We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Lakeshore Inn & Suites(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$95
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$63
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dimond Center Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$149
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$129
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
$165
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$59
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Captain Cook(Anchorage)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
116
197
97
28
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
197
97
28
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbenihana restaurantsitting areabreakfast was includedshuttle serviceflat screenmicrowave and fridgeseveral blockstrain stationfree shuttlethe hotel is conveniently locatedwould stay here againcomfortable hotelair conditionerliving roomafter midnightthe breakfast areahot breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 468 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We chose the Hawthorne Suites only because the Anchorage Grand was totally booked. But after staying there, I think we'll be staying at the Hawthorne. Great price (AARP $152), great room, THE most comfortable hideabed in the other room I've ever slept in, the full breakfast in the morning was very good plus convenient, and the airport shuttle was great. Having a guest laundry was also a plus, and a daily paper a nice plus,too. All that aside, I was also very glad to stay at an Alaskan Native-owned facility. All of the staff were so very helpful and friendly; we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akdjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed here at the end of a cruise for one night before flying out. We got our room as part of a package through Alaska Tour and Travel, which included bus transfer from Whittier. Two issues with the hotel, but a lot of positives as well.

Issue #1: Apparently there was no insulation for sound in the interior walls or floors. We could hear the TV from the room upstairs, people knocking on doors down the hall, and plumbing noises from everywhere. We didn't notice a lot of noise from outside, considering that we were close to the road and the park across the street.

Issue #2: The maid apparently forgot to change the sheets on one of the beds. There were two beds in the room, and when we turned down the sheets on one bed to go to sleep, there was bloodstain on them. Yuck. It was late and we didn't feel like calling the front desk to have them changed, and the other bed appeared clean, so we slept on it. The rest of the room looked pretty clean, so not sure what the deal was.

Positives:
Other than the lack of noise control and questionable maid service, the hotel was great. There's a free shuttle from the downtown museum and the airport. It's not right in the middle of main tourist strip, but it's not too far to walk there for the restaurants and shops.

The room was spacious after a week on a cruise ship, and there was a little kitchen area with fridge and microwave. The complimentary breakfast was decent and the free wi-fi worked great. There was even a little business center to print out boarding passes, etc. The indoor pool and spa were not huge, but it wasn't really busy, so it worked for us.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofSales77, Director of Sales at Clarion Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2009

We deeply reqret that this was the experiece had at the Hawthorn Suites. We have read this review aloud to all our employees and have had a brainstorming session to come up with ideas for future prevention.

As no hotel likes a review that has negatives in it - we appriciate the training opportunity that this provides. We strive to be perfect for every visitor.

Thank you for also pointing out the many good things about our property. We take a lot of pride in the wonderfully service and amenites that we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Stayed a couple of nights at Hawthorn while in Anchorage. I was a little hesitant to book at first but thought I would give it a try. The hotel is just a bit off of downtown, an easy walk only a couple of minutes. We made it to the Anchorage Brewery in six minutes. It has free parking and there is a Benne Hanna restaurant in the parking lot. Even when we arrived I questioned my decision, the lobby and presentation was questionable. This seems to be a cruise ship hotel, there were several buses unloaded luggage. I found the room comfortable, it was a suite, so it has the extra room, and a small kitchenette. There was a nice breakfast in the dining area and they had afternoon coffee and someone talking about trip ideas. Overall it was luxury, but it was not budget. For the price and location, vs. “downtown” it a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelguyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Since this is Alaska, I am reviewing this place based on our experiences with other places we stayed at during our travels around the state. We paid $200 for the night. I would rate the Hawthorn Suites as adequate to nice. The room was spacious (a front sitting area, then a bath area followed by a bed area with two beds). The service was good and the shuttle to the airport was very convenient.

The location was a bit away from the downtown tourist area, especially when you are toting your luggage with you. However, we had just disembarked off a cruise ship so the exercise was welcome and not really a hardship.

My only real gripe was that the quality of the bath fixtures don't seem to measure up to the room. The shower was difficult to regulate. The sink faucet had the hot and cold water backwards from what I was used to (but this could be an Alaskan thing because some of the other places we stayed at had the same settings).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiguy064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Rooms: front sitting area with sofa, microwave, refrigerator, sink, tv. bedroom area with tv. door closes between two areas. TVs were older models. One of ours did not work but maintenance was very responsive when called.

General: Generous breakfast with make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, selection of cereals, limited fruits, oj, cranberry juice, coffee & tea. One PC in lobby for general use. Ample parking. Tiny fitness center with cardio machines.

Great for families or for an extended stay. Slightly away from the downtown Anchorage area - but extremely convenient if you have a car.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews