We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anchorage Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anchorage Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The staff were helpful and the courtesy van driver was informative and courteous. The beds were comfortable. WiFi did not always provide good connection. There was adequate parking and the hotel was conveniently located.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for doing a review of our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    159
    90
    20
    15
See reviews for
122
96
38
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
386 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here because the staff really cared about your comfort and if there was anything you needed. Our room was clean and the bed gave us a comfortable nights sleep the night before we had to leave from our 2 weeks in Alaska.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank USN_Seabee_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for doing a review for our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you are ever in Anchorage Alaska again.
Have a great day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our room was beautiful. Plenty of room to move around. The bed was very comfortable. Though I was worried that the room would be noise due to its location near the bar, we didn't hear anything. The bathroom was a little dated. The restaurant wasn't anything great to look at, but the food was great. The hotel's location near the freeway and the airport made our trip to the airport the next morning a piece of cake.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank patriciaa486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate your business while traveling through Anchorage Alaska.
Have a wonderful summer!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Vendor does not keep drink machines stocked adequately. All out while I was there. My opinion is that vendor must use vending as a money laundry. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I would have preferred a different location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 839leslied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. The company that does our vending services is a reputable company. I can assure you that the issues you experienced are not the standard. We are a midtown property and I am sorry that the location did not meet your needs.

Have a good day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

There aren't a lot of options for Anchorage but after some last minute changes, we settled on the Best Western. In the end, quite pleased.

Arrived really late into ANC and didn't check into the hotel until after midnight. Still, the check-in process was a breeze. The room wasn't bad at all - spacious, clean, perfectly fine for a night.

Appreciated the nice touches as a BW Platinum. Welcome bag with candy and water inside the room. They also gave us a coupon for free made-to-order breakfast, which was actually quite good (I went with the scrambled eggs with bacon).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for our property. We appreciate your loyalty with Best Western. We appreciate you choosing us when you visit Anchorage.

Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We checked into this hotel very late at night and the staff was helpful and courteous. The reason I gave it an average score was because the complimentary breakfast was not offered or available which I have found to be unusual with the Best Western chain of hotels. With the breakfast, I would have given it an "excellent" score.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feed back and you are correct in the fact that we do not have a complimentary breakfast at this time. The 36Th Bistro is independently owned from the hotel and they do have a very nice breakfast menu. I will pass your comments along and keep them in mind as we make business decisions in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to do a review for us as all input is important so that we can continue to improve our guest experience.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great place to stay! Will always stay here while in Anchorage! Only downfall is no airport shuttle, but it has a restaurant, lounge, and a hair salon in the hotel. Super close to anything you need to get to. Best beds ever! Nothing negative for me to say!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank chloea484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate your business and know you have many choices while in Anchorage so we truly appreciate that you choose to stay at the Best Western Golden Lion. Hope to see you again soon.

Have a great summer thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#26 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing