We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service throughout hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service throughout hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is an excellent place to stay. They have very polite and helpful workers. The rooms are nice and clean. I've never had any problems staying at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a comment on the hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    158
    90
    20
    15
See reviews for
122
96
38
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beulah, North Dakota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Three of us stayed here during an Alaskan road trip. Everything was as expected, the room was clean and the service was good. No surprises, either good or bad. The location was handy for us and easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ND_bike_hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed there 2 different times. The rooms are very nice and the restaurant is great. The first night was very noisy from the people above. Keep in mind that this is basically a welfare hotel. People come in from the outskirts and stay here to go to the local hospitals. They are rude, unfriendly, and act truly like they are entitled. I'm glad I'm not paying for them to stay in this nice hotel. Overall, we would stay there again. The staff is great. The food was wonderful at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pick one on the top floor, so you don't have people with kids running around ALLLLLLL night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in this hotel. Hotel and room were very clean. Great location. Staff was incredible and helped us with everything we needed. EX. we wanted an early morning cleanup and they accomodated us plus other requests we had. Even though there was construction going on outside, it did not interfere with anything. An overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_trip_planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time. I am glad our staff did a great job for you as we try to give every guest the experience that they deserve while staying at our hotel. I hope that if you are ever in the area again that you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We found the motel very nice, and the staff very helpful and knowelegeable with directions. They got me to Earthquake Park. The location was convient to AK Hwy 1 I would definately stay here again if I am ever back in Anchorage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoDavemontrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. I am very glasd that we helped to make your first night in Anchorage a wonderful one. I hope that the rest of your trip in our wonderful state was enjoyable. If you ever get back to Anchorage please come see us agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Golden Lion is recently remodeled. It was clean, comfortable, nice size rooms with all the aminities we needed. The location was very convenient for access to downtown, tourist attractions and the Seward and Parks highways. The staff was friendly and very helpful. A restaurant and lounge were available within the hotel. A laundry with 3 washers and 4 dryers was located next to the workout room. Very convenient for multitasking. The price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a survey for us. I am gald you enjoyed your stay with us and the ammenities our hotel offers. We are almost done with our exterior renovations and hope that our guest enjoy our new look. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#22 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing