We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“falttop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flattop Mountain Shuttle

Flattop Mountain Shuttle
Ranked #6 of 12 Transportation in Anchorage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For Anchorage visitors without rental cars who want to hike Flattop Mountain. Shuttle between downtown (sea level) and Glen Alps trailhead (2,200'). 3-mile round-trip hike. Elevation gain: 1,350.' In sum it's a 30-mile (low key) circuit tour of Anchorage and an unguided (mountain) hike above it for only $23. 1-4:30 pm excursion. No deposit to reserve a seat. See more, pay less with us.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“falttop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2015

The views are great, there is a lot of walking and climbing. If you do not have a problem with it, you will not be disappointed. Great for pictures too.

Visited January 2015
Helpful?
Thank Tammy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fair price, great guide, fun hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2015

Whether or not you have your own transportation to Flagstaff, this shuttle is a great option to learn a little more about Anchorage and to meet new people--maybe even make new friends from all over the world. Peter, the driver, is friendly and funny and knowledgeable and looks out for his passengers. He narrates on the drive so you get a brief informational tour about the city of Anchorage. The shuttle is fairly priced. I had my own transportation every day but the day I wanted to do this hike, and I'm so glad I took the shuttle instead of renting a car. I made new friends that I still keep in contact with. As a solo female traveler, it was a safe option of transport. The hike itself can be slippery and tiring at the top as you scramble hand-to-hand over rocks, but that just makes it even more of an adventure and sets the trail apart from other hiking paths. You will have a good time guaranteed!

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug882015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hike and bike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

Cousy friendly bike shop
Rental and explore anchorage
anchors all over
Great bikes for everyone's ares a warm attitude from Pete'ns Stuff
Good advises and more
If really you want to hear the heart bits of the city take their bike

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
Thank Rony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flattop Mountain Shuttle - great way to get out in the mountains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

So glad we chose to take the shuttle up to Flattop. The hike was fun, the views (of course) were amazing, but the guide was also very knowledgeable and the best part . . . we didn't have to fight for parking! Great idea and a great way to get into the Chugach mountains from downtown Anchorage.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hike to Flat Top amazing views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We used Downtown Bicycles to shuttle to and from Flat Top mountain. The price was reasonable and the directions to hike and take amazing photos was an added plus!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flattop Mountain Shuttle also viewed

 

Been to Flattop Mountain Shuttle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing