We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely remodeled patio, excellent service and tasty food”

Flying Machine Restaurant
Ranked #95 of 885 Restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely remodeled patio, excellent service and tasty food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

In spite of the negative reviews, I wanted to meet with friends and enjoy an outdoor dining experience for lunch today - and glad we chose the Millennium, Flying Machine Patio. Elsa took super good care of us, explained specials and offered tips on her favorite menu items.
Three of us had the Alaskan Seafood Cob Salad and one of our party had a Club Sandwich - all were delicious. The portions were large, the ingredients fresh (both crab and shrimp). Contrary to reviews, the service and delivery of our food was very prompt.
The food delivered to neighboring tables looked great, the new flooring and decor on the patio is a very nice improvement. Sitting outdoors, watching the float planes is always a pleasure and the food / service made lunch here a good value.
Seeing Cap manning his station behind the Fancy Moose bar was quite reassuring as well. I can recommend the Flying Machine to both locals and friends visiting from out of town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iceman41ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    69
    22
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“Bad service and bad halibut”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I ordered the halibut and chips. Actually it was just potato fries on the plate, halibut was oily, greasy and not cooked right. Our party had 19 people, most in the senior citizen age. We had to wait more than one hour to get seats arranged, and orders taken. Food was below average and pricey, 20% fees included in your check automatically (???) Besides, when I checked on my account I found out they charged an additional 10% above all. What for? So meal was $53, and fees made $17.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YYelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious hot meal”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I would recommend the Russian Strogonoff for dinner. It was so hot and delicious and like comfort food on a night when we were exhausted after a cruise. It is also fantastic for breakfast, especially the organic oatmeal with fruit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlaroseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Large Portions. Try the Halibut”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This restaurant offers great fresh seafood and many menu options. Great stop for drinks and appetizers. I really enjoyed the halibut.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food is OK, but overpriced. Service was good, the location is awesome. I have been here in the summer, and it is a great spot to sit outside and watch the floatplanes arrive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank supercubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Machine Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Flying Machine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing