We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Downtown
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Comfortable hotel, triple rooms available, room clean and nicely furnished, staff very helpful. 5 minute walk from main downtown area, Free parking and shuttle to airport, 2 minute walk to the 'Tony Mills' trail.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 56Anna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 460 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

The customer service was horrendous! Aside of the clogged sink, broken pipes leaking water into my belongings and leaving black sediment everywhere for me to clean up - I would never treat my clients like that! The Assistant General Manager along with her male Housekeeping Supervisor are "Bullies". The male Housekeeping Supervisor opened the door to the room while my children (ages 10 & 16) were changing reminding us of the check out time (which we had exceeded by a few minutes at that point). When I asked him to please step out of the room and close the door till my girls were dressed he proceed to enter further into the room, keeping one hand on the open door & restating check out time. My kids covered themselves in the corner of the bedroom and crouched down hollering "MOM!". I had to ask him a total of 4 times to please exit the room till my daughters were dressed before I personally had to escort him through the door - allowing me to close it behind me. I went to the Assistant General Manager who then express no apology or concern what-so-ever for the safety or embarrassment of my girls, supported her male Housekeeping Supervisor's actions, and was only concerned with the additional 4 minutes that the girls were in the room changing. When I told her that I wanted to file a complaint and asked for her name, position, business card & phone number to Corporate she ordered me off the premises and laughed as she added "look it up on line". The only response I was ever afforded by the male Housekeeping Supervisor was "you ordered me out of the room & I couldn't see anything anyways". Frankly I'm disgusted and all of you should be as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank O2TravelTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived in Anchorage a night ahead of our Alaskan cruise. We chose this hotel mostly because it had a free airport shuttle which picked us up promptly and free breakfast. The hotel staff were very helpful and helped book us a taxi as we were a family of 5 we needed a minivan. Which came on time and dropped us off at the convention center. Breakfast was in fact very good for a complimentary type one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sr19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a little dated the corn but they're very clean and very well set up. They are almost 2 separate rooms a living room with the TV then Apollo bed in the bedroom with the true bad in another TV. Would be really great for a bigger family but it was perfect for individual on a business trip as I could do work in one area and sleep in the other. The full breakfast in the morning is also a nice benefit fresh eggs and fruit and meet it was a good deal

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKtravelers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed one night on July 20, 2013. The hotel was busy, but the staff was efficient and helpful. The room was comfortable, roomy, and clean. The breakfast the next morning was disappointing. The hotel is only a few blocks out of the main downtown area and within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms were comfy and room but service not up to scratch. Probably because of the monopoly this hotel has in Anchorage. Very busy place.

Breakfast was less than basic. Powdered scrambled eggs, broken toasters, long queues, very little choice for hot food, infact it was powdered eggs or cereal

Cannot believe that some reviews say 'wonderful breakfast' They must stay at some dreadful places

Front desk could definitely be more welcoming as the first thing we were told was that 'check in is at 3". Nice Greeting. Also reluctant with tourist info and guidance

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaybeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very nice place to stay....Staff is wonderful....I dealt with a lovely young lady..Name Misty...We took advantage of two nights.....Clean.......Good price for Ancorage, especially downtown...Felt almost at home....Wonderful breakfast.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bankrbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
478 reviews
Dimond Center Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Downtown

Address: 1110 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $87 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life is better when you get together at the Clarion Suites® Downtown hotel in Anchorage, Alaska near Delany Park, a popular downtown spot for events. Other attractions near our conference center hotel in Anchorage include Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall and: Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center Alaska Center for the Performing Arts Imaginarium Discovery Center Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center Sullivan Arena If you’re searching for hotels with conference rooms or a meeting space in Anchorage, you’ll be happy to know that we have multiple meeting rooms accommodating up to 333 guests. At this smoke-free Anchorage hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: Free deluxe continental breakfast Free WiFi Free airport transportation Indoor pool and spa All of our spacious guest rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, desks, safes and TVs. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Pet Friendly - Please contact the hotel for more details! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Hawthorn Suites Anchorage
Anchorage Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing