We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Suites Downtown
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We didn't get a chance to enjoy our stay at the Clarion. It was for just one night only, departing early morning. The shuttle only runs on the hour, so we had to leave earlier than we wanted. Since we left before breakfast, they were kind enough to send us on the free shuttle with a yogurt and banana. The suite was quite spacious and clean. I would stay again although I hope that they fix the horribly slow computers in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank service197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    164
    82
    25
    23
See reviews for
132
140
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a King suite for a family of four, which gives you a comfy king bed in one room and a double sofa in a separate room. Reasonably comfortable sofa according to the 13 and 16 year old. 2 plasma tv's, microwave and fridge, coffee maker too. Breakfast is a simple buffet, but we all found something to eat. The waffles were a treat. The breakfast room is tiny, so time your breakfast well! Housekeeping didn't make our beds at all, so I don't know what that's about. They did empty the bins and change the towel we left over the tub. Oh yeah, the shower was great and there is a bath tub too. Easy walk into the centre of town, flat and a 5-10 min stroll. Would stay again. You really prob should get a car though because Anchorage city can be explored in about a half hour walk. Somewhat limited eating around here too. We did find everything a bit pricey too, they really make the most of summer tourists!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Try somewhere else. The beds are terrible and while we were having complimentary breakfast, this rude woman came in and started picking up the food at 9:10am. There were at least 30 people in the dining area still eating. My wife and I felt like we were being treated like animals. Unbelievably rude. I'll never associate myself with this brand of hotel again. You could do much better for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyecheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteW-AGM, Manager at Clarion Suites Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I would love to discuss these issues with you further and attempt to resolve the issues that you faced when staying at our hotel. I would ask that you please contact the hotel directly and ask for the Front Office Manager and I would be happy to assist you. I greatly apologize for the inconveniences that you faced while at the Clarion Suites and hope that you will give us another chance to make it right. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Room had amble room, however we were on the second floor one room from street noise. We could hear buses, trucks, motorcycles, especially the one that drove by every morning at 5:30 am, trash trucks, you name it we could hear it! Even over the extremely noisy air conditioner and refrigerator. Town is within walking distances however I thought the rates were outrages for being a bit out on edge of town. Even with Alaska resident rates, still expensive! Breakfast was full on breakfast with eggs, bacon, potatoes, waffle station, etc. Benihana is next door otherwise closest lounge/bar or restaurant is about 4 blocks away.

First day I went out and returned about 3 house later to find housekeeping had not taken care of the room. Ended up having to ask housekeeping to be sure to take care of our room. Day 2, went out and came back about 5 hours later and housekeeping had just changed the towels but had not made the beds. House keeping had the nerve to ask If I wanted the beds made!! Paying as
much as we paid, you betcha I wanted the beds made!

Room Tip: Highly recommend rooms on West side, should be quieter and further from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The room itself was a pretty good room.

The biggest issue was the location. We were stuck a little further out from central downtown with only a Chinese restaurant in close proximity, nothing else. There was no restaurant in the hotel, only breakfast. One of my parents has knee problems and cannot walk long distances, so we had to rely on a shuttle for everything. The staff working the desk was mediocre with their service, but the baggage porters were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed our last nice in Anchorage here and we were glad we did. The room was huge. There was a den, kitchenette and bedroom. The people that worked there was very nice and there is a shuttle to and from the airport. The hotel is a little walk from downtown, but it's right next to Benihana. The town is so small that being where it is is not that bad. We had a nice stay there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a first class hotel, although we weren't there long enough to enjoy all the facilities. When we landed at the airport we called them on the phone and they were there within 25 minutes. Took about 20 minutes to arrive at the motel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were fantastic. We had 2 separate rooms, one being a lounge room with a t.v. And sofa and the other had 2 queen size beds. And very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgt001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Downtown

Property: Clarion Suites Downtown
Address: 1110 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Hawthorn Suites Anchorage
Anchorage Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing