet part of Anchorage. Susitna Sunsets B&B was the right place for relaxation and comfort. Big spacious room, comfy bed, big bathroom, fridge, coffee maker, tea and little snacks are just a few things which made our stay fantastic. I have to mention the delicious breakfast (my husband said the French toast was best he had eaten in years) and very friendly hosts. The view of the mountains from the porch is breathtaking and if you get lucky you might see a moose. I would recommend this B&B to everyone who likes peace and quiet, a good breakfast and nature. If we ever come back we will definitely stay at Susitna Sunsets B&B.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TuristkaSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Suite Sept 3rd through the 5th 2013. Without a doubt it was the most comfortable place we stayed on our 16 day vacation that included stays in 2 alleged 5 star hotels as well as the Princess lodges in Denali and McKinley. It was immaculate top to bottom, great views, accommodating hostess and no curfew ( Del Ann gives you the keys to the front door). As stated in the previous posts breakfast was exceptional and plentiful. The pictures posted in tripadvisor did not do it justice. The rooms are much larger than in the pictures. Probably due to the inability of the cameras and the camera angles to capture it accurately. I recommend this B&B without any equivocation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

First of all, the property is first class, and the view of Anchorage and the Susitna river and mountains is gorgeous. The Garden suite was comfortable and spacious and the shower even had a steamer function ! Aside from wonderful accommodations, the breakfasts that Del Ann cooked up were 5 star all the way !!! Think of French toast with homemade and hot maple-banana-walnut syrup, reindeer sausage, fresh OJ, coffee, fresh watermelon, blueberries, raspberries...and the list goes on... We checked out on our final day but had to cancel some adventurous plans due to the weather. No other guests were checking in and our outbound plane was several hours away, so Del Ann let us hang around in the comfortable living area as long as we needed so we could get some rest before the long trip home....what a gracious gesture which really made our trip more enjoyable. Thanks Del Ann !! Jerry and Cathie Anderson

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin2Texans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this B&B on August 19, as we were travelling with friends the suite upstairs was a perfect arrangement for us. We each had our own comfortable bedroom with a shared bathroom. The entire house was immaculate and Del Ann was a delightful hostess, just the right mix of helpful information and friendliness but gave us space to just relax too. We were lucky enough to have fine sunny weather so after a visit to the local supermarket we enjoyed the sun deck with its spectacular view and our drinks and snacks. When it grew too chilly we just moved into the sitting room and continued admiring the view through the huge windows.

The beds were comfy and we had plenty of towels and a nice hot shower. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, yoghurt, French toast with the yummiest syrup and reindeer sausages all washed down with hot coffee or tea.

The area the house is in high above Anchorage is beautiful, we even saw a moose! It's close to the airport as well. Del Ann even lent us a CD for the car for our drive down to Seward.

Would I stay here again? Yes, most definately. Thanks Del Ann.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maudie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Christine & Malcolm
Susitna Sunsets B&B is in a beautiful suburb of Anchorage, just a 15-minute drive from downtown. It faces and backs onto two stunning mountain ranges with spectacular sunsets. The B&B feels like home and Lori and DelAnn make you feel welcome and comfortable, providing as much help and information as you want but not so much as to be intrusive. Our room was located on the main floor and was large and comfortable. Breakfasts are substantial and delicious and we were especially thrilled that Lori and DelAnn went out of their way to convert some of their favourite recipes to be gluten-free for us.
Susitna Sunsets B&B is located such that it is easy to get to most places in and around Anchorage. If we return to Anchorage, we will return to Susitna Sunsets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Susitna Sunsets from the 18th - 20th July. From the minute we arrived, it was a pleasure to be there. Warmly welcomed, we were shown through a beautiful open sitting area with vast windows that embraced the open views down to the water and over Anchorage. Our bedrooms were quaint, with cute attention to detail around Alaskan themes. There were different decking areas from which to enjoy the garden and outlook. We were indeed treated to a spectacular sunset though we did have to wait up for its arrival...mid summer Alaska and all that! Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order with plenty of choice. Del Ann and Lori were helpful and friendly....above and beyond...when we had to leave for a very early flight, Lori got up to ensure we had a hot drink and breakfast basics in spite of the hour! For this, and all else about this stay, we were thankful and grateful. There is no hesitation in recommending Susitna Sunsets as a first class stay in the Anchorage area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lori and DelAnn have established a beautiful place, high on a hill overlooking Anchorage in a gorgeous neighbourhood. Our room was incredibility spacious with every amenity, and we also had access to the living room/lounge area with breathtaking views of the sunset. Our hosts were friendly and were able to provide very helpful advice. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
472 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dimond Center Hotel
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
426 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susitna Sunsets Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susitna Sunsets Bed And Breakfast

Property: Susitna Sunsets Bed And Breakfast
Address: 9901 Conifer St, Anchorage, AK 99507-6027
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us and experience the beautiful wooded Hillside region of Anchorage located less than 1 mile from the Hilltop Ski slope, hiking/biking trails, Flattop Mountain trails, etc. So much to do close by! . Enter to the magnificent views of the Chugach Mountains, Denali, Cook Inlet, and beautiful Mt. Susitna,. Enjoy our large indoor gathering area designed for guest use or our 4 decks with a 360 degree view. At day's end, retreat to your room for a snack and a restful sleep. Awake to the aroma of gourmet coffee and a homemade home-style breakfast made with products from Alaska. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room or outside on our new decks. While "on the hill" don't forget to look for the moose, eagles, and migratory birds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing