We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel is in good lcoation and receptionist was very accommodating when we arrived at 2am. Shuttle from the airport was great help. Room was large and comfy, and price was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Simply excellent! Enough said! Handy to downtown attractions and transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salem521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I travel all over the world and this is definitely one of my happiest hotel experiences. Mind you, I don't seek luxury or phony attention; the staff at the Rodeway Inn was incredibly useful and friendly. The very large, fully equipped rooms (with kitchenettes) are kept super clean by the dedicated staff. Access to the most excellent gym at the Captain Cook hotel (across the street) is very convenient and reasonable. The (tiny) continental breakfast is truly the hotel's major flaw. Lucky, there is the most excellent Snow City Cafe one block away that serves a killer breakfast and lunch. The location of the Rodeway Inn (close to the inlet, walking paths, convention center, and many other attractions) is also ideal. The hotel is more affordable than the fluffier (and duller) Hyatt, Sheraton's and the likes in downtown Anchorage. A nice market near the Rodeway Inn is the New Sagaya City market. The hotel also offers a very convenient shuttle service to the airport. The free wireless internet was also most reliable. Like all things in Anchorage, hotels are not cheap. But I still did not want to leave this place. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Rodeway Inn.

Room Tip: room 402 seemed great (quiet enough) to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephane_in_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is an older hotel in downtown Anchorage near the inlet. Its advantage is a reasonable rate plus a large room and a small kitchenette which is more like a suite at higher priced hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M33star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent our first night of our 12 day Alaskan stay here at the Rodeway. They were prompt picking us up from the airport and the driver provided us with lots of Anchorage suggestions. The rooms are older but clean. A very small continental breakfast with no room to sit. The hotel is in a perfect location to walk around downtown Anchorage, we ate at the Humphys and the Glacier Brewhouse within walking distance and gift shopped. There is bike rental just 1/2 a block down the street to use the Coastal Trail which was nice. No major complaints

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soccerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I had an afternoon meeting in Anchorage and stayed at the Rodeway Inn (previously known as "The Voyager Hotel". This is/was a small boutique hotel in the middle of the downtown, just minutes away (walking distance) from the convention center, and all of the eccentric downtown locations that Anchrage is known for. I've stayed here before it changed its name to the Rodeway inn and was very pleased to see that all of the nice features of this small hotel have remained intact. The rooms are very quiet from street noise and neighbor noise. The 15'x40' rooms are well laid out and have a comfortable king bed, large flatscreen TV, nice bathroom fixtures, small fridge, sink, microwave, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and coffee maker. Everything was CLEAN!! What a joy to find. No dust, no hairs, no stains, no smells. Room 109 was in immaculate order. The rooms have free wireless internet and a good working desk with outlets and good lighting. The room temperature was comfortable and everything mechanical (fridge only) was very quiet. The staff is friendly. The hotel also offers free shuttle service from the airport, something the old hotel did not offer. Overnight parking is free, but 24-hour parking costs $10. The only negative I would have to report is the "free breakfast" consists of convenience store quality sweet rolls and bagels with small tubs of packaged jams, coffee and juice and the "breakfast room" is barely large enough for 4 people to sit/stand. Step across the street to the Captain Cook hotel and buy a good breakfast. However, dispite this disappointment, i would certainly come back here and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: I've stayed in several of their rooms and all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed here during a work trip and was definitely surprised with the cleanliness. From the pictures it does not look like a very appealing place, but it was actually quite nice. It's a very short walk to the Mall and to restraunts and the price was just right. The only issue I had was the at night, the room was really hot. I was there in the dead of winter and had my balcony door cracked open almost every night. My coworker had the same problem with her room and she stayed on a different floor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,898 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
710 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2027 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $118 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Voyager Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms and suites await your stay at The Voyager Inn. Located in the heart of Downtown Anchorage, The Voyager Inn is just steps away from the city’s best shops, parks, restaurants and cultural attractions. Guests will enjoy complimentary onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and access to the Athletic Clubs at the neighboring Hotel Captain Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing