We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good bargain”
Review of The Voyager Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Voyager Inn
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A good bargain”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is an older hotel in downtown Anchorage near the inlet. Its advantage is a reasonable rate plus a large room and a small kitchenette which is more like a suite at higher priced hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M33star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    114
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
61
122
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent our first night of our 12 day Alaskan stay here at the Rodeway. They were prompt picking us up from the airport and the driver provided us with lots of Anchorage suggestions. The rooms are older but clean. A very small continental breakfast with no room to sit. The hotel is in a perfect location to walk around downtown Anchorage, we ate at the Humphys and the Glacier Brewhouse within walking distance and gift shopped. There is bike rental just 1/2 a block down the street to use the Coastal Trail which was nice. No major complaints

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soccerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I had an afternoon meeting in Anchorage and stayed at the Rodeway Inn (previously known as "The Voyager Hotel". This is/was a small boutique hotel in the middle of the downtown, just minutes away (walking distance) from the convention center, and all of the eccentric downtown locations that Anchrage is known for. I've stayed here before it changed its name to the Rodeway inn and was very pleased to see that all of the nice features of this small hotel have remained intact. The rooms are very quiet from street noise and neighbor noise. The 15'x40' rooms are well laid out and have a comfortable king bed, large flatscreen TV, nice bathroom fixtures, small fridge, sink, microwave, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and coffee maker. Everything was CLEAN!! What a joy to find. No dust, no hairs, no stains, no smells. Room 109 was in immaculate order. The rooms have free wireless internet and a good working desk with outlets and good lighting. The room temperature was comfortable and everything mechanical (fridge only) was very quiet. The staff is friendly. The hotel also offers free shuttle service from the airport, something the old hotel did not offer. Overnight parking is free, but 24-hour parking costs $10. The only negative I would have to report is the "free breakfast" consists of convenience store quality sweet rolls and bagels with small tubs of packaged jams, coffee and juice and the "breakfast room" is barely large enough for 4 people to sit/stand. Step across the street to the Captain Cook hotel and buy a good breakfast. However, dispite this disappointment, i would certainly come back here and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: I've stayed in several of their rooms and all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed here during a work trip and was definitely surprised with the cleanliness. From the pictures it does not look like a very appealing place, but it was actually quite nice. It's a very short walk to the Mall and to restraunts and the price was just right. The only issue I had was the at night, the room was really hot. I was there in the dead of winter and had my balcony door cracked open almost every night. My coworker had the same problem with her room and she stayed on a different floor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I visited Anchorage for a conference, and stayed at this hotel because of its location and price. It is easy walking distance to everything, including the Conference Center. Room was fine, not fancy, and always clean. Service staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is tiny, and there's no restaurant in the hotel; so be prepared to walk down 5th street a couple blocks for your meals. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancesWithTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in May, could not ask for a better place to stay. The whole staff was very professional and went the extra mile to make sure everything was good.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank sullivan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My husband and I always stay at the Voyager Inn when we drive in from Valdez. The location is great....close to downtown shopping, and the Alaska rate is very affordable. However, on the last night of our recent stay, we had a horrible experience. The people in the room next to us were obviously inebriated and extremely loud. At around midnight, my husband called the front desk to ask for help with the noise level. The night manager spoke to the guests and they became quiet for awhile. However, at 3:00 a.m. my husband had to call the front desk again since the yelling of obscenities had escalated and was getting louder. Despite being yelled at and called names, the night manager, Bo, attempted to subdue the guests. He finally had to resort to calling the police; the people in the room were not even registered for the room and had been dropped off their by relatives. Bo handled the situation in a very calm professional manner and should be commended for his assistance in resolving the problem.
My husband and I got very little sleep during the night and were faced with a long drive home the next day. When checking out, I discussed the situation with the Assistant Manager and inquired about the possibility of not being charged for the previous night's stay. He didn't even acknowledge my request and didn't express any concern about our negative experience. The only positive of aspect of our stay was Bo the night manager, otherwise it was the worst night's stay we have ever had in a hotel. Not sure if we will give this place another try even though we have stayed here many times before.

Room Tip: If you are an Alaska resident, always asked for the Alaska rate...usually around $78.00. Only offere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,826 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#18 of 73 in Anchorage
1,542 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#10 of 73 in Anchorage
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 73 in Anchorage
461 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
435 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Voyager Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyager Inn

Property: The Voyager Inn
Address: 501 K St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2027 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Anchorage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Voyager Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms and suites await your stay at The Voyager Inn. Located in the heart of Downtown Anchorage, The Voyager Inn is just steps away from the city’s best shops, parks, restaurants and cultural attractions. Guests will enjoy complimentary onsite parking, free Wi-Fi and access to the Athletic Clubs at the neighboring Hotel Captain Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Voyager Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Anchorage Hotel Anchorage
Voyager Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing