We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT LOCATION FOR TRAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We flew in to Anchorage at 8 pm and were scheduled to take the Railway to Seward the next morning (we were embarking on a cruise from Seward). We first checked in and noticed that our air was not working properly and they were having record heat that week! We immediately called down to the desk and they upgraded us to a King Suite that moment. We were exhausted from travel so we went to sleep fairly quickly after that. The only issue we had but wasn't major, was that we could hear our upstairs neighbor's jacuzzi. It didn't last long, however. We never once heard the train. Since we had a 6:45 departure on the railway we were walking distance and it couldn't have been a better location for us! Free breakfast was a bonus, too! The room was also very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickandleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience of the A/C in your room when you first checked in but very glad to hear that the front desk corrected the issue right away. We hope to see you in Alaska in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 575 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a let down. The place is a long waiy from town and no facilities are close-you have to walk up a hill and a long way to get to food or any shopping-what a disappointment. Also there is a train that toots horn so your sleep is disrupted. The rooms are dirty and outdated-just horrible. Don't stay here-what a waste.

Room Tip: If you want a good room-stay somewhere else-way over priced for the grungy rooms and horrible locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our Comfort Inn. We here at Comfort Inn Ship Creek have just undergone an extensive remodel and I am sadden to hear that your room did not meet the cleanliness or presentation standards that we should have. I would love to speak to you further about the concerns that you had with your room as I would love to correct any and all cleanliness issues. We try to strive for cleanliness excellence and I want to be sure to fix a problem if one occurs. I apologize again for your stay and feel free to contact me at the hotel if you wish to discuss your concerns further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

For the price and location it would be tough to find a better motel. For a discount motel, much better than average service and ambiance. It is a bit of a walk up a hill to downtown Anchorage but the shuttle makes getting around very easy if needed. Sitting about a block from the Alaska Railroad depot makes it a great place to stay if you are taking the train or just enjoy watching trains.
There is a path next to the hotel if you like to walk and the creek is just outside the door if you like to fish.
The recent remodel impressed me...fresh paint, carpet and our mattress was brand new (something I check religiously).
We would definitely stay again on our next visit to Alaska.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor on the creek side...nice view of the creek and sunset. Wifi isn't ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your compliments and we are so glad to hear you are loving our renovation as much as we are! We hope to see you back at the Comfort Inn on your next visit to Anchorage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a great place, good value, and friendly staff. Very convenient location. Just walk up to town and one doesn't have to deal with the vulture parking cops.

My bed of choice when i travel to Anchorage. TMK

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMK-AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your wonderful compliments and we are so happy to hear that you are a frequent guest! You are truly valued at Comfort Inn and we cannot wait to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I enjoy the hotel The breakfast is very good and they have better hours than most locations. The front deak staff generally will work with you on an issue. The beds are pretty good, but the pillows kind of iffy.
Wifi is spotty at best. I hope with the current remodel they will spend a few dollars are upgrade this equipment as well.
The gym has some pretty good stuff for it's tiny size. The treadmill works (more that can be said in many places) and they have free weights.
I've stayed here several times and plan to keep giving them my business. I love a friendly staff that will meet my needs above almost all things. They do that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drkappasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for wonderful comments on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel as any feedback whether good or bad can only help us improve. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My sisters and I stayed in your hotel while enjoying the festivities of the week before the start of the Iditarod. We had an absolutely wonderful time and felt your hotel was excellently located. The snow sculptures were right in front of the hotel, and we could walk to the carnival and many other places. Kami was the van driver who took us to church and was very helpful in explaining how to get where we wanted to go after church. She should be called Morning Glory because she is so bright and cheerful in the morning. We plan on always staying with you when we make any return visits to Anchorage, and we are hopeful to come again for the Iditarod. Thank you for a most comfortable suite and delicious breakfasts.

Barb C and sisters

Room Tip: If you go when the snow scuptures are being made, you want a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor!!! We really appriciate your compliments and we are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We very much hope to see you again next year for the Iditarod!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

For the last 9 years I have visited in Anchorage, Alaska. I found the Comfort Inn at Ship Creek the first year, and have stayed there several times all 9 years. It is very clean, has friendly help that remembers you each year, and is reasonably priced. The location is great for me also. Located within walking distance to downtown, but is yet islolated from the hurriedness of the city, and is very quiet. That is to say if you like trains! I do, and can enjoy the passenger and freight trains.

Room Tip: Either side of the motel. Facing Ship Creek, or the front facing the city skyline and the railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgiliam, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ship Creek, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments on Trip Advisor! We really appreciate the feedback and are so excited for you to come see us again after the completion of our remodel in April of 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#25 of 74 in Anchorage
398 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ship Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ship Creek

Address: 111 Ship Creek Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: $83 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ship Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Ship Creek, an Anchorage hotel near Alaska RailroadIdeally located on the banks of Ship Creek, the Comfort Inn® Ship Creek is within walking distance of lovely downtown Anchorage. Attractions that are just minutes away include the Alaska Railroad and the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts.The hotel sits along the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, which offers spectacular views of Cook Inlet. The Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is only seven miles away. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, the Alaska Railroad and select locations within the downtown area. The shuttle runs 24-hours in the summer and limited hours in the winter.The Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center, the Alaska Museum of Natural History and the Egan Center civic and convention facility are also close by. The downtown area is full of wonderful shopping spots, numerous restaurants and local brewpubs.If the purpose of the trip is to fish, visitors can step outside the hotel's back door to fish for salmon. Guests are welcome to use the free fishing gear supplied by the hotel.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious items, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Ship Creek the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!There is 24-hour coffee service available in the dining area as well. Be sure to pick up a free weekday newspaper to read while eating breakfast.This Anchorage, AK hotel also features an indoor heated pool and an exercise room.Business travelers are welcome to take advantage of the on-site business center and access to copy and fax machines.All standard guest rooms come with many amenities, including in-room movies, games and coffee makers. Irons and ironing boards are available if needed. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs, kitchenettes and wet bars.This Anchorage, AK hotel welcomes pets; nightly charges may apply. Laundry facilities and a newsstand are located on the premises for guest convenience. Valet cleaning service is also provided.The beautiful Comfort Inn Ship Creek is the perfect place to stay for both business and leisure travelers. We promise to help make your visit to Anchorage memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Ship Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ship Creek Hotel Anchorage
Comfort Inn Anchorage
Anchorage Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing