We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Aurora, Indiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a great location!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here our first two nights in Alaska--felt like we were in the country when looking out of our room over Ship Creek--not like being in a large city. Our 3rd floor King Suite was roomy, clean, comfortable, and had cathedral ceilings with fan. Altho we could hear train whistles, sleeping was no problem. Desk clerks were friendly and helpful. Courtesy van was quick to pick us up at the airport and took us to other locations as well. ULU Factory was next door and their trolley went back and forth to the downtown area (just tip the driver!). Wireless was very good. Breakfast was typical and kept well stock. Beautiful rustic lobby was a nice place to visit with other guests. Bridge Restaurant (very good seafood but pricey) was the only close restaurant but plenty of options in dwtn. area--just jump on the trolley.

Room Tip: The back side of the motel overlooking Ship Creek has a country feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you got your picture taken with our lobby bear and hope you have a great rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    214
    82
    32
    24
See reviews for
142
199
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Are you kidding me? This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at! We just had a standard room but it was clean, comfortable, and plenty big enough. We stayed 4 nights 2 together and 2 more in between tours. We've traveled the world and have never had such outstand, friendly service. And it didn't come across as an act. All the staff seemed to genuinely care that we were satisfied. Willy had been there only 4 weeks but seemed an expert in the hotel and the entire area. He actually seemed to love his job. They must have a great training program. This is a new standard by which we will judge all hotels in the future. Consider how expensive everything in Alaska is, this was an excellent value. If you are staying in Anchorage this should be your base for exploring. Within walking distance to the rail station, downtown tourist shops, and Fish Creek right out the back door which is loaded with salmon if you go at the right time of the year. The breakfast was not your typical continental breakfast. They had an outstanding variety. Eggs, make your own waffles, plus pastries and cereals. The staff was phenomenal! Great place.

Room Tip: If you sleep late ask for a room to the left side of the hotel, (when facing the front). We had roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAR845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our amazing team was able to take great care of you during your vacation. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback as good or bad, it will only help us improve. Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is extremely convenient. It sits right next to the Ulu Factory, which provides a free shuttle to the visitors center, in downtown Anchorage. That same shuttle will bring you back. It's within walking distance of the train depot, but they provided a shuttle to help with our luggage. The hotel itself had a lodge feel in the lobby, with a huge stone fireplace. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. They served a typical continental breakfast; scrambled eggs, sausage, assorted cereals, yogurt. toast and beverages. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We are overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we really hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved being right on the Ship Creek Trail, watching the silver salmon swim upstream & the fishermen carrying out one or two for dinner. The hotel itself is clearly older, although nicely updated. They didn't have our king room left when we checked in late. They upgraded us to a queen suite with a kitchenette, but all we really wanted was a king bed. The service was marginal, no jelly at bfast even after two requests, no coffee or cups in our room two mornings in a row. The hotel driver was rude and everyday we had to get our keys redone or they didn't work. Oh, did I mention the train station next door which was nice at 10:30 at night the night we arrived since the front desk suggested we walk ... with luggage in the drizzle, but not so good the rest of the nights. For the price I would have expected more...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSI2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are so sorry to hear that you had a couple of complications while you were here with us. We really do appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback as positive or negative, it will only help us improve. I assure you that measures have already been taken to address these concerns and we thank you again for bringing them to our attention. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLESTON
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great place to stay in Anchorage; really convenient for those traveling by train. Nice accommodations (best bed we had in 2.5 weeks!!), good complimentary breakfast and shuttle service, but the responsiveness and friendliness of the staff is outstanding. Our favs are Darryl, William and Gerard who went above and beyond to make our stay even better!!! These guys really know customer service.

Room Tip: The King suite is very large--nice for a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and overjoyed to hear that our staff was able to go above and beyond to make sure you had a wonderful stay. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are taking the train in or out of Anchorage. They offer a 24-hour shuttle which is a bonus. They pick up and deliver from both the airport and the train station. The train station is a short walk but the shuttle is nice if you have much luggage. The hotel is also within walking distance of downtown, though it is a hike up the hill to get there. There is only one restaurant very nearby, Bridge Seafood, but it was a great place to eat, though pricey. Hotel staff was courteous and helpful. They provide breakfast though the we were out early and did not partake of it. Heard the trains though they didn't bother us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tbgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our wonderful staff was able to take care of you while you were with us. We really hope that you enjoy the rest of your summer and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
573 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Found this as part of a package to take the Denali Star train to Denali. The hotel is directly across the street from the Alaska Railroad. They provided free shuttle service to the hotel from the airport.

Room was clean and quiet. Nice breakfast if sausage links and scrambled eggs available beginning at 5:30 am for early train departures.

There are no fast food restaurants nearby. We arrived about 8:30 pm and found the only place to eat was a very nice (and expensive) fish restaurant a block away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#15 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#11 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Property: Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing