We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location and well priced for all the things you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Ca
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good location and well priced for all the things you get.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for one night after getting off a cruise. It turned out to be an extremely good choice. It was within walking distance of the Anchorage Museum, which we wanted to go to, as well as restaurants and shopping. The room was very spacious and the beds were quite comfortable. The breakfast was typical for this kind of hotel, so it wasn't fancy but it was good and filling. We appreciated the shuttle service to the airport. Given that you get a nice room, a good breakfast, and shuttle service, I thought this was very good value for the money. The front desk staff were very helpful with directions and volunteering to mail our postcards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianneza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear: Marianneza

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    80
    45
    18
    12
See reviews for
73
71
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NewJersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were happy to stay 2 nights here after traveling around Alaska for a week. Requested 3rd floor rooms and they were quiet, comfortable and clean.The best thing we did was pay for an extra night to keep the room until 10 PM due to late flight out of Anchorage staff gave us great rate at check-in to add that extra night.
Airport shuttle was free and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smallgroupsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear, smallgroupsonly

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to here that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again next time you are in Anchorage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two night and can find nothing to complain about. Our room was well serviced, very large and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is approx 10min walk to the nearest shopping mall where there is a food court open till 9pm every night. However, for some strange reason, there is no supermarket or shop of any kind where you can purchase milk etc. Really odd.

The hotel also has a coin operated laundry which is very handy, and a free airport shuttle service. However, you have to call when you arrive before you will be picked up. I had arranged airport pickup by email but no-one turned up and we had to catch a taxi. I was informed I still had to ring. You also have to book your transfer from the hotel to the airport.

This hotel is very family friendly and I was more than happy with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwendolyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear, Gwendolyn1
I am happy to hear that you both enjoyed your stay. We strive to make each and every guest experience at our hotel memorable. I do apologize about the shuttle mix up, but yes we do ask that our guest call for a pick up once they arrive in anchorage and to schedule a time to be taken to the airport if applicable.
Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I'm Staying here at the Quality Suites Convention Center. The checkin process was thorough, helpful and the individual was very cordial! :) The front end desk personal, lead by Pandora have been both helpful and cordial! The rooms are clean and well maintained. Its close to shopping centers and restaurants. They also provide free pick up at the Anchorage airport which is a PLUS! This is an awesome place to stay and being an Elite Diamond member, it is one of the best Choice Hotels that I have been associated with. It is a pleasure staying in this fine establishment. Kudos to their manager, Jenny, for making this hotel a place where one would like to stay!

Room Tip: The breakfast was varied and tasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, General Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear, Charles B
We appreciate the time you took to write a review on your recent stay. We here at Quality Suites are elated to here that you are enjoying your stay and the great customer service we strive to provide each and every guest. Your review lets us know that we are doing a great job and we shall strive to continue to provide amazing service to our valued guests such as yourself. We strive to be your home away from home. We look forward to any future business with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White City, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Over the past year, I have stayed at this hotel on 9 separate occasions. The location is perfect for me since it is about 2 blocks from my client's offices and is within walking distance of many restaurants in downtown Anchorage. The hotel offers free Internet service and all rooms have a sitting area separate from the bedroom. Each room also has 2 cable TVs, a microwave oven, and refrigerator. A free full breakfast is included. The staff (particularly Jen, Floe, and Nessi) have come to know me and have been extremely helpful with all of my business needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side get full sun, which is a plus in Anchorage in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel was very convenient to many restaurants and shops. Easy access to the highway. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing. A very large selection and replenished well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

First the positives:
This hotel has free parking, is in a good location and the rooms are good sized and seem clean. There is a mini fridge/freezer, microwave and mini coffee maker in the room.
Now for the negative:
Our fan/heater was VERY noisy, room was cold, blow dryer didn't work, breakfast was a little 'rubbery', everything we needed we had to ask the front desk for three times and then when they FINALLY got around to doing something they would do the bare minimum. Also, the bed was really comfortable but then the pillows and blankets are awful. Weird.
Overall I would stay again because of the convenience of the location but if you're looking for an ultra comfy, relaxing stay then this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuitesManager, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Historic Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Clarion Suites Downtown
#27 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Historic Downtown

Property: Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Address: 325 W 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-3541 (Formerly Quality Suites Near Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Historic Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy relaxing accommodations for a great value at the Quality Suites(R) in Anchorage, AK, minutes from the Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center, Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center and The Imaginarium. Nestled in the heart of downtown Anchorage, we offer quick, convenient access to an abundance of Alaskan attractions, including: Anchorage Museum University of Alaska Anchorage Alaska Railroad Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall WildRide Sled Dog Show Take a day trek to the Alyeska Ski Resort, Portage Glacier and Mt. McKinley-all within driving distance. Several restaurants surround the property, including Glacier Brewhouse, Simon & Seaforts and the Snow Goose Cafe. Unwind after a day of sightseeing in our indoor heated pool, exercise room and adjacent jogging trail. Additional hotel amenities include: Free hot breakfast buffet Free Wi-Fi Internet access Free 24-hour airport and Alaska Railroad shuttle service Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, irons and boards. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Take advantage of our 950 square feet of meeting space for your next business or social function. A business center with copy and fax services is located on-site. Valet cleaning service is available. We are a FEMA-approved property for government travelers. Experience the inviting accommodations and superior guest service of the Quality Suites in Anchorage, AK. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Near Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Hotel Anchorage
Clarion Anchorage
Anchorage Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing