We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Didn't expect anything special but was very pleasantly surprised. Service was very friendly -- I asked for early check-in and they made it happen no problem. Many hotels won't. The hotel and the room were clean and quiet and comfortable, everything worked and was in good condition. Had free internet, free breakfast and free parking, which are three things I look for in every hotel, because if they aren't free you end up paying a lot more. Close to airport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul99501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy that your stay was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    138
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
93
91
29
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seward Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked this hotel on a website that only lists Star rating and price. We had stayed here in the past and were happy before.

We checked in at midnight, and unfortunately had to wait for another guest to check in and ask many, many, questions about the hotel and different services (strange since she was leaving at 4 AM that morning anyway, but I digress).

I think that the rooms have been renovated since we last stayed here and we were vey happy with the comfortable sitting chairs, the duvet and the HD TV. The only problem with our room was that one of the corner protectors on the wall had fallen off and was leaning in the closet. Not a problem, but just something that should have been fixed with a bit of glue.

Like I said above, we got in late from the airport late and were planning to leave early to shop before returning home to Seward after a trip 'outside'. When we checked in, it was late and we were glad to be put in room 210, the first room you pass after leaving the front desk - since it meant a short walk. Unfortunately, we didn't realize that this meant that everyone leaving the hotel would pass our door on their way out.

We started getting woken up by loud talking in the hall at 3:45 AM, and then about every 15-25 minutes thereafter until we finally got out of bed around 8 AM - not very rested. People weren't being obnoxious, but they were talking in a normal voice as they were walking out to the lobby at 0' Dark thirty in the early morning when they should have been more considerate. We heard people talking about their flights, their relatives, and even the government shutdown causing them to worry about their house payments! I don't think they were trying to be loud, but the door has a gap at the bottom and isn't very tight, so we could hear everything.

Like I said, the hotel is nice, but room 210 is inappropriate for normal use due to the noise. If we had to stay here again we would, just not in this room - we needed sleep and we got some, but not what we expected or really needed.

The breakfast bar was great and well stocked - I especially liked the pancake machine - never seen one of those before.

Keep up the good work, and if you need a storage room or an office for the Assistant Hotel Manager, just use room 210 and don't give it to guests unless every other room in the hotel is full!

Room Tip: Ask to be put at the end of the hall - it is worth the walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SewardAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very grateful that you were able to stay with us again on your journey home from "outside". I do apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay and will discuss ways of improving the experience for our future guests who stay in room 210.

Thank you again for sharing your comments. I look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our plan was only to stay here for two nights before a bush flight to go fishing, but bad weather caused a lot of turmoil with our bush flight and we ended up staying another night unexpectedly. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly; they extended our stay on short notice, even keeping us in the same room so we didn't have to repack. The next day they extended our checkout time, put a reservation in the system to hold a room in case our flight was cancelled, and then pulled that reservation mid-afternoon when the weather cleared without penalty. It would have been entirely understandable if they had stuck strictly to checkout times and reservation policies, but their flexibility and customer service was outstanding. On the back end of our trip we ended up coming out early because of more bad weather moving into the area, and we ended up having to stay in a different hotel because they were full the first night; while they weren't able to refund the pre-paid reservation I'd made, they were able to credit it to another IHG property nearby, which was appreciated.

The property itself isn't the fanciest HIE I've ever stayed in, but it gets more than six months if year of what we'd call winter in the lower 48 so I wasn't expecting fancy. It also had the key amenities (WiFi, free breakfast, pool/hot tub), so we found the property to be fine overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am grateful that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be accommodating. I will make sure to share your comments with the team. Thanks again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Easy access from airport with on site shuttle. Hotel was a little rugged, not the usual upscale that HIE's are known for...the manager was very gracious to find us a carton of milk at the late hour of check in. IIt reminded me of a college dorm somehow. Our room was ok, clean but the window looked out onto a neighbor's carport so kept the secure drapes pulled all the time. There were exit signs but we could not find an exit as we wanted to eat the first meal we'd had all day at the nearby Village Inn. The price was just so out of line with the product. I was disappointed in this hotel. Although I will reiterate the night clerks/manager was very helpful to arrange cab transport to the train station in the early am.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the upper floors to get away from having to pull the drapes to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrTravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect. I must apologize for the look of our airport shuttle van, our regular van is under repair at the moment so we are operating our old "back up" van until it is fixed. I will make sure to share your comments with the staff. Thank you for sharinig your experience. Its first hand guest experiences and comments from our guests that help us improve our operation. Thanks again!


Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose this property because we were arriving late afternoon, departing early the next morning. Just need a quick overnight place. This Holiday Inn is very, very convenient to the airport, a liquor store was just up the corner so we could stock up before heading into the wilds; one of the best restaurants in town -- Kinkaid Grill -- is on the same street several miles down; and then we were able to go a few more miles on the same street to Carrs 24 hour supermarket and get the rest of our supplies. So easy! And the hotel is newly renovated. The rooms and beds were fresh. The staff were knowledgable and friendly. The breakfast buffet with eggs, sausage, yogurts, etc. was good. The price was a value. Good deal all around!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuck78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope the rest of your vacation into "the wilds" was just as fantastic. Thanks again!


Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I usually base my review of hotels on the following: cleanliness, water pressure in the shower, breakfast quality and how comfortable the bed is. This one is good on all fronts!! The rooms are updated and clean. The bathrooms look new (no dingy stains or anything). The water pressure was actually a bit too hard, but I will NEVER complain about that!! The beds were very comfortable - and they have both soft and firm pillows available, which is something I've been seeing in much higher end hotels. The breakfast is relatively standard, but I really enjoyed the magic pancake maker! The eggs were questionable, but bacon, sausage, biscuits, pastries, yogurt.... all very standard.
The location is very close to the airport, but not too far from downtown (10 min drive), with easy access to highways. The price is better than downtown, and although it seems high, it is lower than most others in it's star rating.
If you're looking for a hotel to hang out at and relax, this may not be it. But if you're looking for a comfortable place to stay after a full day of sight seeing and adventures, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and it was a very good updated room. As with most in Anchorage it is pricey, hotels there are more expensive than in the lower 48. Front desk service was exceptional. It is a little out of the way, but close enough to everything in Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJM_62_DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hie A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Anchorage, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Anchorage and for sharing your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage.

Sincerely,

Tia Lewis
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#15 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coast International Inn
#34 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Alex Hotel & Suites
#35 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Anchorage-Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Anchorage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Anchorage
Address: 4411 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#19 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Anchorage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport is conveniently located just 1 mile from the Ted Steven s Anchorage International Airport and 10 minutes from Anchorage s historic downtown district, with all the major shopping and fine dinning restaurants. Take a ride on the Alaska Railroad, see the starting line of the world famous Iditarod trail, kids can play at the Imaginarium or H2Oais Indoor Water Park. Attend events at the Egan Center, the Sullivan Arena,the new Dena ina Civic & Convention Center or Anchorage s Performing Arts Center. Alyeska Ski Resort and the town of Girdwood are a short drive south on the New Seward Highway, along the Turnagain Arm where you can look out for wildlife such as moose, Dall sheep and the bald eagle. But if you don t see them on the road, you can visit the Alaska Zoo or Big Game Alaska Wildlife Center. Surrounding companies include, BP Exploration, Conoco Phillips, North Slope Telecom, Inc., and Arctic Slope Regional Corp. The Holiday Inn Express-Anchorage Airport has 129 smartly appointed guestrooms, with microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms, Free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, 24 hour airport shuttle, and our Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing