We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Anchorage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Anchorage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

The hotel is located in Midtown about a 10 minute drive from the airport. Reserved a 2 bedroom suite to share with family and staff was quick to check us in and get us to the room. The room was very spacious with a seperate living and kitchen away from the bedrooms. The room also was equipped with a fireplace that would be quite nice if it wasn't summer. I used the free shuttle to the airport to retrieve the rental car. There is a excellent restaurant across the street called the Moose's Tooth, it was great food however we picked a really busy night to visit so waited a little while for food.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank figment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    87
    27
    6
    12
See reviews for
94
35
13
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Whenever I am in Anchorage with a car, the Residence Inn is my first choice hotel, especially when I'm traveling with my kids. The hotel is in a very convenient location in mid-town, so it's only a few minutes away from most places in Anchorage, but it feels very peaceful and secluded. The rooms are comfortable, the kitchen is convenient, the parking is adequate (and free), and the breakfast is decent. It's my home-away-from-home!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

This Residence Inn has been recently renovated including new mattresses. My back thanks you. The decor is kind of hotel "contemporary" mixed with some native Alaska touches. The rooms area comfortable and come equipped with a standard refrigerator, 2 burner stovetop, dishwasher and granite countertop. There is also a small dining table that seats 2 comfortably, Overall very nice kitchen.

The bedroom is well designed and furnished for an extended stay. (We were there almost 3 weeks on business.). The closet had plenty of hangars, the nightstands have 2 small drawers each and there is a 6 drawer dresser so that storage is not in short supply.

The bathroom was a standard Marriott bathroom with standard amenities. Nice and functional although there could be a little more light.

There is a nice, well-equipped gym, a sports court that seemed a little worn and 2 guest laundries. The business center is really just an old computer and printer located in a passage between the front desk and some sleeping rooms.

Honestly, the location is a little off the beaten path but still close enough to get downtown in 5 minutes drive time. You definitely would not want to stay here without a car or other means of transportation.

This isn't a four star hotel but, for Anchorage, it is more than adequate.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank brooksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Very friendly staff, check -in was pre-reserved so it went smoothly and quickly.
There was a mishap in the Fitness Center on the 1st full day of our vacation, but they seemed genuinely concerned and they dealt with it quickly. That made all the difference and I was very appreciative.

We had 5 adults in our party and our double suite was still very comfortable and roomy.

The location is a little far from any attractions, but there are good places to eat within walking distance (1/4-1/2 mile). The Fitness Center is quite small but has an ellipitical, 2 treadmills, 1 bike and some weights. We did not use the pool but it seemed okay.

They had free breakfasts and dinners which were okay.

What we liked the best were the friendly staff, the comfortable suite, the free shuttle from the airport and to the train station and the free wi-fi.

What we liked least was that it was far from the attactions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepcingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

I stayed in a one-bedroom suite for about a week. The room was very nicely decorated; the kitchen suite had a few pots and pans, a small stove-top, toaster oven and a small microwave. The bathroom, though not a spa style, was more than adequate, with a plentiful supply of towels.
Pros: Friendly (for the most part) staff; comfortable rooms- I had no problem sleeping; indoor pool; hot breakfast in am; light dinner M -> TH with beer/wine available; BBQ grill available for use on the patio; newly constructed outdoor fireplace; small, but adequate exercise room; local + USA today newspaper available; small snack shop if you develop a sweet tooth; walk to a Fred Meyers grocery store; short drive to Wal-Mart, other grocery stores and many restaurants.
Cons: Small eating/community area, given the size of this hotel. It was very busy the week I stayed here, and there was something missing or out of stock at each breakfast meal. Worse yet, the hotel ran out of many meal items each day I was there during the dinner hour. Dinner is supposed to be served from 6pm -> 7:30pm. Because I worked late, I often arrived at 6:45pm or 7:00pm to find the entree and/or side-dish was out of stock. Very frustrating. I understand the hotel was near-full, and I did observe many hungry college-age folks (presumably staying there)- but still, the hotel should know by now what food quantities are needed during their busy season. The "business center" consists of a computer and printer near the front desk; there is no separate room to actually work. You will not receive a wake-up call if you set the time yourself from your room- I found that out the hard way. After I informed the front desk, I was told the system was known to be broken. If so, why was I not informed at check-in? The only negative I have about one of the front desk personnel is that I found her at the "business center" computer checking her Facebook page when I went down to the front desk one evening.
Overall, I found my stay here to be comfortable, and I was generally pleased with my stay. I would stay here again if the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flabbytabbycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hotel is close to everything you need, has a great pool for the kids. The hospitality room has great evening food with breakfasts that anyone can find something to eat at. The rooms are large, and families can spread out and relax. We love, absolutely love this place!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekowalskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite for a wk (very reasonably priced off season)-the fireplace in the living area was amazing! The pool, hot tub, and gym were perfect. The very best service we have ever seen with traveling all of the country was the breakfast AND dinner served - dinner served only during the week (with FREE beer and wine too)!! Food in Alaska was very expensive and eating at the hotel was an easy way for us to save money. My children preferred to eat at the hotel since they had choices. All the employees were very attentive to our needs and went above and beyond. LOVED LOVED LOVED this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amity11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown

Property: Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown
Address: 1025 E 35th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#8 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown, we offer newly redesigned spacious studios and one or two bedroom suites; each with fully equipped kitchens (microwave, stove, dishwasher and refrigerator), generous work space, wireless internet access and a direct phone line with voicemail. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet, guest receptions (Monday through Thursday), and shuttle service to Ted Stevens International Airport. Other features include a business center, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, exercise room, complimentary newspaper, iron and ironing board in all suites, cable TV with in-room movies, complimentary grocery shopping services, guest laundry and valet service and daily housekeeping service. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing