We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
WOW

So we had essentially less than 24 hours in Anchorage. Not being much of city people, we decided we... read more

Reviewed July 15, 2019
Emelie T
Great Experience

Pete the owner is very nice and super responsible. He talked about some places on the way to the... read more

Reviewed August 15, 2018
548elainey
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
27
2
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
27
2
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bike shop coastal trail great hike pete instructions summit bikes driver activity luggage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 31 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

So glad we chose to take the shuttle up to Flattop. The hike was fun, the views (of course) were amazing, but the guide was also very knowledgeable and the best part . . . we didn't have to fight for parking! Great idea and a great way to get into the Chugach mountains from downtown Anchorage.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We used Downtown Bicycles to shuttle to and from Flat Top mountain. The price was reasonable and the directions to hike and take amazing photos was an added plus!

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank 459drewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This bike shop is conveniently located in downtown Anchorage. It offers bike rentals and hiking trips to Flattop Mountain. I highly recommend both. They offer many types of bikes and initially take you though a few questions to help find the bike that is right for you. The bikes include cargo compartments so they are great for carrying extra layers of clothing for the the Anchorage weather and for storing souvenirs picked up on your bike ride. The bikes are clearly well maintained and the rental includes a helmet, maps and a repair kit. In addition to providing maps, the shop has detailed written directions on how to navigate the local trails and staff has a wealth of knowledge they are willing to share on local trails and points of interest along the way.
In addition to the bike rentals, the shop offers daily hiking trips to Flattop Mountain. The hike includes a 30 minute narrated van ride from the bike shop to the base of Flattop Mountain. Again, the shop provides helpful written instruction on the hike and where to go. The van drops you off at the parking lot at the base of the mountain where you are released to hike at your own pace and as high as you want as long as you keep the time schedule in mind. The last third of the hike is more of a climb as it gets a bit steep, but still accessible for novice climbers although it can be a bit exhausting if you aren't used to physical activity. The end of the hike requires you to climb on all fours to reach the top, but so worth the effort as the views are amazing. On the drive back to the bike shop they take a different route so you can see different things.
Prices are reasonable, staff is friendly and knowledgable and the shop is open late in the summer so that you can really take advantage of the extended sunlight.

Date of experience: May 2014
3  Thank marybink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Flat top Mt. Service is an awesome activity especially for one who don't want to rent a car. Peter act like a local guide, which is good for sight seeing.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Bettaprima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

You don't need a car to have a great time in Anchorage! I am a cyclist, hiker and disc golfer who spent 3 days in Anchorage. On Day 1, I rented a bike to ride the Coastal trail from downtown to Kincaid Park and back. I'm also a disc golfer so I brought along my own discs (yes I planned ahead and brought discs along in my luggage on the plane, they don't rent discs) and played a round of disc golf (btw it's a great course). It was a great activity for the day! On Day 2, I took the shuttle bus to Flattop and had a great hike. It was definitely worth the cost considering that I wasn't renting a car for the period of time I was in town. On Day 3, I rented a bike again and rode a loop route leaving from downtown, up Ship Creek and returned via Chester Creek trail which connected with the Coastal trail at Westchester Lagoon, then return back to downtown, again with disc golf incorporated at Russian Jack Springs Park.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank maggie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews