We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Make sure you double lock your doors.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Anchorage Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Make sure you double lock your doors.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went to bed early. At about 11 pm some people entered our room. The management had given out a key to our room to another guest! Very invasive and upsetting. Couldn't sleep the rest of the night. In the morning the manager offered my a free breakfast, heh, before finally offering me half off.

Mistakes happen, but this mistake should not happen.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    173
    88
    31
    8
See reviews for
86
150
40
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and it was an average stay. However, upon our arrival, the air conditioner was not working so we had to change rooms. The breakfast the next day was okay, but only one employee was actually working and remembered to get our order.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriek726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard on our way back from Seward. We traveled from Seward to Anchorage by train and arrived downtown Anchorage at 10:30pm June 23 2013. When we called for the "complimentary shuttle" to pick us up, we were told very bluntly that they did not pick up at the downtown depot. Had to pay a taxi $20 to get to our hotel. Room was ok, but staff was somewhat unconcerned with clientel it seemed. When we went for breakfast before leaving Anchorage the next day, there was a joke of a breakfast counter with no one to help. We will never stay there again. We got excellent service at the hotel across the street during our vacation.

Room Tip: If you just ant to sleep and dont mind paying to get there (so much for complimentary shuttle servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOBA0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMS-Lodging, Director of Marketing at Courtyard Anchorage Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello -
I recently received a copy of your review and want to thank you for the feedback. Our goal is to provide great service, but it sounds like we didn’t meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology.

We didn’t do a very good job communicating the shuttle route. It’s listed online as “Airport shuttle service”, but I’ll double-check all our other listings. Our guests expect fast airport shuttle service, and to keep that going, unfortunately we are unable to transport guests to and from the train station. The Bistro staff serves breakfast M-F from 6am to 10am and weekends from 7am to 11am.

Thanks again,
Shelley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I can't think of one thing that was at all special about this hotel. The location was close to the airport but pretty far from downtown. I stayed at another downtown hotel from a chain even tough I'm loyal to Marriott and found it far superior.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I spent one night, July 3, at the Courtyard Marriott Anchorage Airport at the beginning of our 10-day tour of Alaska. There were 7 of us in our group and this hotel fit our needs for a place to stay the afternoon of our arrival in Alaska.

The rooms were clean and well-furnished. The service was friendly and efficient. There are no sights to see near this hotel, nor many dining options other than a couple of fast food places. With a free airport shuttle, staying here is convenient for arrival from or departure to the airport, but otherwise doesn’t have much to offer for vacationers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were a group of four with two rooms reserved independently at the Courtyard Anchorage Airport for the night of July 4th with a late arrival credit card guarantee.

We arrived at about 12 midnight and were greeted by Ruth. I was informed that my reservation had been canceled and I no longer had reservations. My friends were also told that there were no rooms left.

I asked for clarification and was told that a party of five had checked in under my name and that a second reservation under my name was canceled. I asked who canceled the reservation and was told that a Marriott desk person by the name of Maria had done so at 900PM. i replied that this made no sense since I was in the air on a plane at that time.

Finally, the desk clerk relented and gave us two rooms. Strange since there were no rooms only minutes before. Seems like they enjoy taunting their customers.

My theory is simply that the hotel resold reservations at a higher rate instead of honoring reservations. This does not bode well for people making reservations at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMS-Lodging, Director of Marketing at Courtyard Anchorage Airport, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello –
I recently received a copy of your review and want to thank you for the feedback. Our inventory management missed the mark on that day. Please accept my sincere apology.

I’m checking with the hotel manager now to see if there are any additional details on the double booking and cancellation of your reservation in order to sort that out.

As far as rooms becoming instantly available, during the busy summer months all hotels slightly overbook to accommodate for the usual last-minute cancellations. On rare occasions when everyone who booked a room shows up, we all have to walk guests to alternate nearby hotels. That is most likely what was planned to free up two rooms for you. I can assure you that we do not cancel reservations to re-book rooms at a higher rate.

Shelley
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just stayed overnight between flights. We were put in a ground floor facing the parking lot, just off the front desk. The mattress was EXTREMELY hard. The coffee cups were demitasse size (extremely small). I like to stay at Marriott's and am a Silver Card holder. I was really disappointed. I won't be back to this Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
#10 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Anchorage Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Anchorage Airport

Property: Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Address: 4901 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-3295
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Anchorage
#15 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Anchorage Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our spacious guest rooms with plush bedding, well lit work desk with ergonomic chair, two phones with data ports, complimentary wireless internet access, microwave & refrigerator, complimentary weekday newspaper and in-room coffee. Plus, it's close to the airport and we offer complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy our newly redesigned lobby, with coffee and cocktail bar and media pods. The Bistro serves breakfast and dinner.When you need to unwind at the end of the day, take advantage of our swimming pool, whirlpool and exercise room. Courtyard: the hotel designed by business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Anchorage Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Anchorage Airport Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Courtyard
Anchorage Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing