We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Downtown
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for two night prior to beginning a cruise at Whittier. The hotel was a good choice.

We had a rental car for the two days but after dropping it at the airport I used their free shuttle to get back to the hotel and the rest of the family before getting the driver to take us to the nearby pickup point for our ship transfer at the Egan Center. Although it wasn't on his normal route it wasn't far away and the shuttle was great especially considering we had too much luggage for the cruise to Asia and post land part which was around 30 days in length.

Rooms were large, quiet and clean. Breakfast was good with plenty to chose from. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Price was reasonable especially for Anchorage. Free parking was nice too.

Overall I'd recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a good place to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gottagocit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Suites Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 454 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

The rooms are really cool room.
The front counter people are informative and polite. Prim location, I walked just about everywhere down town.
I found the only problem to be the wifi connection.... it was lame sauce.
(it was slow and only worked sometimes)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SewardAK99664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We actually reviewed this property on another visit but we found ourselves disappointed this time around. The usual concern about finding a parking space was there as they share the lot with a popular restaurant so the lot is often full. Then the friendly clerk said the reason we had to use the lobby to use our computer was that our wing and floor didn't have poor reception----the lobby wasn't a good alternative. Then when we got home there was an extra 50 dollars on our credit card statement----we called and they said not to worry as it'd eventually be corrected----this is the 2nd time we have dealt with this problem staying at this facility. The bill handed to us reflected the correct about that we'd expected to pay and upon calling said that was in fact what we'd eventually see on our statement.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is clean, and well maintained with a good free parking available, which is rare in downtown Anchorage. Although it is not a five star resort, is is spacious, quiet and has comfortable beds, with an adequate free breakfast. Two computers and printers are conveniently located in the lobby and worked well. It is a good choice for those who have come to see beautiful Alaska, and do not need to have a luxury resort experience. Staff was consistently pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel borders "green" blocks on one side, so is generally a quiet location.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jcinreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice hotel. We were booked there on a group tour, but at the end of our trip, our flight was canceled. There were 8 of us and they made it very nice for us to be able to stay and hang out in their common areas until our flight was to leave. They shuttled us back and forth to the airport, numerous times and were always very helpful. It's a great location for downtown Anhorage.

Room Tip: It is very expensive to stay at this hotel in the high season, but they all are in Alaska.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JDWLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We would not stay in this Hotel again. Its OK to sleep in but thats about it. It has no charm, no character and albeit it has space for a suite, the space is poorly utilised . Do not get a comfortable feeling at all - leave alone luxurious . No charm, no character to the room. One thinks - thank God I just have to spend the night , nothing more. Breakfast also poor . SHuttle to airport, highly unreliable

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We Started Our 9-Day Alaska Vacation By Staying At Clarion Suites (August 31-Sept. 2, 2012). We Had Two Rooms Booked By Alaska Tours and Travel, with Double Beds in each suite. We were on the Second Level and It was very comfortable. We Enjoyed the fact that it was central to Downtown Anchorage (We came back days later to enjoy Anchorage) and the shuttle driver from the airport and to the Alaska Railroad station upon checkout was very helpful and front desk staff exceptionally good. Overall, we were pleased. A Hefty Five Claws UP!!! Joe G 'Bear'

Room Tip: Upstairs always better than the first floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goriajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
570 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
287 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Duke's 8th Avenue Hotel
#46 of 74 in Anchorage
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Downtown

Address: 1110 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $83 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Downtown Hotel Anchorage
Hawthorn Suites Anchorage
Anchorage Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing