We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Marriott proerty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2007

I have tried the other Anchorage Marriott properties on previous trips, so I figured to continue. This is a newer RI design, not the older clump of buildings, giving a little more of a feeling of security. There is no direct access to rooms from outside. The office/reception looks a little like a northern lodge from the outside (a log over the front door), but that is about the only distinctive touch. It has a decent sized indoor pool area and very small exercise room - only 3 cardio devices.

I was again working while up there, so a desk area and free internet were greatly appreciated. There seemed to be a number of people staying here that worked at the adjacent large buildings, as well as hospital patients. It seems to be the closest hotel to Providence Hospital and the UAA campus and has free shuttle service in the area and to the airport.

Good quality, but reduced Marriott points. The only place left to try here is the Fairfield.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ks-bike-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2007

We were in Anchorage on two occasions separately, July and August, for our driving trek from New York to Alaska. In July we stayed four nights; in August, two. Each time we had a two-bedroom suite. If we stay in a hotel, we like suites as there are two adults and three children. The suites had a couch which opened up to a bed. We like eating in and the kitchenette (with large fridge, stove, microwave, sink) suited us perfectly. The hotel serves a good continental breakfast. EVerywhere in Anchorage is easily reachable from here with your car. We paid $319/night. This is much more than what we would pay in the Lower 48 but it is Alaska in the summer, when everyone comes here. The non-suite rooms are less but like I said, we like the suites in hotels so we like to stay at Residence Inns, Embassy Suites, TownPlace Suites, etc. Great pool. Front desk personnel were quite knowledgeable. We asked about movie theaters nearby and they gave us info not only on where but what was playing. The front area has cards with driving directions to about 25 well-visited places.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelLawyerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

this hote. whichl is VERY well managed and VERY well maintained. Service is courteous and quick; the breakfast buffet fits all tastes
with excellent food; the whole place is CLEAN. As a traveller who always books hotels with indoor pools for my kids, I especially appreciated the clean, warm and not overly clorinated pool. The adjacent hot tub was also very well maintained. We travel a lot, and my wife called it "the best place we've ever stayed."

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pentwater--summerjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Our first visit to Anchorage and we enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn. We had a 2 bedroom suite and enjoyed our meals and the people we met during the complimentary dinner and breakfast hours. Dinner came with wine/beer vouchers.
Family friendly place as well as a good value if you have children and didn't want to take the entire family out for restaurant meals every night. Breakfasts were good as well.
The price was a little more than a common room in a typical hotel but for the food included well worth the value.
Our rooms and linens were clean and pleasant and the living space had a nice cozy fireplace. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was convenient to the downtown area (5 minute drive).
I would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank irishinalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

We stayed here five days and really enjoyed it. The rooms, more like one bedroom apartments were nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. There's no view as you're in a mixed residential/office building area. The restaurant and free breakfast are excellent. Mon - Thurs they provide refreshments, tacos, hot dogs, different each night, with wine and beer. It was sufficient for dinner if you ate out at lunch.

Make sure you go to Whittier for the Glacier Cruise. Take the catamaran, it's faster you'll see more.

If you're there in late June/July go to Potter's Marsh to see the spawning salmon.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank Call_us_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2007

Just came back from our 3 day/weekend stay at this hotel. We had a 2 Bedroom/bathroom suite for the 5 of us. There was a full kitchen with microwave (good for the popcorn they provided), fridge & dishwasher. Our girls stayed in one bedroom while our son was happy to have the living room as his room with the couch as his bed. The bedrooms were quite small but comfortable. Free wireless access was a sure plus.
Check in was a breeze. We were in our room in no time.
Since we arrived at 4 AM due to a delayed connecting flight, we left the room later in the PM the following day. Housekeeping forgot to clean our room inspite our reminder to make sure they tended to it. They also left us 2 shampoos for the 5 of us but came quickly to give us additional supplies.The next day, inspite a generous tip left for the housekeeper, she did a rather poor job tidying up after us.
I hardly ever do laundry while away on vacation but since we had our whole family with us, I had to. The soap dispensing machine ate up my coins. When I called Front Desk, I was asked to come down to get my refund. She later gave me free softener to make up for the trouble. By the time I used the dryer, it again ate up my coins. I was really having a terrible laundry day. Thankfully I had extra coins since I was tired of coming up & down the halls to get my refunds.
Breakfast however was another story. It was in a very brightly lit room & had great choices - from self made waffles to hot scrambles eggs with different sides evry day, frsh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, breads etc. We were taken care of by a number of very attentive staff members. Special mention goes to Patricia who was extremely cheerful & helpful.
Check out was done quickly & we were refunded our money for the dryer.
Will probably chose another property next time although I couldn't complain too much since our $89 + Friends & Family rate was well worth it this time around.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bmttokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2006

This hotel was chosen for us by the company we were visiting whose offices are about a block away. It has a good motel type accommoation with huge clean rooms including a kitchen area with dishwasher, fridge and microwave.

There was happy hour each evening when there was two free glasses of wine of beer along with a free snack type buffett (e.g. hot dogs). Also, the hotel had a small hotel and gym. Free boradband was good as were the staff who were very friendly and helpful.

It's location is about a 15 minute cab ride from downtown and as there wasn't much in the nearby area in the way of bars and restaurants we went there every evening.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
TownePlace Suites Anchorage Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt House Anchorage
Hyatt House Anchorage
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
131 reviews
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#19 of 74 in Anchorage
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown

Address: 1025 E 35th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-4200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
#7 Family Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $118 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown, we offer newly redesigned spacious studios and one or two bedroom suites; each with fully equipped kitchens (microwave, stove, dishwasher and refrigerator), generous work space, wireless internet access and a direct phone line with voicemail. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet, guest receptions (Monday through Thursday), and shuttle service to Ted Stevens International Airport. Other features include a business center, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, exercise room, complimentary newspaper, iron and ironing board in all suites, cable TV with in-room movies, complimentary grocery shopping services, guest laundry and valet service and daily housekeeping service. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown Hotel Anchorage
Anchorage Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing