We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$201
$169
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$189
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$264
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$229
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
$362
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$229
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
78
113
65
31
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
113
65
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchorage museumdouble queensitting arearoom safemicrowave ovenfree shuttleairport shuttlespent one night herefur rondywould stay here againi highly recommend this hotelshuttle servicefree breakfasttourist seasonmake your own wafflesyogurtthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 311 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

Day 1
No bed sheets and pillows for our sofa bed, no acknowledgement on the extra pillows requested during advance reservations and had to pick up the pillows and sheets from the front desk. We’d stayed in a low budget lodging and everything requested during our reservation was met & delivered to our room. To get to the front desk from second floor and up, you either use the slow elevator or take the stairs down.

Day 2
Housekeeper did not replenish our coffee condiments in our room. Remember Day 1. After long day of walking, we are very tired and our feet are aching. Our 12oz cups were replaced with a 10oz cups.

Day 3
Shuttle cannot handle more than 8 passengers which understandable but not to come back to pick up the rest from the hotel, not cool. The front desk had the audacity to tell us to walk. A 6:45A departure from the train depot requires an hour early check-in on top of waking up early in the morning. To walk there takes about a mile. The time of walking
depends on individual, if they are able. Reserved your seat in advance!

Day 4
Approximately 45 minutes to 10P when their pool/spa closes, personnels started to do maintenance on the spa/pool thus, not able to use it.

Day 5
The best day! We were checking out! Even to this last day, the front desk failed to tell us where to leave our luggages for holding. It took about 10 minutes before we were told after standing around looking like a fool.

The sofa bed mattress is terrible. You can feel the spring and hardly can’t feel any cushion. The king size mattress though was solid and comfy. Poorly refurbished bathroom. Shower faucet has leak. Drainage ring corroding. Black stains on linoleum. Baseboard molding and wallpaper peeling off. Vent rusting. The mini fridge had missing trim exposing chipped & corroding door. The freezer area had its shells cracked & exposing the metal that had corroded. Dispensers for shampoo, conditioner & soap are sucks. Have to pump hard to get some. Ended up using our small hotel type shampoo, conditioner & a small bar of soap. Wi-fi is suck too. Have to log back in everytime. When I finally get logged in, sloow internet access.

For near $200/nt, I expected a better place and service. For the service I’d received, I should have booked with Aviator Hotel originally planned for a lot less. Paying more to get a quality service does not in tune with Quality Suites Historic Downtown.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Travelers330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesStaff, General Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for staying at the Quality Suites! On behalf of the Quality Suites, I'd like to extend my deepest apologies to you for your dissatisfaction with your stay with us. I will be sharing this review with our staff in order to improve our hotel and to improve all of the mistakes stated in this review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you and your guests have experienced with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Mixed reviews. We spent two nights here. The first one was the day we arrived, the second was the day before we departed. The first room was downstairs, lacked any room, appeared dirty, the second was spacious, clean and more modern. So we have mixed reviews of the place. They had good free breakfast though, so I have to give it to them for that, because one can't find such hotels in Denali or Seward, for e.g. The other drawback with this hotel is that they're not listed on the airport shuttle screen, as having a scheduled shuttle to the airport unlike several other hotels. We called for a shuttle ride after landing, and were advised that it would be an hour, which is very unfair after a long journey. We ended up taking the cab to the hotel. On the way back however, they did give us a shuttle ride to the airport after we signed up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sunil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesStaff, General Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for staying at the Quality Suites and giving us your valuable feedback! I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our shuttle service. As we continue through these summer months- things do start to fill up pretty quickly and there is a bit of lag from our shuttle- regardless we do apologize and are very appreciative of this constructive criticism you have provided for us. Rest assure your complaint will not be left unnoticed and we will make improvements moving forward !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

We booked 3 suites for our group of 16. One perk listed on the site is free airport shuttle. Front desk staff suggested that since the shuttle was not available near the time we needed it (4am) maybe we would like to leave at midnight? After some discussion she was able to place us on 2 shuttles, with one group leaving a full hour earlier than necessary. If airport shuttle is included, perhaps it should run more than hourly or at least be willing to add additional runs as needed. Especially when the majority of visitors are returning from cruises and likely headed to the airport.

One of our rooms had broken AC. They had another room available but it slept 4, not 6. They would not give us the additional room and instead left our group of 6 in a room with no AC. That would have been an easy fix. I've yet to receive the promised credit.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank adventureawaits419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesStaff, General Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for staying at the Quality Suites and sharing your valuable feedback with us! I do apologize for the inconvenience and will take your review into deep consideration for our next staff meeting! Thank you for choosing Quality Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

Quality Suites HIstoric Downtown in Anchorage is just fine. It's close enough to restaurants and things to do that you can walk almost everywhere. The hotel offers a free airport shuttle and also a free shuttle to the train station. I was lucky enough to be in one of the recently refurbished rooms on the third floor, make sure you ask for a refurbished room. If you don't, things are a bit worn, which ofcourse is why they are bringing things up to date. The breakfast met my needs, eggs, a meat item, waffles, cereal, yogurt, etc. and gives a good start for the day. The room was HUGH, with a small sitting room and then a separate bedroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesStaff, General Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for choosing the Quality Suites and giving us your valuable feedback! I am very pleased to hear that our hotel met your needs and hope that you can look to us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Shuttle showed up at the train depot, and said he was taking the folks for the Clariton first and would be right back. We were waiting with 4 other people, and the security guard told us to call the hotel, I'll bet they will tell you that they have an airport pickup and will be here in 15 minutes, and sure enough that's what the hotel said!!! Apparently this is common for the Quality Inn hotel. The worst part, it was raining and cold, it was an hour before they came back to pick us up!!!! Don't book for the shuttle, the rooms are big, clean and nice.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews