We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick service, even on Labor Day”
Review of Middle Way Cafe

Middle Way Cafe
Ranked #59 of 885 Restaurants in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick service, even on Labor Day”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been meaning to go here for years and finally made it in. The food was good, coffee was delicious, and service was fast. This place has more of a cafeteria feel to it, which is perfect if you just want something to eat and nothing more. And it doesn't have an hour wait like Snow City!

The ordering is a little confusing. You should know what you want to get BEFORE it's your turn at the front of the line. Once there, you order your drinks and your food, you pay, and you're given a number. Then you find yourself a seat and wait for your drinks and food to arrive.

I visited at 11am on Labor Day and it was hopping. The guy who took our order was one of the cheeriest people I've ever met. He punched our order into the computer with flare, which made me giggle. Nice to see people who have fun at work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollyfromhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    64
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Liked this place........”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Kinda of a coffee house that serves good food. Had coffee and some breakfast with five friends. Everyone enjoyed the good coffee and the good service. A no rush place where you could spend all morning. Pricing was good. I will go back on my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“African Peanut Soup is now a favorite at our house.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Alaska is a place of adventure. That adventurous spirit for me carried over to trying new dishes and in this case a new soup at least to me called, African Peanut Soup. Let me just say it has changed my soup repretoire. This soup was so spicey delicious, thick and satisfying I came home to search the Internet for the recipe. The sandwiches are hard to get your mouth around and of course the breads are one of a kind goodness. Go on a tasting adventure at the Middle Way Cafe, but be prepared to wait in line and for a table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sourdoe2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great coffee random food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Next to the REI in Anchorage is the long running but inconsistent Middle way cafe. Fresh ingredients but slightly toasted staff provide surprises. Some great some irritating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oneota1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh, healthy choices....love the soups!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Soups are so good....homemade.....lovely spices and ingredients. African Peanut is a favorite. Love their egg breakfast dishes too. And fresh squeezed juices. And their carrot cake is simply amazing! Mid-town Anchorage next to REI.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheAlaskans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middle Way Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Middle Way Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing