We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Downtown
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My stay at the Clarion Suites Downtown in Anchorage was one of the best experiences I've ever had in a hotel and at a truly reasonable price. First, the staff was friendly and accomodating. The room, a suite with a bedroom and a sitting area was immaculate and very comfortable. I thought it was funny to have two televisions but you could sit on a couch or lie in bed for watching. I thought the breakfast buffet was one of the best I've had and the attendants were effiicient and helpful. I also really enjoyed the location, just off downtown so it felt more residential but close enough to walk to downtown attractions. It was also near the coastal path where you could walk or bike. Honestly, this was a wonderful place to stay in Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    171
    89
    26
    25
See reviews for
139
150
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel had a great breakfast with plenty of choices, including hot items. The rooms were very clean and very pleasantly decorated. The staff was decent. The beds were quite firm, so if you prefer a firmer mattress, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MovingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for two night prior to beginning a cruise at Whittier. The hotel was a good choice.

We had a rental car for the two days but after dropping it at the airport I used their free shuttle to get back to the hotel and the rest of the family before getting the driver to take us to the nearby pickup point for our ship transfer at the Egan Center. Although it wasn't on his normal route it wasn't far away and the shuttle was great especially considering we had too much luggage for the cruise to Asia and post land part which was around 30 days in length.

Rooms were large, quiet and clean. Breakfast was good with plenty to chose from. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Price was reasonable especially for Anchorage. Free parking was nice too.

Overall I'd recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a good place to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gottagocit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms are really cool room.
The front counter people are informative and polite. Prim location, I walked just about everywhere down town.
I found the only problem to be the wifi connection.... it was lame sauce.
(it was slow and only worked sometimes)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SewardAK99664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We actually reviewed this property on another visit but we found ourselves disappointed this time around. The usual concern about finding a parking space was there as they share the lot with a popular restaurant so the lot is often full. Then the friendly clerk said the reason we had to use the lobby to use our computer was that our wing and floor didn't have poor reception----the lobby wasn't a good alternative. Then when we got home there was an extra 50 dollars on our credit card statement----we called and they said not to worry as it'd eventually be corrected----this is the 2nd time we have dealt with this problem staying at this facility. The bill handed to us reflected the correct about that we'd expected to pay and upon calling said that was in fact what we'd eventually see on our statement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is clean, and well maintained with a good free parking available, which is rare in downtown Anchorage. Although it is not a five star resort, is is spacious, quiet and has comfortable beds, with an adequate free breakfast. Two computers and printers are conveniently located in the lobby and worked well. It is a good choice for those who have come to see beautiful Alaska, and do not need to have a luxury resort experience. Staff was consistently pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel borders "green" blocks on one side, so is generally a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jcinreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. We were booked there on a group tour, but at the end of our trip, our flight was canceled. There were 8 of us and they made it very nice for us to be able to stay and hang out in their common areas until our flight was to leave. They shuttled us back and forth to the airport, numerous times and were always very helpful. It's a great location for downtown Anhorage.

Room Tip: It is very expensive to stay at this hotel in the high season, but they all are in Alaska.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JDWLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#24 of 73 in Anchorage
536 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
455 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
375 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Downtown

Property: Clarion Suites Downtown
Address: 1110 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Hawthorn Suites Anchorage
Anchorage Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing