We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Decent hotel to stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2008

I had business to attend at Anchorage Airport, so I've booked this hotel. It's located 3 minutes from the airport, and yet you don't hear airplanes from your room.
Check in took longer than expected but I guess that person was in training. She made up for the lost time making us laugh. Very friendly employees.
We needed extra pillows and a blanket, so I've called with the request downstairs. GM himself and maid delivered our requested items within 3 minutes of the call.
Didn't have time to try breakfast or lunch in downstair's restaurant (leaving hotel 6:30am and coming back 10pm), but there was always fresh coffee in the lobby.
Room and bathroom were always clean, my bed was very comfortable and they have plasma TVs in all rooms.
I've checked out without any regrets on my hotel selection for stay in Anchorage.

  • Liked — Distance to the airport
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McTravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    189
    92
    33
    9
See reviews for
93
167
42
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2008

I stayed in this hotel after reading the review on Airport Hotel Guru and found the it was indeed the best hotel for ANC they said it was. My only complaint is that it was a little unclear where to get the Countyard's airport shuttle from: you basically have to cross the road immediately outside the airport and catch the shuttle from the second ring road. That little hiccup aside, I'll be staying there again!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wespj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

The Courtyard is currently being upgraded, so a decent place to stay is about to get better. It is certainly more comfortable than almost all of the other options at the International Airport Road end of Spenard Road.

The rooms are reasonably spacious and clean. Considering the nearness of the airport and the traffic on Spenard, it is much quieter than I expected. The desk staff were professional and friendly. The workspace for a business visitor is large and well-lit. If you plan on reading in bed, though, bring your own headlamp!

If you're expecting a free breakfast, as at many hotels, you'll be disappointed.

Good restaurants within easy walking distance are few; Gwennie's is about it, and that's a fair walk when it is subzero and the wind is blowing! The restaurants at the Coast International and the Millenium (both across the street) are closer, but offer much less variety and a lower quality.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We booked a 2-night stay about a year in advance and happened upon an unbelieveable $79 rate w/breakfast included. Booking directly through Marriott allowed us the option to cancel by day of arrival without penalty if for some reason we had to. Husband is Marriott Rewards Member so we're quite familiar with the various Marriott-brand hotels. This particular Courtyard was relatively new, close to the airport, across from Lake Hood, and actually quite convenient to downtown Anchorage and the various highways leading out of town.

This hotel serves breakfast (buffett & ala carte) and dinner, but no lunch. Upon our arrival in the early afternoon, the front desk staff suggested that we eat lunch across the street at the Millenium Hotel (we had a car, but weren't interested in touring the town just yet given our extended travel time from So. California). Luck was on our side and the weather was fantastic, so we ate outside right on the water's edge.

Rather than provide a further narrative, I'll give you the pro's & con's for this property:

Pro's (in no particular order):
Parking was free and plentiful at the hotel; hotel also provided free airport shuttle which we used after returning car.
Newer property; clean rooms; fantastic indoor pool/spa facility
Adequate workout room with properly-working gym equipment
Free in-room wireless connectivity & free internet access in lobby area
Extremely helpful employees - everyone from front desk to maintenance staff

Con's
Limited meal service (lunch & dinner only)
Elevators were extremely small and slow, considering the property only had 3 floors
Internet availability was not functioning during one of our 2 nights there (although Front Desk Staff were offering to print boarding passes for guests)

We would not hesitate to stay here again for a night or two if we ever travel to the area again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank PLHag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

We arrived on late flight, so figured we save a few bucks and stay near airport for first night of our Alaska vacation. At $150/night, Courtyard is actually one of the cheaper options in Anchorage during summer.

Hotel is fine for a quick stay. Rooms was clean, service was fine, location is convenient to airport. Free WiFi is a nice touch. So is free airport shuttle.

Certainly not somewhere I'd stay for a vacation though. Loud location and not near much. Rooms were small, dark and a bit dingy.

Whereas every other Courtyard I have ever stayed at provides a free breakfast, this one charges for some reason.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Small, dark and dingy rooms (not terrible... but expect more from Marriott)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

The Courtyard Anchorage is excellent in its class. We had a one night stay. It is an obviously well run hotel. Our room was big enough to not be crowded by two double beds. There is excellent workspace with good lighting, including free broadband internet access. I had the impression that the person who designed the room may actually have stayed in one. The front desk staff and drivers were very accommodating. We waited about 10 minutes after we called to be picked up at the airport. Trips to the airport are at scheduled times.

The Courtyard is very convenient to the airport. It is a $18-20 taxi ride to downtown.

We paid about $200 including tax. A week earlier we had stayed at the Captain Cook downtown and paid $100 more per night. The CC has location and other advantages, but we will probably stay at the Courtyard on the next trip, especially if we have a rental car.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Reiver2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park NY
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Stayed for several nights arriving and leaving from the Anchorage airport. Great location with lots of restaurants and stores nearby. The hotel is new, clean, quiet with a wonderful reception staff. One of the better Marriotts for customer service. Be aware that there are lots of one day check-ins and the front lobby is usually full of people and luggage. I am amazed how quickly they move both through the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jyoung3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Anchorage Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Anchorage Airport

Property: Courtyard Anchorage Airport
Address: 4901 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517-3295
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#15 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Anchorage Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our spacious guest rooms with plush bedding, well lit work desk with ergonomic chair, two phones with data ports, complimentary wireless internet access, microwave & refrigerator, complimentary weekday newspaper and in-room coffee. Plus, it's close to the airport and we offer complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy our newly redesigned lobby, with coffee and cocktail bar and media pods. The Bistro serves breakfast and dinner.When you need to unwind at the end of the day, take advantage of our swimming pool, whirlpool and exercise room. Courtyard: the hotel designed by business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Anchorage Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Anchorage Airport Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Courtyard
Anchorage Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing