We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
81
31
5
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
31
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportquiet hoursno shoesgreat place to stayoatmealfront desk staffdowntownbunkloungingalaskalockmattressesratessummer
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 125 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

My family stayed overnight after a very long flight from the Midwest. We arrived at 200 am and, as promised, a note with all our sleeping information was waiting for us and we easily slipped into our bunks for the night. Breakfast was self service and we made excellent pancakes. Our room was clean and comfortable. There was no rush to leave and we had an option to pay a little more and stay longer thru the day!

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

This hostel rocks! It has full kitchens, comfortable beds, wifi (good enough to stream Netflix!), as well as plenty of space to store your belongings and food. The front desk is very personable and kind. The place is secured so you won't have to worry about just ANYBODY walking in. I dont usually travel alone, but I felt very safe when it was just me in there. The people it attracts are very genuine people who just want to make friends. There are common areas for people to relax and hang out, which is convenient. There are two cats who live on the property and do as they will, so watch out if you have any allergies.

The hostel is also walking distance from a few good places to eat, and is close to a gas station that has simple things needed for a trip that were forgotten (like shampoo, toothpaste, ext.) It's a very short drive to the airport, too (A ten dollar cab ride for me.)

Room Tip: There hostel is split in Fem only dorm, Male only dorm, and co-ed to help you chose whatever makes you comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MirandaDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

I spent 4 nights total at Spenard, separated by a 2-week camping trip throughout Alaska. The place felt like home right away: friendly faces, funny and friendly signs, food to share, clean rooms and bathrooms, reasonable quiet hours, friendly staff (who invited us on an impromptu field trip to see a whale that had washed ashore), bikes to rent, berries out front that tasted yummy in my morning cereal, plus many and varied social spaces where I could connect with fellow travelers.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank UncleRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016

Clean, happy, helpful, make your own pancake breakfast, coffee always, cats, and marvelous guests to share the experiences of life.Even had a entertainment (4 piece band) with pizza, salmon and beer on tap. Thanks Jen for a memorable evening.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank seniorVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 4 days with my daughter before we joined a trip with an adventure company. Very cozy hostel. Has everything you need and we felt very safe. Workers very friendly and helpful about questions we had getting around town and things to do. The beds, bathrooms and kitchens were very clean. Had to sleep in tent outside the first night because the hostel was full. They had the tent set up and freshly washed sleeping bags set up when we arrived at 7pm. We felt safe outside also. Hostel is convenient to bus stops and easy to get around. Bus ride is about 20 min to downtown, no big deal. Bus rides are $2 a ride or $10 for a day pass. Cabs are about $20 to airport or anywhere within 6-8 miles away. The price is well worth it. Also for $10 you can stay at the hostel all day if you have an evening flight as we did

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews