We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
81
31
5
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
31
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportquiet hoursno shoesgreat place to stayoatmealfront desk staffdowntownbunkloungingalaskalockmattressesratessummer
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 125 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

There are new lands, new people, new thoughts. For some, including myself, I came to alaska with the expectation of discovering these new 'things' in what many refer to as "the final frontier" of America. What I did not expect was to discover that all these things could be found within the confines of my hostel, the best hostel in anchorage.

The Spenard hostel, the best hostel in anchorage, is a microcosm of the Alaskan experience: you will meet the friendliest people from all walks of life, share in the sorrow and triumphs of their travels, and grieve when they depart, but only for a few minutes, as their place will be taken by someone just as interesting and fun as the last (because this is the Spenard, the best hostel in anchorage, where the spirits are lively and ever replenished).

Also just a really friendly and collaborative environment. 10/10 staff.

-bot nob dylan

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank botnobdylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan F, General Manager at Spenard Hostel International, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2017

Thanks for staying with us and the kind review! We can't wait to see how your summer unfolds and wish you the best of luck, Robbie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

Spenard Hostel International has been an amazing experience as a base camp in Anchorage. I've spent a long weekend traveling to Talkeetna and to Alyeska resort and has been very convenient. It's warm, clean and the staff very attentive. It's close to the airport and have space in front of the house to park the car, although if you plan to move with public transport the stop isn't far from the hostel. The kitchen is available (with free coffee in the morning) as well as the fridge for your own foods, and the dormitories are comfortable. Happy to discover this nice place!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jordi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelBill, Owner at Spenard Hostel International, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Thanks for the review Jordi. Come back and stay with us again anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

Rooms were clean and smelled fine, good, clean linens. WiFi was a tad spotty but it's free. Gas range and enough kitchen tools, plenty of free oatmeal and spices. Rates good, owner and help super friendly and sharp. Close enough to walk to full grocery, block away frim mini-mart.

Stayed two days, had a great experience.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelBill, Owner at Spenard Hostel International, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

James! Thank you so much for the review. We appreciate it and thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017

I've now been to Spenard three times in the past two years, and I plan on returning.
- About 2 blocks from the bus, so easy transport from the airport.
- Staff is very friendly... always willing provide tips and advice on how to enjoy your stay.
- If you're checking in late, access is available after hours.
- Multiple kitchens
- Baggage storage
- Oh... staff is great!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank clem20152017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelBill, Owner at Spenard Hostel International, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you for the great review and the kind words. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

I was extremely fortunate to stay at this hostel. It was my first time as a solo traveler and my first time at a hostel. This place was fantastic; wonderful, helpful houseparents, cool communal atmosphere, safe environment, and excellent amenities. I work while I travel and the wi-fi was fast and reliable. They do their best to make you feel welcomed and provide information about the area and things to do. They enforce the quiet hours so you will get a good nights sleep. The mattresses are new and comfy and the bedding is clean. They keep the place really clean and there are no shoes worn past the front door which helps keep the place tidy and free of allergens. When I stayed there, there was an awesome house dog who gave lots of lovins. If you send questions to them about your stay they are really great with their response time and friendliness. They have lockers you can keep your things in if needed. In the summer or when it's not icy out they have bikes for rent. There are two full kitchens for use and a couple of communal /lounging areas.Transportation is an easy one-block-walk away and the airport can be reached by a quick bus ($2) or cab ($8) ride. I had a great time there and would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allana196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelBill, Owner at Spenard Hostel International, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you so much for the review! One advantage for us in the winter is we have more time to visit and get to know people better.
It was great having you stay with us. Thank you again for the review. The first review of 2017 and for the new management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews